We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Malton Restaurants

The Yard - Bar & Function Room

11 Market Place, Malton, England
+44 1653 696999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 58 Restaurants in Malton
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Previously known as Will's Cafe Bar. Owned by the Project Pub Company, who also have 'The Yard' in Ilkley.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    6
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Driffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 NEW

Visited the Yard as part of a Groupon deal even though we hadn't heard of it before. Nothing flash inside or out but it had a lovely warm atmosphere and the type of small town bar that you feel comfortable in. The waitress that took our order was almost as tall as me(6ft) and she was so pleasant and full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norton on Derwent, Malton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 NEW

Double burger with homemade onion rings, oodles of cheese - all sat on a bed of bacon, top and tailed with a right nice bun. Small side of jackets-on-homemade-chips, smaller salad and an even smaller side of mayo 'stuff' & all served on a plank of wood. Worth £10? - not really, but it was tasty. Wife enjoyed her battered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hull
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 via mobile

Went here with a Groupon voucher, the food was fine we had steak which was lovely to be fair, we thought we would have to wait for the food as they had a function on but we got our food pretty quickly and the staff were friendly. I feel it's more of a cafe bar rather that a food place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I visited The Yard recently with friends. Atmosphere is nice for couples, families and small group of friends, having two dining areas inside and one outside. Food was delightfully presented and tasted as good as it looked. I had a Burger which was fresh and very tasty, the best I've had for quite some time ! Creative use of ingredients... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Came for a meal with 6 other friends on a Friday night. The menu has changed and offers a brilliant variety, meaning there's something on there for even the fussiest eaters. Considering there's a lot on the menu you do not compromise on the quality. All members of the group had different meals and loved them. The beer bucket sized... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I have been here many times, both on an evening out for drinks and for food. Yet again I was disappointed with the service and the food. We entered as a 6 and sat down to eat for a late lunch. We were immediately seen to by a waitress who sounded panicked as they then needed to check if they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yard M, General Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent feedback. We do try to offer the best customer service and we are so very sorry that we fell short on this occasion. Staff are trained to communicate with the kitchen at all times and we are sorry that this was perceived as an inconvenience. We are very sorry you didn’t enjoy your food... More

Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is by no means our first visit to the Yard (formally known as Wills) and to be honest it is very 'hit and miss'. It is a nice bar and restaurant, it is always clean, not too expensive and easy on the eye (could do with baby changing facilities though). The service is always good and the staff friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yard M, General Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent feedback. We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your dining experience with us. We have made some changes here at The Yard and we do have a new menu which we hope that you will come back and try. Please always make staff aware if you do have a complaint or questions as... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

As a local I have previously visited the Yard several times and enjoyed their very good burgers. On these occasions, my wife was absent and since, she has been dying to go and try them out. Three times now, we have tried to visit at about 8pm and been told that they have stopped serving food already!! 8pm, I ask... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yard M, General Manager at The Yard - Bar & Function Room, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent feedback, we do appreciate it. We do apologise sincerely that you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. We stop serving food in the evening at 8pm however; we do try to accommodate customers wherever possible. We are very sorry that you felt that we didn’t want your custom. Please be assured that we will... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We held our baby's christening party here on Sunday and I can not praise them enough . The staff were very helpful and accommodating . Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A hot Saturday afternoon and we were looking for a cool haven in which to enjoy a pint. This place just opens up as you enter into a large front-of-house. Contemporary and modern décor greets you and at the bar are two hand pumps. Great Yorkshire's Yorkshire Classic and Yorkshire Blackout were available. So Blackout it was! Nice cool pint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Yard - Bar & Function Room also viewed

Malton, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 
Malton, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Yard - Bar & Function Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage The Yard - Bar & Function Room?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing