We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Netherton Hall

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Chester Road, Frodsham WA6 6UL, England
+44 1928 732342
Today
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Wed 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 186 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 76
    Excellent
  • 41
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cracking Pub Grub Well worth the money Nice Coffee Too Would Revisit

Food was fantastic i ordered the Guinea Fowl Breast With Red Wine Barley and Mushroom Paste. It was very tasty and very filling ordered with a cappuccino. Our Other meal was gammon and chips the gammon was flame grilled and had a great BBQ Taste the chips where the only let down and where a little... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 6, 2015
Chipster211
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Food was horrible, full of fat and the curry tasted like it was cooked in half a bottle of vegetable oil. Prawn crackers were oily. Pasta dish was oily. Fish undercooked and chips not cooked right. Gammon was practically 75% fat. I do not normally write bad reviews but I felt I had to express my thoughts on this fail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NethertonHallJWL, Manager at Netherton Hall, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have had such a poor experience at the Netherton - please could you contact me via Netherton.hall@jwlees.co.uk to discuss further. More 

Barcelona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 via mobile

Happened upon this lovely restaurant by chance. I had the cod loin wrapped in pancetta and it was delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend anyone to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Food was fantastic i ordered the Guinea Fowl Breast With Red Wine Barley and Mushroom Paste. It was very tasty and very filling ordered with a cappuccino. Our Other meal was gammon and chips the gammon was flame grilled and had a great BBQ Taste the chips where the only let down and where a little chunky and under cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Went with family - 4 adults on Saturday lunchtime. Weather was beautiful so loads of the outside tables were taken. We ordered drinks and food inside and it was served piping hot. I had the burger and it was excellent. I love chunky chips (not the skinny things you get in McDonalds) - we all agreed that the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wirral
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Was out walking around Helsby and Frodsham hills and wanted a post-walk lunch. Knew of this pub and although we arrived at 2.15 they were still serving lunch. We had salmon and cheese and onion pie - both excellent, plus very good bread and butter pudding to finish. Loved it - we will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Decent pub food, huge chunky chips, although a little too expensive for what you get. Garlic bread with cheese wasn't up to much and onion rings were pretty greasy. However, staff were friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We went on Easter Sunday its very expensive for some big chips looks very lazy way of cooking and a Pie, which was okay not convinced it was made on the premises the steak was a bit fatty which my wife had. The staff do make the place, they are very helpful but the food lets it down this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Visited Easter Monday. The restaurant was very busy but our starters came very quickly but the main course was a bit slow in coming, but when it did come the food was very good apart from my pet hate which is very thick cut chips. I do wish restaurants would realise that not everyone likes thick cut chips and offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Never been the Netherton to eat and can say although it was busy and it took a while for the food to arrive it was worth it. I ate from the specials and really enjoyed my squid starter and spagetti main. My mum and dad really enjoyed their mains too. The staff are all really, really lovely and all work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

10 years ago this was a stunning restaurant that my husband and I visited frequently. It went down hill circa 5 years ago so we stopped going. About 12months ago we saw it had changed hands so decided to give it another whirl. We were pleasantly surprised and are now frequent visitors for Sunday lunch. As a vegetarian I don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Netherton Hall also viewed

 

Been to Netherton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Chester Road, Frodsham WA6 6UL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Frodsham
  • Phone Number: +44 1928 732342

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Netherton Hall staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?