We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brown Trout Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Down | Lamberhurst, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8HA, England
+44 1892 890755
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 119 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 50
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Lunch!

Lunched here after visiting Scotney Castle which is nearby. Enjoyed carrot & coriander roulade with crème fraiche filling, new potatoes and fresh vegetables. My partner opted for the chicken & leek pie which was home made. Said it was tasty. Disappointed with pudding though, the tarts were rather... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 1, 2014
caroline1965190759
,
Ashford, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Delightful place to have a relaxed meal and a drink in nice atmosphere with very friendly staff :) recommend and revisit :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

A lovely review, thank you. We have tried our best to create an ambience for customers to enjoy. It's great to hear such feedback. Come back soon! More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lunched here after visiting Scotney Castle which is nearby. Enjoyed carrot & coriander roulade with crème fraiche filling, new potatoes and fresh vegetables. My partner opted for the chicken & leek pie which was home made. Said it was tasty. Disappointed with pudding though, the tarts were rather dry although the filling was quite nice. I had the chocolate with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback from your meal. I have passed on the comments about your desserts...we want our customers to enjoy their meal from start to finish! Its nice to hear you extended your trip to Scotney with a visit to us. I hope you come back again soon. More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great carvery I’d never Eaton here before. I knew of the pub as I’ve played in bands here but last Sunday we happened to be in area and decided to give the carvery a try! A little more expensive than some other carvery’s around our area, but worth it! Really really good food and lovely environment to eat in, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! Its what we like to hear. Our carvery is still going strong, and something we are proud of. So glad you and your family got to enjoy it. If you are into your bands, you should keep an eye...we have live music more or less every fortnight. Hopefully see you again soon! More 

Lamberhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed in Lamberhurst for a month and this was a go to place for us. Julian and his staff were terrific. They were friendly and remembered us each time we went back. The food was excellent. Always fresh and piping hot. Lots of vegetables cooked just right and the fresh Bewl trout is amazing. We went back several times... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Brenda. It was lovely to be part of your month in Kent! It's great you got to enjoy our food and the pub. I wish you all the best with the rest of your trip, and hope you return one day. More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Took my two sons to Brown Trout for Sunday lunch. Had heard good things and was not disappointed. My boys had the Sunday carvery - looked lovely and they both cleared their plates. I had the chicken and avocado salad which was really fab! The staff are great and really attentive. Our waitress Eilidh was a delight. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Sundays are one of most popular days, the carvery is getting a bit of a reputation! So glad you and your boys enjoyed your meals. I will pass your comments on to Eilidh, she deserves that recognition. Hope to see you again soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I just wanted to say what a treasure this pub is. We camped nearby and were made to feel so welcome by the lovely front of house of team who didn't flinch at us arriving with three small children in tow and a little black dog (who fell asleep in the warm surroundings) The decor was cosy, clean with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review, which has been shared with all the staff. Thank you. We aim to be as family friendly as possible, and I am so glad you all felt so welcome. As a community pub, we like to look after everybody and your comments about the workmen are appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed the food too, our jalapeno... More 

Kennebunks, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Been to this pub before but not for about 18mths. The food in the past has always been excellent. Not the case today . We were warned about the wait . Ordered ham ,egg and chips . When it arrived after an hour. Thin horrible packet ham . Queried this and was told they had run out of the normal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear your meal was so unsatisfactory. Although we were extremely busy, it is no excuse. All your feedback has been passed on to the kitchen team, and has been addressed. We always try and warn of waiting times when there are a high volume of orders going through at the same time. But food quality should... More 

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My son suggested the Brown Trout Inn as we were on a family visit to him. I think pub carevry grub ok for a fix. Not the case here the food is superb I could not fault it. I had turkey, pork both very tasty and juicy, the vegetable's fresh and cooked just right. The portion is large and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sundays are very popular at the pub, and I'm glad you got to see why! I'm very happy you enjoyed your meal with us, and we hope you visit again soon. More 

Hardin, Kentucky
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Went to the brown trout with friends. Waited one hour for fish and chips ham egg and chips and one chicken meal with chips. When it did arrive on barely warmed plates the chips were hard and all five of us left most of them. Told the waitress who said they were having trouble with the fryer! Waited another half... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read you had such a bad experience at the Brown Trout. Having addressed the issue regarding the food, I would like to assure our homemade chips will be back on the menu. If you are ever passing, and are willing to try our pub again, I will personally make sure you get the standard of... More 

Pensacola,fl
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I feel I cannot give five points only because we didn't eat here. We broke our rules for this place by going back a second time even though there were other unexplored pubs near by. The manager Alex was great and gave us lots of information. The beer was good and varied. A good time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for a lovely review! Always great to get such positive feedback. I hope you can come back one day and we will feed you next time! Glad you enjoyed yourselves. More 

Travelers who viewed Brown Trout Inn also viewed

Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to Brown Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Down | Lamberhurst, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Royal Tunbridge Wells  >  Lamberhurst
  • Phone Number: +44 1892 890755

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 12 - 30
  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brown Trout Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?