We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Holt Wimborne, Holt, Wimborne Minster BH21 7DJ, England
+44 1202 883029
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Food led pub famous for Steak & Kidney Pie with proper short-crust pastry...
Food led pub famous for Steak & Kidney Pie with proper short-crust pastry. Perfect for summer days as a great suntrap and watching some of the greatest sunsets in the uk.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 142 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 58
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Lunch

A really warm welcome that included our Yorkshire Terrier who got her own biscuit! We enjoyed grilled salmon , liver and bacon and summer puddings, all of which were absolutely wonderful. We'll definitely be back.

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 10, 2015
Lynda A
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

Had been looking forward to visit The Old Inn after a couple of good recommendations but unfortunately we did not enjoy it at all. I don't think I saw a smile of the faces of any of the staff, gave up waiting for our drink orders to be taken and food took an age to arrive. The biggest disappoint was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldInnHolt, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review

I was a little surprised to read your review and comments. I remember you well. Again a trip advisor review that distorts the facts. I approached your table three times to take the order, but because you were dealing with your child in a high chair you also could not make up your mind what to have after being informed... More 

England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

We visited the Old Inn for Sunday lunch and found it absolutely packed, as would be expected on a summer Sunday. Staff were friendly and welcoming and we were shown to our table. Our drinks and food orders were taken reasonably quickly, the drinks arrived fairly promptly but the food took some time to arrive. This was not a problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OldInnHolt, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your food on Sunday, but dissappointed you found our service painfully slow, for which I apologise, for not meeting your expextations. As you have indicated we are generally very busy every Sunday and with large tables it takes a little longer to get the food out from the kitchen. It would have been easier if... More 

Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

We ate there last night and all of us enjoyed our meals enormously. A nice homely atmosphere, quiet but it was a Tuesday. 2 of us had lamb salsas to start, 1 snails and one prawn cocktail. For main course, 1 chilli, 1 steak pie, 1 lasagne and 1 mushroom stroganoff - all delicious. Finished off by various flavours of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldInnHolt, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review

We are all pleased you and your friends had an enjoyable evening on Tuesday. We were a little quieter than usual. I think this is down to the horrible weather we have been having. It seems to be a norm for August in the UK now. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and hope to see you on your next... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Visited this pub on recommendation. We reserved a table and upon arrival we were the only ones there. Despite it being empty we were given the worst position table (wished we'd insisted on moving). It did fill up. The drinks were expensive and a bog standard bottle of wine £18.50. steak pie was nice but extremely small portion of chips.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OldInnHolt, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our aim is to meet them and clearly on this occassion we did not. All the vegetables are served individually and before leaving the kitchen brushed with butter. We have salt pots on the table as it is easier to add salt than take away. I wish you said something at... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

A really warm welcome that included our Yorkshire Terrier who got her own biscuit! We enjoyed grilled salmon , liver and bacon and summer puddings, all of which were absolutely wonderful. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Than you for your kind words. We are glad you had a positive experience at the Old Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Inn in the near future More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

We thought we had been mugged when we got charged £6.15 for a large glass of Pinot Grigio at a local pub but the Old Inn really took the p!!! at £6.75 a glass.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OldInnHolt, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Was going to respond and try and justify our pricing structure. Then read your other reviews and common sence prevailed. Recommend Weatherspoons for you as Tescos don't do Pinot by the glass !!!! More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

Nice pub, lovely location and friendly bar staff. So we decided to stay and order a bite to eat at lunchtime. My wife decided on the small mussels in white wine and cream sauce with a side of chips and I went for the ham off the bone and chips. Actually all tasted very nice - a good cook/chef and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldInnHolt, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review

I pleased that you enjoyed the food at The Old Inn. Our Ham is locally sourced and carved to order. Generally we serve three slices with the eggs and chips. I am sorry that you did not think it was value for money. Next time you are in please have the Ham Egg & Chips and I will make sure... More 

Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

Arrived at 5.15 as we had tickets for show at Tivoli Wimborne. Though chef didn't start until 5.30 we were welcomed and asked to sit and choose from menu that has a good variety of choices. My pork belly was excellent and friend enjoyed her red meat burger. All staff were friendly and attentive. Will definitely come again and recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldInnHolt, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. The belly of pork is one of our most popular dishes. I am glad you will be returning and appreciate all the hard work the staff do to give guests a positive experience. More 

Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Very disappointed. The tea came with the milk in a huge jug (1 pint size!), the crockery did not match, the sandwiches were huge and placed on a large platter. The cakes and scones claggy and tasteless. Where was the 3 tier stand?? Would I recommend, definitely not even if it was free.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldInnHolt, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review

What a horrible review. Our afternoon tea china is a mixture of teasets from the 40's and 50's and we think its great that all the china is a mix match. Our cakes and scones are homemade and our sandwiches are made to order. We move the crusts and cut them into three. How small do you want them !!!.... More 

Pego, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Looking for a decent country Pub to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Arrived and found booking not in diary, glazed looks from staff left me wondering whether we had become invisible. However found us a table, so all sorted. Cant really moan, food of reasonable standard for the price, just wasnt exceptional - hence average scoring. Would go again, but probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldInnHolt, Owner at The Old Inn, responded to this review

I am surprised you think our food and service is average, but everyone is entitled to their opinion. Unfortunately the review is not constructive as it does not highlight how we can improve so we can meet your expectations. However I am pleased you will return. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit. More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Inn also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Horton, Wimborne Minster
Shapwick, Wimborne Minster
 

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Holt Wimborne, Holt, Wimborne Minster BH21 7DJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wimborne Minster  >  Holt
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 883029

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Description

Food led pub famous for Steak & Kidney Pie with proper short-crust pastry. Perfect for summer days as a great suntrap and watching some of the greatest sunsets in the uk.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?