We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chartroom Bistro

French, Bistro
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
| Loch Melfort Hotel & Restaurant, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
+44 (0)1852 200 233
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: For garden enthusiasts, sailors or just those wanting an informal place to...
For garden enthusiasts, sailors or just those wanting an informal place to have a meal and refreshments, the Chartroom II provides a wonderful balance of spectacular views, casual dining and delicious food. Our legendary langoustines are served daily, along with scallops and mussels. All our food, including Highland Beef Burgers and Beer Battered Haddock are home-made and our policy of buying food locally wherever possible applies to all our dishes. Vegetarian options are also available. The Chartroom II directly overlooks Asknish Bay with wonderful views out to Shuna, Jura and Scarba as well as Skerries.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 60 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 21
    Excellent
  • 16
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Chartroom Bar not living up to expectations

We have stayed at the Loch Melfort hotel and eaten in the fine dining restaurant several times, and have always been pleased. However, on this trip we ate in the Chartroom Bar on our way South and again on our way North. The meals were 10 days apart. The first meal was very disappointing. I had... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 28, 2015
Louise F
,
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Scenic view
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

We visited the gardens at Arduiane on a beautiful August day and eat on the on the patio in front of the Melfort bistro. We were warned that the food may be a bit delayed as there were a number of covers in front of us but we were quite chilled and in no real hurry. The food was excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

We called in for coffee and a scone after visiting Arduaine gardens. No scones so decided to have shortbread. Very small pre packed shortbread biscuit £2 - no chance that I'd buy that. Had the coffee (OK ish) and went to Oban for a better coffee and biscuit (twice the size, fresh made and only £1.80)

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Chartroom Bistro, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Our coffee is from the Scottish firm Brodies, and we have never had a complaint about it before, so I am sorry you didn't find it to your taste. A number of customers have stated that they don't like our home made shortbread in the little bags in the Bistro, so... More 

Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

Far too expensive - we just wanted a couple of cups of tea and pieces of cake or biscuits. The day I pay £2 for a shortbread biscuit that looks like it came from Tesco is the day hell freezes over! We got there at 2.30 and there was very little food on offer. Definitely won't be going there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Chartroom Bistro, responded to this review

Thanks for spending the time to write review and we have taken note of your comments about our shortbread biscuits. We do make all our cakes and biscuits on site and you should get two home made biscuits in a little bag with the Loch Melfort logo on it. We thought they looked nice like that, you customers obviously disagree,... More 

Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

We have stayed at the Loch Melfort hotel and eaten in the fine dining restaurant several times, and have always been pleased. However, on this trip we ate in the Chartroom Bar on our way South and again on our way North. The meals were 10 days apart. The first meal was very disappointing. I had mussels - which were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Chartroom Bistro, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and bring these issues to our attention. we do endeavor to train our staff to the highest standards to ensure that customer service is paramount, however, it seems on this occasion we have failed. Our manager will be talking to the staff in question. We have raised your issues regarding... More 

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We had a dismal meal at the Chartroom Bistro. Everything was overcooked, microwaved or reheated from frozen. A piece of salmon was dry and tasteless, some scallops were cooked to rubber. Even the kids burgers were so overcooked that they were abandoned. A dessert which called itself panna cotta was no such thing being a tiny glass of congealed cream.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Chartroom Bistro, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review and we are so sorry you had such a disappointing experience. We have discussed these issues with our Head Chef and Manager. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

reiveratsea
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Wonderful service with a smile only adds to what must be one of the best restaurant views in Scotland. The food is also freshly prepared and up to a high standard. Only disappointment is the décor. It has always been called the Chartroom because of all the Shipping Charts that were on the wall which allowed guests to explore the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Chartroom Bistro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we are so glad that you had a good meal and great service. The charts are there - but perhaps not as obvious as you might have liked. When we refurbished the Chartroom we put all the charts on the blinds in the windows! That gave us the walls to sell pictures from local... More 

Bearsden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

The Chartroom overlooks the hotel gardens, Loch Melfort and the surrounding hills and islands, a stunning vista. The services is friendly, the food good. We called in for an evening meal and everyone was pleased with what they chose. Portions were well-sized and attractively presented. Another day we called in for ice cream/tea after a visit to the gardens. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Chartroom Bistro, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your meal and particularly Mike's home made icecream! Let's hope we get some good weather for the rest of the summer, so there are a few more icecream moments. More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

I've visited the bistro bar at the Loch Melfort hotel many times over the last 20 years, but have been very disappointed the last few times. I ordered a cream tea last time I visited, and a plate arrived with a scone floating in a pool of double cream - very strange. I gave them the benefit of the doubt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

The Bistro Bar has fantastic views but the food and service is very poor / slow. We had to return the crab sandwiches as there was hardly any crab in them - they came back with a little more crab and bits of shell. Quite expensive but there is little competition so they can get away with it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

View fantastic. Food poor and expensive. Very small portions. Two burnt child size slices of garlic bread. Drinks expensive. Polite but inflexible and inexperienced staff. I assume due to winter closure new staff recruited every year.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Chartroom Bistro also viewed

 
Craobh Haven, Argyll and Bute

Been to Chartroom Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: | Loch Melfort Hotel & Restaurant, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Arduaine
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1852 200 233

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: French, Bistro

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view

Description

For garden enthusiasts, sailors or just those wanting an informal place to have a meal and refreshments, the Chartroom II provides a wonderful balance of spectacular views, casual dining and delicious food. Our legendary langoustines are served daily, along with scallops and mussels. All our food, including Highland Beef Burgers and Beer Battered Haddock are home-made and our policy of buying food locally wherever possible applies to all our dishes. Vegetarian options are also available. The Chartroom II directly overlooks Asknish Bay with wonderful views out to Shuna, Jura and Scarba as well as Skerries.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chartroom Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?