We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paleon Ethelonton Polemiston Street | Lambi, Kos Town 85300, Greece
+(30)2242020885
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 172 Restaurants in Kos Town
Hours:
Sun - Sat 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    7
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We are vegetarians and 'fared' rather better in Kos than most places for eating out. Had a lovely meal here with grilled halloumi kebabs, other local cheese specialities and who knew that beans and carrots together could taste so good!! When our feast arrived it looked almost too good to eat. Enny our waitress was so welcoming and informative. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
worsley manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

we had no problem with this restaurant the food was good hot and didn't have to wait to long between coarses and there was quite a few in,the young girl who served us was very friendly, went passed one day and they were getting it ready for a wedding looked very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newhaven East Sussex England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

In common with other reviewers we too had an awfully long wait to receive our order, 90 mins, and when the food did arrive it was such a disappointment, lukewarm and nasty, I complained and the answer was ' all the customers have come at the same time so tough'. Well all I can say is tough on you, because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros K, Owner at Istros, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We admit that this year we have been busier than ever - something which was not anticipated at the beginning of the season. It is a huge problem when everyone arrives together and orders food that takes time to prepare, such as grilled food or mousaka which is made at that precise moment. We understand your distress and... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

This became my preferred restaurant in Kos. I ate three times in here, and the food and service were supreme every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros K, Owner at Istros, responded to this review

Your kind words mean so much right now, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your love for our restaurant with others!! THANK YOU! ...Hope to see you again soon! Spyros More 

Glasgow, Scotland.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

My wife and I visited the Istros within the last week as it was local to our hotel. We sat down and someone came over and gave us menu's and we then ordered our drinks. The drinks arrived quickly but we then sat for 20 minutes with closed menu's awaiting our order to be taken. I actually had to call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros K, Owner at Istros, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to point out to me what a terrible experience you had. I take all complaints very serisouly and I am working on any service and staffing problems as we speak. I cannot understand why your meal took such a long time when it was not busy, we do have a problem when... More 

cornwall
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We had a very nice meal here. The place is spotlessly clean and the service was good. We waited for what seemed an absolute age for our meal to arrive and for that reason we didn't go back although I realise that this could have been a one off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros K, Owner at Istros, responded to this review

Hi there, We are really, really sorry about the fact that you had to wait so long! We have had an issue with that this year as we have been busier than ever. We appreciate you taking the time to kindly let us know what we could do better and fully agree with you that this wait is too long!!... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I ordered the gyro's plate but was hugely disappointed. The meat was very dry and ubeatable. My husband ordered the spare ribs which again were dry but smothered in bbq sauce which was somewhat tepid and did not succulate the ribs. The waitress was lovely and could not apologise enough despite her being shouted at most of the time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros K, Owner at Istros, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are sorry that you didn't like the food your ordered, but it has to be said that both plates that you ordered are 2 of our most popular dishes! There is not a day that goes by that either of these plates do not sell out. I am very sorry to say it, but it is a... More 

Shoreham-By-Sea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

We ate at Istros a couple of times while staying at the Aqua Blu hotel. Our hotel has an excellent 'up market' restaurant - but we like seeking out local places offering quality local food at reasonable prices. We had a number of traditional Greek dishes and mezes at Istros - all very enjoyable. What we really liked about this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spyros K, Owner at Istros, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review! The lady's name is Enny, and yes, she is brilliant and we are lucky to have her!! We're really glad you enjoyed your meals with us! Thank you Spyros More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We spent many evenings in Istros during our 3 week stay. We was always greeted with a warm welcome on all our visits never rushed . The menu had a great selection and offered 3 courses we tried many dishes all was lovely would recommend Istros as a must try

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

would highly recommend visiting the Istros, it's one of the few restaurants that is open all year round, which means it's used by the locals. have visited on many occasions always found it very clean, have always received the most excellent service, would recommend the stuffed vine leaves. we have also enjoyed many visits just to have a simple snack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros K, Owner at Istros, responded to this review

Hahaha! Thank you Bman!! Your review means a lot to us! and we'll always look after you...make your frappes, souffles and give you a lift anywhere you need to! We love it when we get the chance to make friends not just meet customers! See you again soon!! Spyros :) More 

Travelers who viewed Istros also viewed

 

Been to Istros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istros

Address: Paleon Ethelonton Polemiston Street | Lambi, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Phone Number: +(30)2242020885
Location: Europe  >  Greece  >  Dodecanese  >  Kos  >  Kos Town
Open Hours:
Sunday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisine: Greek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Istros staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Things to do Nearby