We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Yard - Bar & Function Room

$$
Bar
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
11 Market Place, Malton YO17 7LP, England
+44 1653 696999
Website
Add hours for The Yard - Bar & Function Room and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Previously known as Will's Cafe Bar. Owned by the Project Pub Company, who...
Previously known as Will's Cafe Bar. Owned by the Project Pub Company, who also have 'The Yard' in Ilkley.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 100 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 42
    Excellent
  • 35
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Unexpected good meal

First impression of The Yard is a busy but slightly chaotic popular place. Our meal, nachos and fajitas and fries, was tasty, plentiful and varied. The choice of beers, lagers and wines were extensive. Staff were busy anTd cheerful. A disco was being set up, which after an enjoyable evening, was... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 3, 2015
Highbury_lifeYork
,
York
via mobile
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
moraira
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

Easter Sunday, we suddenly felt hungry quite late at 230pm. We were served an excellent, really tasty, Sunday roast beef and a bacon bap which should have been finished at 1pm. Staff were friendly and service was good. Even though there was a big function going on the service was quick and impressive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yard M, General Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us . Customer satisfaction is imperative to us and we are thrilled with your comments. We hope you will visit us again in the future! Many Thanks, The Yard Malton More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

We have just returned homes from a groupon meal at theYard. We had Nacho's and then Fajitas they were fantastic my son had his with no spices and they both ate the lot. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015 via mobile

First impression of The Yard is a busy but slightly chaotic popular place. Our meal, nachos and fajitas and fries, was tasty, plentiful and varied. The choice of beers, lagers and wines were extensive. Staff were busy anTd cheerful. A disco was being set up, which after an enjoyable evening, was our cue to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yard M, General Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review to us! We are happy that you have taken the time to let us know what you think! I hope the bar wasn't too chaotic and that you were relaxed during your meal! We hope to see you again very soon! Many Thanks, The Yard Malton More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Turned up at 19:20 for the 2 for 1 steak dinner offer (served all day) to be told food was no longer been served by a rather rude bar servant! Took business elsewhere and enjoyed the meal ten fold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yard M, General Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi Richard, We are very sorry that you couldn't get a table with us on Thursday evening. We do have quite a few bookings on a Thursday evening due to the offers that we promote and we did have other tables to come in on Thursday before 8pm. We do always advise to book with offer's as they do get... More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Group on Sunday lunch was amazing value and very nice Staff were very helpful and friendly Perfect for an informal bite to eat or drink

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yard M, General Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to us. We are always very appreciative of feedback and we were so happy to hear that we are doing a good job! We will look forward to seeing you in the future! Many Thanks, The Yard Malton More 

Scarborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We popped into the yard in the spur of the moment for a family lunch. It was fairly quiet & im really not sure why. The staff were very welcoming & explained that today's special was any burger for a fiver. Brilliant deal considering some of the burgers were priced at £10!! I had the goats cheese & chorizo burger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Yard M, General Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to us. We are always very appreciative of feedback and we were so happy to hear that we are doing a good job! We will look forward to seeing you in the future! Many Thanks, The Yard Malton More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Absolutely amazed at the previous reviewer's appraisal of this wine bar. We have eaten there many times and always enjoyed the food, the staff's service and the ambience. We always call in whenever we go to Malton and are treated incredibly well which makes me wonder about hidden agendas!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yard M, General Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank you for your recent feedback! We are always happy to hear we are doing a good job! Many Thanks, The Yard Malton More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Called here today for a catch up lunch with my son, firstly I would like to say that the young girl with blond hair in a ponytail who greeted us was friendly and polite unlike the little dark haired one anyway we ordered our food and were prepared for a wait as the place was busy but an hour!!when our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yard M, General Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your recent feedback regarding yesterdays service. I would first like to apologise profusely for the disappointing experience you received. I can assure you that I have spoken to all the staff first thing this morning as your review was so prompt. As I am sure you were aware, we were unexpectedly busy for a Wednesday... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015 via mobile

We were happy with the food as it was a groupon steak deal. I wouldn't have paid full price for it as the place is ok but nothing special. Staff were friendly and Malton has a nice market place which The Yard is situated in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Went in for lunch at 12pm on the 24/12 with my girlfriend. We got greeted by friendly and helpful staff. They had a busy start to lunch and time on the food was great. We had Burgers and they were one of the best around! Not pricey either! Very impressed, We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Yard - Bar & Function Room also viewed

Malton, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 
Malton, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Yard - Bar & Function Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 11 Market Place, Malton YO17 7LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Malton
  • Phone Number: +44 1653 696999

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 14
  • Cuisine: Bar

Description

Previously known as Will's Cafe Bar. Owned by the Project Pub Company, who also have 'The Yard' in Ilkley.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Yard - Bar & Function Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?