We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Yard - Bar & Function Room

$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11 Market Place, Malton YO17 7LP, England
+44 1653 696999
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Yard - Bar & Function Room and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Description: Previously known as Will's Cafe Bar.
Owned by the Project Pub Company, who...
Previously known as Will's Cafe Bar.
Owned by the Project Pub Company, who also have 'The Yard' in Ilkley.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 162 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 73
    Excellent
  • 47
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Worth a visit

My wife and I had Sunday lunch here, we were given a Groupon voucher for Christmas. The food was very good, we both had Beef, the portions were ample and everything was nice quality, my only slight criticism was the Yorkshire pudding was a bit hard and bland. I had the Brie starter which was... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
John E
,
Filey, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Terrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A colleague and myself had a business lunch here, couldn't fault the place, cracking grub, service, environment, free wi-fi AND 241 on my Tastecard. Brilliant.

Helpful?
Thank Ian H
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to The Yard for our Christmas lunch but were very disappointed with the food & service. The food was nothing 'special' with the vegetables and mashed potato being served on one large dinner plate instead of in segregated dishes. There wasn't enough mashed potato to go around and when we requested more it arrived but full of mustard... More 

Helpful?
Thank 13KayH13
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had another fantastic meal at the yard , service was great , food as always very tasty and at really reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank sharon947
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I had Sunday lunch here, we were given a Groupon voucher for Christmas. The food was very good, we both had Beef, the portions were ample and everything was nice quality, my only slight criticism was the Yorkshire pudding was a bit hard and bland. I had the Brie starter which was excellent and my wife had... More 

Helpful?
Thank John E
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

Went here for a pre booked family meal. It had been booked for approx two weeks and was specifically told about the needs of my father who was in a wheel chair. Despite assurances we arrived and there was no place reserved for us with wheelchair access. After moving things around we sat down only to be presented with a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme B
Yard M, Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi Graeme, Thank you for your review. Further to our conversation on Monday I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with us on the 28th of December. Unfortunately due to the Christmas period a lot of companies weren’t delivering till the following day and this resulted in us running out of quiet a few items on the... More 

Guildford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Went in for an early evening drink. Cold in temperature and atmosphere. Not very clean, not my type of pub. Did not eat here but would be put off by experience.

Helpful?
Thank KFox24
Yard M, Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review. We appreciate that what may have appeared as a very quiet unwelcoming atmosphere was on the back end of one of our busiest trading sessions of the year. It would appear you have arrived in the lull after and before the storm. The staff did everything they could to make the customer experience as... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

I booked a table before Christmas for our family meal on the 28 December for 8 persons including my disabled Dad who was having his first outing after having a stroke. My son and his family travelled from Liverpool and my brother from Darlington. We arrived to be told they hadn't had time to set our tables. This they did... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pat281215
Yard M, Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi Pat, Thank you for your review. Further to our conversation on Monday I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with us on the 28th of December. Unfortunately due to the Christmas period a lot of companies weren’t delivering till the following day and this resulted in us running out of quiet a few items on the... More 

Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

Had our christmas lunch here today absolutely beautiful food 1st class service from all the staff. Would highly recommend A*********

Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
Yard M, Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi Nicola Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad you had a great time with us on Christmas day. It was a really fun day to work and we hope to see you again in the near future Yours Amy Milner More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

Visited for lunch we had steak and chips and it was deliciouscooked to perfection the service was very good staff very helpful friendly and polite specially kiyomi turnbull definitely recommend and will definitely be visiting again lovely place

Helpful?
1 Thank jacksons28
Yard M, Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The steak and chips is a popular choice, the new menu now offers a beautiful Steak and ale pie made with brass castle beer which is brewed 200 yards from our front door ! Myself and the team look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Kiyomi Turnbull More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

Lovely staff and food. Thankyou so much.. Very accomodating and child friendly too. W ill come again

Helpful?
1 Thank susan l
Yard M, Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your ongoing support, I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Having crayons and books for children is something we find works well, its all about going the extra yard for our team. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Kind Regards Kiyomi Turnbull Assistant Manager More 

Travelers who viewed The Yard - Bar & Function Room also viewed

Malton, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 
Malton, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Yard - Bar & Function Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 11 Market Place, Malton YO17 7LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Malton
  • Phone Number: +44 1653 696999

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 14
  • Cuisine: Bar, British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups

Description

Previously known as Will's Cafe Bar.
Owned by the Project Pub Company, who also have 'The Yard' in Ilkley.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Yard - Bar & Function Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?