We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Cantina

61 Bridge Street, Usk, Wales
+44 1291 673433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 22 Restaurants in Usk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $37
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Mon 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tue - Fri 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Popular Continental/ British food Restuarant/Bistro.Serving top quality food with superior service. Relaxed atmosphere and exceptional music for all tastes. Mediterranean Sun Trap Rear Garden with Water Features.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Popular Continental/ British food Restuarant/Bistro.Serving top quality food with superior service. Relaxed atmosphere and exceptional music for all tastes. Mediterranean Sun Trap Rear Garden with Water Features.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    9
    5
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW via mobile

Used an afternoon tea amazon voucher today at lunchtime for Mum & I. What a lovely little place, great atmosphere. Greeted by a friendly waiter. Given a choice of sandwiches & drinks. Served on a stand with a selection of cakes. We were full but the waitress kindly wrapped our leftover cakes to go. For what we paid the quality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Four of us visited in Sept 2014. We all had pasta dishes and they were delicious - could not fault them. The house wine was excellent too. Would definitely eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Our party of 5 visited this empty restaurant early one Saturday evening being strangers to the area as we were performing at the local salmonsfest. We didn't know the area so picked this place as it was on the high street. We also enquired as they are registered as accepting both tastecard and gourmet society cards but seemed to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Very sorry to have received this review. We are very concerned about these comments and would welcome you to get in contact with us to try and discuss further and offer some compensation. We are sorry you have had a bad experience. Kind Regards, The team at La Cantina. More

Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

We recently dined here and had a thoroughly good evening. The atmosphere was a highlight and the restaurant itself was small but well layed out and decorated, a warm, charming and inviting space. The service was fantastic, very attentive but not intrusive. The menu was broad and was full of choice to suit all tastes, although we were left thinking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spitfire990, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I have been to this restaurant quite a few times and have taken my family with me and can truthfully say that I have not found any fault with the food or staff. In fact the cream tea was lovely my mum really enjoyed it, the sandwiches were fresh and the choice of cakes was really good. They have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spitfire990, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My recent dining in experience in La Cantina was extremely disappointing and therefore I decided to set up a Trip Advisor account to write about my experience. I visited La Cantina with my daughter for afternoon tea with a Groupon voucher. The cost of this voucher was £14.95 for two people (full cost should have been roughly £34). This price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Very sorry to have received this review. We are very concerned about these comments and would welcome you to get in contact with us to try and discuss further and offer some compensation. We are sorry you have had a bad experience. Kind Regards, The team at La Cantina. More

Maidenhead
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

As we were away for the weekend in usk we just had to have breakfast out. This place looked nice from the out side and was just as nice inside. It also had a beautiful hard area out the back. Food was fine and service was fine. Portion size was small but tasty enough. Id would like to go back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spitfire990, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Worst afternoon tea ever. My friends daughter paid for my friend and I to have afternoon tea for a birthday treat ,what a disappointment no selection of sandwiches we had to pick one sandwich which was made with thick sliced bread cheese and branston pickle and the hardest scone and welsh cake, you could have knocked someone out with them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 39
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Very sorry to have received this review. We are very concerned about these comments and would welcome you to get in contact with us to try and discuss further and offer some compensation. We are sorry you have had a bad experience. Kind Regards, The team at La Cantina. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We recently visited this restaurant for Afternoon Tea using a voucher purchased from a Daily Deal website. Upon arriving at La Cantina, we were pleasantly surprised; the restaurant was intimate and cosy looking. From here on in it was a complete let down. We were not made to feel welcome; we were made to feel as if we were intruding.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 72
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Very sorry to have received this review. We are very concerned about these comments and would welcome you to get in contact with us to try and discuss further and offer some compensation. We are sorry you have had a bad experience. Kind Regards, The team at La Cantina. More

South Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This venue is a cheap imposter and not worthy of your custom for afternoon tea. You would receive a better cream tea at John Lewis for example than here and receive better value for money. The expectation of a traditional cream tea falls well short of what you would expect; and the proprietor noted from the previous reviews appears unreceptive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 100
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Very sorry to have received this review. We are very concerned about these comments and would welcome you to get in contact with us to try and discuss further and offer some compensation. We are sorry you have had a bad experience. Kind Regards, The team at La Cantina. More

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing