We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Tulbagh Restaurants

The Olive Terrace

22 Van der Stel Street, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa
023 230 0071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Tulbagh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Olive Terrace Bistro & Lounge Bar at Tulbagh Hotel: open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner. The a la carte menu is a celebration of South African flavours and locally sourced seasonal fruits and vegetables. All our dishes are prepared in our own kitchen; from sauces to sorbets!
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    41
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The terrace is a great place to enjoy a breakfast and watch the comings and goings in town, the breakfast selection was good, the yogurt fruit and muesli was just right! Coffee excellent!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Innovative and tasty menu. Well priced , good service.Lovely setting in a lovely hotel. You must make a point of eating here

Was this review helpful? Yes
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Tony and Diane Many thanks for your kind review and for your mention of the staff. I hope you have enjoyed your visit to South Africa. Best wishes Alasdair More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

The menu at the Olive Terrace is small, but, the food is excellent and well prepared. The prices are slightly steep, but, generally in line with what the town offers. The staff provided excellent and friendly service and the venue is comfortable. I would strongly recommend The Olive Terrace for meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Bernard many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am always delighted to read that the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Hope to welcome you back soon. Alasdair More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

What a disappointment, we ignored the filthy dessert spoon on the table. However it was much harder to ignore the minty fresh pea sized ball of chewing gum strategically placed underneath the napkin on my husbands side plate. After bringing this to the waitrons attention the spoon and plate were quickly whisked away! Five minutes later the waitron came to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Your review is fictitious and has been reported as such to Tripadvisor. You unscrupulously made false accusations to avoid paying for your drinks, and you were also reported to have done exactly the same in another restaurant in Tulbagh, again with your miraculous ball of chewing gum. You embarrassed yourselves as you arrived drunk, you used very inappropriate language, and... More 

Timbavati
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Had a great dinner with a friend - we were warned on arrival that service for food may be a bit slow as they were very busy but we were made to feel very welcome and in fact the service was not slow at all - and it was worth waiting for! We both opted for the steak - beautifully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

David many thanks for your generous review. What better accolade than choosing to dine with us on two consecutive days. Our new summer menu is now on offer, featuring fresh produce from a new initiative in Tulbagh, the community garden. The first crop of vegetables has been harvested, and it is providing welcome full time employment for some local people.... More 

Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We dined here whilst staying at the excellent Toll House Cottage. We relaxed for a while in the atmospheric bar, full of period features, prior to dining. The staff were friendly and welcoming in the bar and when at our table they were attentive but not obtrusive. The food, although cooked fresh from a varied menu, arrived quickly. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

David many thanks for your review. Very pleased that the staff were able to make a good recommendation of our local wines. As with the sourcing of our food the wines are also sourced from the Tulbagh Valley. Hope to welcome you back soon. Alasdair More 

Parow, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The service and food is generally very good but if you go there on a Sunday evening then expect to wait some time for service as they are the only restaurant open after 5pm so whoever is in town will be eating at thre Tulbagh hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Neil your review was not well received. I always welcome constructive criticism, and act upon it, but you are being somewhat disingenuous. I have looked into this, and as you suggest Sunday evening is busy as there are few restaurants open. We have a booking system for the restaurant, and if people turn up when we are very busy,... More 

Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I had a fantastic experience here recently when passing through Tulbagh. Great service and very friendly staff who looked after us with great attention to detail. The Springbok was recommended by the waitress and was cooked to perfection. Good selection of wines and puddings. We even returned for breakfast and the quality kept flowing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Hi Will many thanks for choosing the Tulbagh Hotel and our restaurant during your visit. We have just changed our menu as local seasonal produce is now available as summer is upon us. However, we always have a game fillet available, as it is consistently popular throughout the year. We are looking forward to featuring local fruits during the season,... More 

Marseille, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

the setting was lovely, in an open air courtyard,the food was fresh and well prepared ! highly underrated

Was this review helpful? Yes
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Nick and Carole many thanks for your review and generous comments. It is a great accolade to have a French foodie give us a resounding vote of confidence! Safe travels Alasdair More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

stopped for a quick lunch when we arrived in Tulbagh - service was friendly yet a little on the slow side - food seemed to take a long time to be served, but was delicious and fresh once we received it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
alimcrobbie, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Saltysalt thanks for your review and your constructive comments. All our dishes are prepared in house, and sometimes this takes some time, especially things like the chocolate souffle which are baked to order. I have discussed your comments with our dedicated kitchen staff and will redouble our efforts to serve food in a timely manner. Kind regards Alasdair More 

Travelers who viewed The Olive Terrace also viewed

Tulbagh, Western Cape
Tulbagh, Western Cape
 
Tulbagh, Western Cape
Tulbagh, Western Cape
 

Been to The Olive Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Terrace

Address: 22 Van der Stel Street, Tulbagh 6820, South Africa
Phone Number: 023 230 0071
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Tulbagh
Cuisine: African

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Olive Terrace staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?