We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rock and Fountain Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Llanvaches Road, Penhow, Caldicot NP26 3YD, Wales
+44 1633 400297
Website
Add hours for The Rock and Fountain Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 192 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 116
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Sunday Lunch

We are a party of walkers that get together every month and a party of 11 had lunch on 25/5/2015. Starters : The garlic mushroom sauce was super in fact it was that good a number that had it could have done with bread to mop up the lovely sauce. we had various meats which was wonderful , our only... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 25, 2015
Walkerstalywain
,
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Dining on a budget
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 NEW

I must say the quality of food offered on the 2 for £10 menu is exceptional .My partner and I have been on numerous occasions and had lovely meals. The place has a nice feel about it and is nicely decorated. We've tried the various starters and mains on the menu and they are all plentiful and really tasty. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW via mobile

Both occasions I have visited here the food has been beautiful but the service appalling. Total lack of interest down to the point of rudeness. Such a shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gareth L, Owner at The Rock and Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Kerry. It is a slight shame that you had to put it on here after I had apologised and gave the reason that we were understaffed on your post on a different social media site. We try our best with the available staff that we have to ensure quality and value for money. Sorry to... More 

Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

We are a party of walkers that get together every month and a party of 11 had lunch on 25/5/2015. Starters : The garlic mushroom sauce was super in fact it was that good a number that had it could have done with bread to mop up the lovely sauce. we had various meats which was wonderful , our only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

After reading all the positive reviews of this establishment I booked a table for tonight for my partner and myself as he has just returned from a week away with his job so thought it would be a nice treat. The table was booked for 7.30pm and we were seated at 7.25pm and given menus straight away. Our drinks arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gareth L, Owner at The Rock and Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your not so pleasant review Linda. I have looked into last night and as we were really busy and sadly short staffed due to it being a bank holiday and staff birthdays and holidays etc we might have over stretched ourselves. But yours was a genuine mistake on our waitresses part as she didn't know you arrived... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Been here several times with family and friends and never fails to impress. Amazing value. Great food. We should all support a venue like the Rock.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Although our visit was on a busy Saturday night, the service was great and we didn't wait for anything. You are offered a choice of 2 courses for £10 or 3 for £15 (there is a small supplement for the steaks). Portion size is just right and food quality and presentation is top notch- the scallops and pork belly are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

This is one of the best restraunts I have eaten at great value for money, 3 course meal under £15, great steaks , fab starters (ribs mmmm) staff polite and helpful, wine (siglo) good beers great place to eat atmosphere excellent .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monmouthshire, Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Lovely food, disappointed that the duck which I wished to order would be a further half hour wait. Service was a little slow on the day we were there. No menus given out at time of arrival for our table but others were given menus on arrival so we had to locate the menus ourselves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

Took my mum and nan for Sunday lunch here it was lovely the meat was tender and tasty and there was plenty of veg to go around dessert was fantastic and they even offer a takeaway option for dessert if your too full to finish off. Best of all this top quality 2 course Sunday lunch came in at only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Recommended by a family member and have since returned to this pub. Lovely food and good value. Very friendly atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Rock and Fountain Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Rock and Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Llanvaches Road, Penhow, Caldicot NP26 3YD, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Caldicot  >  Penhow
  • Phone Number: +44 1633 400297

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 15
  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rock and Fountain Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Rock and Fountain Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?