We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il Giardino Degli Aranci

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Chowder
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Via Torres 38, 90046 Monreale, Sicily, Italy
0916402573
Website
Add hours for Il Giardino Degli Aranci and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Good for:
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 297 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 176
    Excellent
  • 80
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great view, food quite good.

When we visited this restaurant there was also a large family party taking place which I think is common for this restaurant - it certainly added interest to the evening. The service was very friendly and the food was good - we ate from the €18 prezzo fisso menu. The antipasti was very good... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 22, 2015
Derek R
,
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 NEW via mobile

When we visited this restaurant there was also a large family party taking place which I think is common for this restaurant - it certainly added interest to the evening. The service was very friendly and the food was good - we ate from the €18 prezzo fisso menu. The antipasti was very good, primi piatti passable and secondi good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southlake, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

we were recommended by the owner of the eldest bakery in town, Modena (off the beaten path, two blocks) and we went there recommended by the cathedral administrator. The locale is excellent, not a tourist place, but a restaurant. The owners and son take care of you. Service is great, the view "superb". The food delicious. Overlooking Palermo. Unbelievable prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We usually avoid any restaurant directly on the tourist trail from coach park to major attraction but made an exception for il Giardino degli Aranci because of reviews on here and the stunning location looking across the valley beyond Monreale. It turned out to be a delight. Charming service from Giuseppe, good food (the patatini were specially good) and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Giardino Degli ... M, Proprietario at Il Giardino Degli Aranci, responded to this review

Hello from Angela. Thank you very much for your review. Kindly regards Angela More 

lima, Peru
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We were reccommended by the manager of the hotel. Went to have dinner and was really good. Full of people of Monreale. Which tells you it is good. The next day we return to have lunch

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

we were a bit reluctant to go to Giardino Degli Aranci after reading the reviews here, some complained about slow service, others about "tourist trap" pricing, but the location is so beautiful we decided to give it a chance. what a pleasant surprise - food was good, service very attentive and quick, the prices for both food and wine were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Giardino Degli ... M, Proprietario at Il Giardino Degli Aranci, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your beautiful rewiew. Best regards from me and the staff. Angela More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

+ Good quality and presentation of seafood + Beautiful views of Palermo + Very well responsive staff - The wine was not introduced and presented by one of the young waitresses, which is obviously expected in the such a high quality restaurant - not a big problem, just recommendation

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a perfect lunch here. The food was delicious, the service was good, the garden and the views amazing. Be careful at the opening hours: it closes at 3:30 pm and opens again at 7:00 pm. Overall I recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Several reviewers complained about the slow service , but I mean this is what one would call slow eating . Yes , we did waited a lot between courses and we waited 10 min just for the bill , but if you have a group of friends like ours who want to chat a lot over dinner , slow service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Yes, the view is impressive. Yes, the service is slow. But hey, it's Sicily. The service is always slow ... you're supposed to be taking your time and enjoying the experience of dining. My issue was with the food. With all these great reviews ... and starting in a part of the world famous for its food ... I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The service was bad, we've waited about 30 min between each course. We've been served withe frozen arancione and other tasteless dishes, the pasta (pasta alla Norma ) was poorly made and also the pizza. Do not try it!!! We went there because of the wonderful review that we read on the tripadvisor... Bad mistake!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Giardino Degli ... M, Proprietario at Il Giardino Degli Aranci, responded to this review

Good evening dear guest, I'm Angela and I think to remember you reading your feedback. I'm sorry that you don't tell me before you pay about your food problem. I can't also understand why you didn't communicate with the waiter. I would like to kindly invite you one more time in my restaurant when you'll come back in Sicily. Best... More 

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino Degli Aranci also viewed

Monreale, Province of Palermo
Monreale, Province of Palermo
 
Monreale, Province of Palermo
Monreale, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Il Giardino Degli Aranci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Via Torres 38, 90046 Monreale, Sicily, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Sicily  >  Province of Palermo  >  Monreale
  • Phone Number: 0916402573

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 54
  • Cuisine: Chowder

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Il Giardino Degli Aranci staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?