We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
10 High Street, Otford TN14 5PQ , England
01959 522847
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: 16th Century Inn situated in the picturesque village of Otford. Serving...
16th Century Inn situated in the picturesque village of Otford. Serving Traditional Pub Fayre with a Senior Citizen Menu Monday-Saturday 12-2:30pm. Thursday evenings we serve Traditional Pub Fayre 6-9pm with a 2 course meal Deal. Friday & Saturday we serve Thai food by Su 6:30-10pm. Sunday we serve Traditional Sunday roasts 12-5pm. Booking is advisable.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 39 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 15
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great Village Pub

This is certainly not a plastic and manufactured chain pub experience and pubs like this are getting harder to find. Don't expect a standard duplicated fake traditional interior, this is the real thing. With real fires in both bars and its own Crown Ale brewed by the Westerham brewery, a great... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 13, 2015
simonfea
,
Otford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 NEW

We visited at lunchtime on 01/08/15 but the door of the pub remained firmly closed. No notice on the door to say what was happening, although a local we spoke to seemed to think "they are moving". Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Otford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

This is certainly not a plastic and manufactured chain pub experience and pubs like this are getting harder to find. Don't expect a standard duplicated fake traditional interior, this is the real thing. With real fires in both bars and its own Crown Ale brewed by the Westerham brewery, a great place to stop off for a drink after a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We had been walking and went here for our Sunday dinner. 9 of us. Our table was reserved and laid up ready and waiting for us. Service was excellent, the food was lovely with choice of small, medium or large. The prices were really good. The pub has a lovely character. Don't know what all the negative comments are about,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

If you want a good square meal and value for money this is it but if you are looking to pay mega bucks for a Picasa on a plate forget it, This is old England 1960 style you must book over a week end to avoid disappointment you normally have a choice Beef, Pork and lamb .Small ,Medium or Large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pilar de la Horadada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

Dirty, run down, staff lacking in basic hygiene while serving drinks and food. Ordered " pan fried" Brie as starter which was cold and not fried, main course of carvery - choice of beef, lamb, chicken, pork and turkey, we each ordered a different choice of meat, chicken was dry, beef over cooked, only saving grace was the lamb and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Down South visiting family! What a delightful place thanks for booking cousin Sarah well worth a visit! Being a Northern lass always think "Up North" folk friendlier but this was much better than other establishments I have visited South of Watford!! Fiona the host was one of the best I have met, so welcoming (she must have Northern blood!) Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

What a wonderful proper English pub great hot well presented food very large portions polite and knowledgeable staff .The toilets were clean and pleasant to use .Will definitely go again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

This place really is appalling unless you fancy a game of darts or dysentery. The food is shocking, the landlord and bar staff extremely rude, the beer about passable and whatever you do, don't head to the bathrooms - they're actually alive!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
becs619, Owner at The Crown, responded to this review

hi, I am really sorry you felt you had a bad experience. we are a community pub, not a chain and our pub company does not invest into it's building because it doesn't care. We do care about our customers and have a very high return rate for our food. If you had said something we could have tried to... More 

London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We arrived without reservations for Sunday lunch. It was busy but tables were rearranged for us (part of 6) and we were served in a friendly and efficient manner. Sunday roast was excellent. Great value and atmosphere. Will go here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Having spent New Year's eve here and dined on the fantastic bands playing and the free food, I have to say it was a really great night. A recommended stopping place for beer too on any evening. The pub is very atmospheric as it has been there since at least the mid-1500s, real ale and food cooked in-house. The real... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Otford, Sevenoaks District
Otford, Sevenoaks District
 
Shoreham, Sevenoaks District
Otford, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: 10 High Street, Otford TN14 5PQ, England
Phone Number: 01959 522847
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sevenoaks District  >  Otford
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 10 High Street, Otford TN14 5PQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sevenoaks District  >  Otford
  • Phone Number: 01959 522847

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Description

16th Century Inn situated in the picturesque village of Otford. Serving Traditional Pub Fayre with a Senior Citizen Menu Monday-Saturday 12-2:30pm. Thursday evenings we serve Traditional Pub Fayre 6-9pm with a 2 course meal Deal. Friday & Saturday we serve Thai food by Su 6:30-10pm. Sunday we serve Traditional Sunday roasts 12-5pm. Booking is advisable.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?