We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Cantina

61 Bridge Street, Usk, Wales
+44 1291 673433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 22 Restaurants in Usk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Popular Continental/ British food Restuarant/Bistro.Serving top quality food with superior service. Relaxed atmosphere and exceptional music for all tastes. Mediterranean Sun Trap Rear Garden with Water Features.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Popular Continental/ British food Restuarant/Bistro.Serving top quality food with superior service. Relaxed atmosphere and exceptional music for all tastes. Mediterranean Sun Trap Rear Garden with Water Features.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    87
    40
    9
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

I have visited many abominable establishments in my lifetime, La Cantina, however was so atrocious I decided to set up a Trip Advisor account to warn future customers. I visited La Cantina with my daughter for afternoon tea with a Groupon voucher. The cost of this voucher was £14.95 for two people (full cost should have been roughly £34). This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 38
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

Worst afternoon tea ever. My friends daughter paid for my friend and I to have afternoon tea for a birthday treat ,what a disappointment no selection of sandwiches we had to pick one sandwich which was made with thick sliced bread cheese and branston pickle and the hardest scone and welsh cake, you could have knocked someone out with them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 33
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

We recently visited this restaurant for Afternoon Tea using a voucher purchased from a Daily Deal website. Upon arriving at La Cantina, we were pleasantly surprised; the restaurant was intimate and cosy looking. From here on in it was a complete let down. We were not made to feel welcome; we were made to feel as if we were intruding.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 67
South Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

This venue is a cheap imposter and not worthy of your custom for afternoon tea. You would receive a better cream tea at John Lewis for example than here and receive better value for money. The expectation of a traditional cream tea falls well short of what you would expect; and the proprietor noted from the previous reviews appears unreceptive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 95
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Had a disappointing start. Went to the restaurant when we noticed an offer on our Gourmet card for 50% off the food bill. We travelled well out of our way because of the offer. We mentioned the card when we arrived only to be told that they are no longer associated with the Gourmet card or any other offer (we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Was in La Cantina for breakfast earlier this week, staff were friendly and the place had a homely feel. The large breakfast tasted fresh and was perfectly cooked. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Pontypool, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Just spent a lovely time in this delightful restaurant. The weather may have been dreadful but the welcome and service was very friendly and warm. We enjoyed a delicious Afternoon Tea with a selection of freshly made sandwiches. Warm scones cream and heavenly strawberry jam. Pastries and welsh cakes plus a Chocolate cake to die for. A truly memorable treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Must have been a bad day ..but was so disappointed in this lunch time venue.Been before and loved it.One waitress run off her feet,trying her best...there were a number of things "off " from the menu..only asked for tuna sandwiches..run out!Don't normally complain but this was pretty bad.Very slapdash and not worth the money..won't go again I'm afraid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here with colleagues for lunch on a course. Good food, reasonably priced and good friendly services. Very nice place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We went here for afternoon tea and we were very disappointed, the sandwiches lacked imagination and decent ingredients, the cakes left a lot to be desired the scones were served with whipped double cream not clotted cream and cheap jam not very inspiring. The toilet left a lot to be desired and was smelly. I don't know what the reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 56
Spitfire990, General Manager at La Cantina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to send us a lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great experience at La Cantina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Team at La Cantina More

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing