We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lamberhurst Restaurants

Brown Trout Inn

The Down | Lamberhurst, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8HA, England
+44 1892 890755
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $31
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    10
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 NEW

Been eating here for ten years and the Bewl trout has always been a treat not to be missed. So why did our table wait over an hour at lunchtime for a very straightforward sausage and mash, plus the aforementioned much loved trout, for it to arrive dried out and over cooked? It had clearly been warmed through and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We had a great lunch here, really good beer selection and loved the scotch eggs. Nice woodland area nextdoor for the kids to run around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Family meal during half term - arrived later than would normally expect for a 'lunch sitting' but there was no problem in getting the dishes we wanted in good time. The venison burger was good, as were the children's meals....I think my wife would have preferred a baguette with more bite/crunch but overall, we were happy with the main courses.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Lovely atmosphere and excellent service for a meal on Saturday. The menu was no frills good pub food. I ordered the gravadlax which was excellent. The thick homemade bread made it very filling and was so fresh and soft. Delicious. I decided to stay with fish and ordered the local bewl water trout. Oh my goodness - it was more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

What a great review, and one I have shared with the chefs. Thank you. We have just put the gravadlax on the menu, so they were very happy to hear you enjoyed it! The trout is brought in by the local fishermen, and has definitely been a best seller. We realise the portions come out rather big, but we are... More 

Fairlight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I have been going here every 3 - 4 months with friends over the past 18 months. The interior is nice, with a good choice of seating, we always sit at the same table. Staff are always helpful and friendly. The menu is pretty much the same each time, but they do have a specials board. I had chicken and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm so glad you are making regular visits to the pub, and you always have a good experience. Big apologies about the decaf, we have plenty in now, and I promise to keep an eye so we don't run out! Look forward to seeing you again soon... More 

London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Havent been to the BT for a few years and looked forward to the lunch time experience. Pub has an attractive atmospere and garden and I thought we would be well fed. Unfortunately the lunch time food seemed to be a bit basic and the sausage and mash consisted of loads of mash with overdone dry sausages. If you can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

I have passed your comments on the kitchen, especially about the sausages. We take this as constructive criticism, and I hope if you were to give us any chance things will have improved. Many thanks. More 

Surrey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The last time I went to this Pub was about 30 odd years ago, at that time you had to book well in advance to get a table as it was such a popular place to go to eat, the food was superb and the pub was a beautiful welcoming country pub, very well cared for and looked really beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at our pub. I'm sure a lot has changed since you last came 30 years ago and that we couldn't meet your expectations. I understand as it was not expensive meal you did not want to complain, but I would like to think if you did we could have... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Cannot praise the quality of the meat ( we had today from the carvery) enough. The flavour of both the roast pork and roast beef were superb. Beautifully cooked. The vegetables were just right, not over cooked. The gravy full of flavour. Wish we lived nearer so could visit more often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

We really do love getting positive comments about our carvery, as we really are so proud of it! It remains one of our busiest days of the week, and I do feel that is down to the quality. So, thank you for sharing your comments, and we hope you return soon... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

After an horrendously tiring 7-hour drive, we called in at the Brown Trout for a meal, as it was getting late and close to to time when pubs stop serving food. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful, and we were served immediately. The menu has a wide of meals, including 'exotic' meats, and I decided to go for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your meal, especially the exotic meats. They were a great success! We have now gone a bit more seasonal, and introduced game on to the menu. So, if you come back, you must try our local venison. If you contact the pub, I'm sure the chefs wont mind me sharing the recipe! Hopefully see... More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch. Spacious areas for eating, including comfy sofas for relaxing and drinking. Menu rather limited for a vegetarian, however I enjoyed a huge bowlful of grilled halloumi salad, very tasty. The music was a little too loud, but the staff were more than willing to turn it down when asked - very accommodating in meeting the needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex E, Manager at Brown Trout Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your meal with us. I am happy to hear the staff looked after you! I have passed your comments on to the kitchen regarding the vegetarian options. We will always do what we can to accommodate all diners, so hopefully if you come back, we will have more options for you. Thanks... More 

Travelers who viewed Brown Trout Inn also viewed

Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to Brown Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Trout Inn

Address: The Down | Lamberhurst, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8HA, England
Phone Number: +44 1892 890755
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Royal Tunbridge Wells  >  Lamberhurst
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 13 - 31
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brown Trout Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?