We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Inn

Holt, Wimborne Minster BH21 7DJ, England
01202 883029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Holt
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
36 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    13
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

Not our first visit. Will not go again. My burger was just about raw and the brioche bun was terrible. The lady serving seemed genuinely embarrassed . Offered another meal but my wife had finished her meal. Drinks we had removed from bill. The place was just about empty so no reason that there was a rush on. Therefore would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologise for your experience on Monday, which is normally out quietest lunch of the week. I had taken the day off. I understand the burger was medium rare and not too your liking. As stated the waitress handled the situation by apologising and offered complimentary drinks and refunded the price of the burger. I hope you will try... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

The Old Inn has been extensively refurbished and has taken on a new lease of life. We had a meal there with friends and it seemed really quite good. The service was friendly, but a bit hit and miss as not all the young staff remembered if you asked for something.... Like water! The food was good, some of us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and the general improvements at The Old Inn. I have printed your comments to show the staff to reinstate the importance of offering good service, and I am sure they have all taken note. I was sorry to hear your husband was ill. We have reviewed our Food hygiene reports for... More

Dorset, England
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Nice location, lovely view of sun going down but food is oh so poor! Steak pie was a flat square of heavy pastry in gelatinous gravy, nice veg but awful chips. Haddock was greasy with little taste, again chips were awful, tasted like the very worse of frozen. Tartar sauce was just plain. Scampi and chips was not very exciting,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

I was disappointed that our food offering did not meet your expectations. Our Steak & Kidney Pie is homemade and guests travel a great distance here just for the Pie. We make a large pie with proper short-crust pastry which is then portioned. The pie has a pastry top and bottom !! We make our gravy from beef bones which... More

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Another lovely meal last night at the old inn. We took friends there as have enjoyed it so much on previous visits and they had not been at the old inn for many years. 6 of us altogether and all of us had excellent meal. Starters for those that had one was on my recomendation of the deep fried brie(have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we are very pleased you enjoyed your experience at The Old Inn. See you soon More

Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We were staying at a cottage and asked for a pub recommendation and were told about this place and that they had never had a bad meal there. We went on a Tuesday night and the dining room was about half full. Service was pleasant and relaxed but effective We had fish and chips and trout with sauté potatoes and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments More

bournemouth
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a lovely Sunday roast in this quaint pub, which has recently been done up. We both had Beef which was served on piping hot plates, the roast potatoes done to a "T" crispy outside, fluffy inside, the veg in fact the whole serving were good portions. Food arrived fairly quick and service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. All our meat, fish and vegetables are sourced locally. We cook the beef on a very low temperature to make it as tender as possible. Plus the roast potatoes are cooked in beef dripping. We look forward to seeing you at "The Old Inn" soon More

Wimborne
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Appalling service is the only way to describe our experience tonight. Living in a neighbouring village we are spoiled with a choice of high standard local pubs around us. As we like to try new places, tonight we decided to visit The Old Inn in Holt. From the outside the pub looks idyllic and possibly if you were there for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments you have made regarding the food at the Old Inn. I sincerely apologise if you felt the service and attitude of the staff did not meet your expectations. We have been extremely busy for the last few months and the young waiting staff work extremely hard to deliver good service. When the pub is... More

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We arrived for a wedding breakfast along with an escort of neon clad cyclists on a pub crawl. The staff handled this expertly and with great humour. You had the impression that nothing could rock these people from what they do best. The hospitality was as warm as the weather - nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. The cyclists definitely added a lot of colour to the pub but were a great bunch of lads especially when they clapped and cheered the arrival of the Bride and Groom, who took there presence in great spirit. Great Day by all. See you soon More

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a simple meal, but it was wonderfully cooked. All the service was excellent and very friendly. This all coupled with sitting out in the pretty new garden area and lovely company meant our evening was one certainly to remember. The only thing I can give some criticism on was the price of the desserts which I think are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to compliment us. It is always appreciated by all the staff, as they all work hard to deliver good service and meet all the guests expectations. We look forward to seeing you soon. We have a outside movie night on The 30th August 9pm. "The Rocky Horror Picture Show". Fancy Dress optional. More

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had our 2nd meal in as many weeks at the old inn and both times food is delicious. Deep fried brie is to die for(starter) We found ALL staff at the old inn very friendly and efficient and on first visit chef (landlord??) came out into restaurant and chatted with us. This is a hidden gem. Quality food and service.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldInnHolt, Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your complements on Trip advisor. It is much appreciated by myself and all the staff as everybody works really hard on a day to day basis to improve the standards and meet customers expectations in all areas of the pub. Sometimes we do not succeed, which people are keen to let the... More

Travelers who viewed The Old Inn also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing