We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Cantina

61 Bridge Street, Usk, Wales
+44 1291 673433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 21 restaurants in Usk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Popular Continental/ British food Restuarant/Bistro.Serving top quality food with superior service. Relaxed atmosphere and exceptional music for all tastes. Mediterranean Sun Trap Rear Garden with Water Features.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Popular Continental/ British food Restuarant/Bistro.Serving top quality food with superior service. Relaxed atmosphere and exceptional music for all tastes. Mediterranean Sun Trap Rear Garden with Water Features.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    85
    38
    9
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

We went here as a couple on a Friday night in June. The Restaurant is laid out and decorated lovely. The service was very good, almost too fast, little time between starters and main course. The house red wine was very good and reasonably priced. The place was just let down a little by the food. I ordered the chicken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW via mobile

For the second time in a month I took friends to La Catina and once again received good food and service. I know by looking at some of the reviews that they can be in different but speak as you find on both occasions with different sets of friends they enjoyed it and would definitely go back with there respective... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spitfire990, Owner at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Assuring you of our best attention at all times. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Visited with a Groupon voucher as a celebration for a birthday. How disappointing. Bought in pate with Melba toast crackers from a packet to start. Mushroom risotto lacked mushrooms, was extremely undercooked with raw rice and no flavour or seasoning and very dry. Chicken breast in red wine was presented as a whole breast, dry, with the sauce separate and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spitfire990, Owner at La Cantina, responded to this review

Your visit consisted of a table of four. You mentioned to our our Manager that you were not pleased with the Risotto as in your opinion the rice was two soft. This was returned to the kitchen and replaced at your request with our Seafood Tagliatelle. You were asked twice during and at the end of your meal if everything... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Visited as a family of 4 for afternoon tea after purchasing a voucher via Amazon local. Lovely atmosphere, very friendly staff. Nice choice of sandwiches, scones, cake and welsh cakes. Great value for what we paid. Will definitely be back to try their food as the menu looked really good. Would recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Assuring you of our best attention at all times. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Nice little cafe with a Spanish air (ie Spanish music played in the background and Spanish artifacts spread about). A bit dark and dismal but excellent coffee. Food trad English which belies the overall look.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South Wales
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Having eaten in La Cantina many times over the years, we were very disappointed by the meal we had. The standard of cuisine has clearly fallen. Starters were most definitely 'bought in' including 'melba toast' out of a packet. The vegetable tagine was no more than a tin of tomatoes with a bit of courgette chopped up and some chickpeas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Spitfire990, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

It is just a shame that nothing was said at the time of your visit so we could have dealt with any issues there and then. You were asked on numerous occasions if you were enjoying your meal and nothing negative was mentioned to us. As evidenced by most of our reviews we believe that our food and service is... More

London UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

La Cantina is a small, unprepossessing Italian restaurant in the centre of the beautiful village of Usk - a little off the beaten track for those travelling across South Wales, but well worth visiting. The menu contains a very wide range of meat, fish and vegetarian food (arguably the menu may be a little too long?) but the dishes are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spitfire990, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Assuring you of our best attention at all times. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visited this restaurant for afternoon tea on June 26th using an Amazon Local voucher. We were offered a choice of sparkling wine, tea or coffee and a choice of sandwich fillings. When our tea arrived there were 2, 3 tiered cake stands (there were 4 of us) laden with sandwiches, welsh cakes, scones, pastries and chocolate cake. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spitfire990, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Assuring you of our best attention at all times. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The welcome we had was lovely. Had a table of four and when we were seated we were asked if we would like drinks. Michael the wAiter was very attentive. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was warm. We had drinks outside in the very interesting back garden and left feeling that we had an enjoyable fun evening with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spitfire990, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Assuring you of our best attention at all times. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

contacted them to use my voucher.i was informed that they no longer except KGB deals,because they have not been getting paid.20/06/2014.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Spitfire990, Owner at La Cantina, responded to this review

That is correct. KGB have failed to pay us on numerous occasions. They have been a shocking company to deal with and as such have ceased operating under the KGB name. I am sure you would agree that it would be pointless for us to supply our meals and service free of charge. We are a business not a charity. More

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

 
Usk, Monmouthshire
Usk, Monmouthshire

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing