We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Radcliffe Road, Gamston, Nottingham NG2 6NP, England
+44 115 998 9507
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for: Families with children
Description: Fully refurbished and located on the outskirts of Gamston and West...
Fully refurbished and located on the outskirts of Gamston and West Bridgford, opposite Holme Pierrepont. The Gamston Lock offers something for everyone which includes our famous fantastic Rotisserie chicken and an extensive menu which is enhanced by our home-made traditional British specials. We serve meals for any occasion, from sandwiches and light bites to all the classic, whether it be lunch, an afternoon snack or a evening meal nothing is too much trouble. Food is served all day and we can accommodate large parties. Evening sunshine? Come and see our great beer garden with children's play equipment and our beautiful pagoda, with working fire place. We also provide an extensive range of draught beers, great selection of cask ales and a wide selection of wines. As well as Offering full table service, we believe the Gamston Lock is the perfect location for any occasion. Darren and the team look forward to welcoming you soon.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 176 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 65
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 21
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
First timers here

My husband and l visited this pub/restaurant yesterday with a Nottingham-based friend for lunch. It was a first visit for us all. We arrived at approximately 1.00pm and had to wait several minutes for someone to notice us. The one visible staff member appeared to be taking a booking on the... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
jilllovescricket
,
Lincolnshire
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and l visited this pub/restaurant yesterday with a Nottingham-based friend for lunch. It was a first visit for us all. We arrived at approximately 1.00pm and had to wait several minutes for someone to notice us. The one visible staff member appeared to be taking a booking on the phone. Once we were seated, our drinks order was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jilllovescricket
Darren L, General Manager at Gamston Lock, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Please accept our apologies that your steak wasn't cooked to your liking, this isn't our usual standard. I hope you visit us again soon Kind regards Management Team Gamston Lock More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Having been here before on our way to Nottingham, it's a nice stop on the way back to Lincoln. Noticing we had a little one in tow we were shown to a table at the back of the pub where the toilets and children's area are. I ordered a sparkling water with no ice..sadly a huge glass of ice was... More 

Helpful?
Thank LittleMissGoy
Darren L, General Manager at Gamston Lock, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit. As you rightly pointed out we have recently employed a number of new team members which can cause slight disruptions or errors. Thank you for your understanding and patience while we train them to our usual high standards. We look forward to seeing you soon Management Team Gamston Lock More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We hadn't been here before, and were in the area, so went for lunch. Outside looked smart and newly(?) renovated. Inside looked promising - trendy, stylish fittings. The lady who came to find us a table told us we could have one for 90 minutes, as it was booked for 1.45 (it was 12.15 when we arrived. Plenty of time,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
Darren L, General Manager at Gamston Lock, responded to this review

Good morning, Than you for your feedback from your visit on Sunday. We are sorry that you didn't find everything to your taste on this occasion, our roast dinners are very popular and generally of a very high standard. Unfortunately you found this not to be the case and as such please accept our apologies. We hope that you give... More 

Rushden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On the way home from a night stay in Nottingham we stopped off at the Gamston Lock for lunch and were pleasantly surprised by the friendly service, quality food and unique furnishings. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank MarkW21ii
Darren L, General Manager at Gamston Lock, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback from your experience with us. We are very happy that you had a great time and delighted you would recommend us. We look forward to seeing you again soon Management Team Gamston Lock More 

Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited early evening after a visit to Nottingham for a matinee show. We were greeted as soon as we arrived and shown to a table. Food and drink orders were taken quickly and the wait for the food wasn't too long. We had our 5-year old grandson with us and the only small hitch was that our food arrived five... More 

Helpful?
Thank NeilT1960
Darren L, General Manager at Gamston Lock, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate your comments which give us a great opportunity to reward our team and improve guests experience. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you soon Management Team Gamston Lock More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my & my husbands 3rd visit, & we have always found the food really nice. We tend to go for the 2 for £10 which is really good value for money. The food is always cooked well & is served nice & hot through out as expected. We do often hear other people complain that is not hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
Darren L, General Manager at Gamston Lock, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback. Your kind words are truly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you soon Darren More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked for 40 of us for a meal for my partners 30th , Sally was more than accommodating in getting the perfect area for us all to sit , I was given menus so I get get everyone's order , and the meals came out by table in perfect order ! Couldn't be happier with the service and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire R
Darren L, General Manager at Gamston Lock, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback and your lovely words. My team and I are delighted you had a wonderful time and we look forward to your next visit Thanks Management Team Gamston Lock More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

4 of us dropped in for an evening meal, initial greeting cordial and table found for us and menus provided. There then seemed to be an unusually long wait until our orders were taken (didn't appear to be over busy) . When mealswere served each of commented on thegood size of the portions and commenced eating. Unfortunately my classic burger... More 

Helpful?
Thank claytods
Darren L, General Manager at Gamston Lock, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. Please accept my apologies that your burger wasn't as expected, as you pointed out we rightly removed this from your bill. We believe that if you're not happy with your meal then we should correct it as best we can. My team and I hope you give us the... More 

Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a table for a post graduation meal with family, so it mattered. We ordered from the 2 for £10 menu, so this was good value. However the chips were terrible, for all of us. We fed this back and the lady offered us replacements, but we decided to just put up with it and carry on our celebrations... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stikwik
Darren L, General Manager at Gamston Lock, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit. We Re delighted that you enjoyed your experience and found the food and service to your liking. During November our company decided to make the change from chips to skin on fries. This change has been met with indifference from our guests, some love it and others (such as... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here to try out the Sunday lunch it was busy but only had to wait 20 mins for a table. My partner ordered chicken & veg which seemed to be the only option for meat eaters. And for me being vegetarian there was only one option for Sunday lunch so ordered a side dish of cauliflower cheese with vegetables.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteveEllie2008
Darren L, General Manager at Gamston Lock, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for your feedback from your visit this Sunday. We are very grateful that you enjoyed your food and found the service to your liking. On a Sunday we offer three meat options to our guests, chicken, beef and another (usually pork or turkey) served with all the trimmings and our delicious homemade Yorkshire puddings. Unfortunately, as... More 

Travelers who viewed Gamston Lock also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Gunthorpe, Nottingham
 
Long Eaton, Nottingham
 

Been to Gamston Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Radcliffe Road, Gamston, Nottingham NG2 6NP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Nottingham  >  Gamston
  • Phone Number: +44 115 998 9507

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Fully refurbished and located on the outskirts of Gamston and West Bridgford, opposite Holme Pierrepont. The Gamston Lock offers something for everyone which includes our famous fantastic Rotisserie chicken and an extensive menu which is enhanced by our home-made traditional British specials. We serve meals for any occasion, from sandwiches and light bites to all the classic, whether it be lunch, an afternoon snack or a evening meal nothing is too much trouble. Food is served all day and we can accommodate large parties. Evening sunshine? Come and see our great beer garden with children's play equipment and our beautiful pagoda, with working fire place. We also provide an extensive range of draught beers, great selection of cask ales and a wide selection of wines. As well as Offering full table service, we believe the Gamston Lock is the perfect location for any occasion. Darren and the team look forward to welcoming you soon.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gamston Lock and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gamston Lock staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?