We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
10 High Street, Otford TN14 5PQ , England
01959 522847
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 16th Century Inn situated in the picturesque village of Otford. Serving...
16th Century Inn situated in the picturesque village of Otford. Serving Traditional Pub Fayre with a Senior Citizen Menu Monday-Saturday 12-2:30pm. Thursday evenings we serve Traditional Pub Fayre 6-9pm with a 2 course meal Deal. Friday & Saturday we serve Thai food by Su 6:30-10pm. Sunday we serve Traditional Sunday roasts 12-5pm. Booking is advisable.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 36 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 14
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
plenty of food

If you want a good square meal and value for money this is it but if you are looking to pay mega bucks for a Picasa on a plate forget it, This is old England 1960 style you must book over a week end to avoid disappointment you normally have a choice Beef, Pork and lamb .Small ,Medium or Large... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 24, 2015
BULL593
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

If you want a good square meal and value for money this is it but if you are looking to pay mega bucks for a Picasa on a plate forget it, This is old England 1960 style you must book over a week end to avoid disappointment you normally have a choice Beef, Pork and lamb .Small ,Medium or Large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pilar de la Horadada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

Dirty, run down, staff lacking in basic hygiene while serving drinks and food. Ordered " pan fried" Brie as starter which was cold and not fried, main course of carvery - choice of beef, lamb, chicken, pork and turkey, we each ordered a different choice of meat, chicken was dry, beef over cooked, only saving grace was the lamb and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Down South visiting family! What a delightful place thanks for booking cousin Sarah well worth a visit! Being a Northern lass always think "Up North" folk friendlier but this was much better than other establishments I have visited South of Watford!! Fiona the host was one of the best I have met, so welcoming (she must have Northern blood!) Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

What a wonderful proper English pub great hot well presented food very large portions polite and knowledgeable staff .The toilets were clean and pleasant to use .Will definitely go again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

This place really is appalling unless you fancy a game of darts or dysentery. The food is shocking, the landlord and bar staff extremely rude, the beer about passable and whatever you do, don't head to the bathrooms - they're actually alive!

Was this review helpful? Yes
becs619, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review

hi, I am really sorry you felt you had a bad experience. we are a community pub, not a chain and our pub company does not invest into it's building because it doesn't care. We do care about our customers and have a very high return rate for our food. If you had said something we could have tried to... More 

London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We arrived without reservations for Sunday lunch. It was busy but tables were rearranged for us (part of 6) and we were served in a friendly and efficient manner. Sunday roast was excellent. Great value and atmosphere. Will go here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Having spent New Year's eve here and dined on the fantastic bands playing and the free food, I have to say it was a really great night. A recommended stopping place for beer too on any evening. The pub is very atmospheric as it has been there since at least the mid-1500s, real ale and food cooked in-house. The real... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

The roast beef was overcooked and dry. Turkey was dry and there was a piece of plastic film in the gravy. The lamb dish had a long dark hair. The only redeeming meal was the steak and ale pudding. Yorkshire puddings were heavy and stodgy. They did not charge us for 2 dishes. The children's dishes were lukewarm . We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I ate here a couple of Friday's ago. I ate steak and ale pudding with the most gorgeously rich gravy, very well made mashed potato, and lots of veggies!! It was a large portion, and I struggled to eat it all. I can not give it anything less that 5/5! friendly staff; We'll definitely return again next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The pub is on the High Street and has a simple and dignified interior, where the wooden beams and joists of the ceiling have become decorative elements and greatly contribute to the authenticity of a "bygone times" ambience. Familiarity is further enhanced by the usual indisciplined atmosphere of a relaxed Sunday lunch, locals out with their children, elderly couples, groups... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Otford, Sevenoaks District
Otford, Sevenoaks District
 
Shoreham, Sevenoaks District
Otford, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 10 High Street, Otford TN14 5PQ , England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sevenoaks District  >  Otford
  • Phone Number: 01959 522847

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Description

16th Century Inn situated in the picturesque village of Otford. Serving Traditional Pub Fayre with a Senior Citizen Menu Monday-Saturday 12-2:30pm. Thursday evenings we serve Traditional Pub Fayre 6-9pm with a 2 course meal Deal. Friday & Saturday we serve Thai food by Su 6:30-10pm. Sunday we serve Traditional Sunday roasts 12-5pm. Booking is advisable.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?