We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Glasgow Lobster Supper

#604 Route 258 | New Glasgow, Hunter River, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
+1 902-964-2870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 restaurants in Hunter River
Price range: $7 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sit back and let us serve you. All meals include an all you can eat adventure served to you at your table. Let your taste buds indulge in our all you can eat appetizers, salads and desserts. HOT, straight from our oven mouth-watering rolls, freshly steamed Island Blue mussels, our flavorful seafood chowder, PEI potato salad and much, much more. We offer up only the freshest of everything - lobster served the Island way, straight from our own salt water lobster pound on site. We understand that lobster isn't for everyone, so why not try our pan seared Digby scallops, Atlantic salmon or PEI Strip loin steak from just around the corner! And don't forget to finish with a slice of our famous "mile high" lemon meringue pie. Experience an unforgettable Island tradition at PEI's original Lobster Suppers, New Glasgow Lobster Suppers since 1958. You will find us nestled in the village of New Glasgow, PEI on Route 258, off Highway 13 just 10 minutes from Cavendish Beach National Park. We open for the season at the beginning of June and and close The Canadian Thanksgiving weekend in October. Open 7 days a week from 4-8:30pm seasonally. We offer group rates (over 25ppl). Reservations accepted for groups of 8 or more.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    90
    65
    36
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

It is too crowded, too noisy, with slow service and not-so-fresh mussels. You'd better go to the St Ann's

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW

The staff & management of New Glasgow Lobster Suppers was awesome. Not only did we get a tasty meal to fill our bellies, but they even took the time to bring our kids into the back room, where the lobsters are to see them and how big they get (well at the restaurant at least lol). Mussels, seafood bisque, lobster,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This Lobster Supper offers delicious food, good value, and a real PEI experience. The decor is minimalist at best, very basic; and alive with the chatter of families, tourists and locals. It does, however, offer superb views of the Clyde River and the rolling hills make for a scenic drive. It is the food which is the real star at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great place $31 for 1kg lobster with unlimited starter and mussels, Very casual with quick turnaround and massive desserts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Candiac, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a great place to eat when your with a large number of people gathering for an office outing. Fabulous seafood all you can eat hot bread buns, seafood chowder and deserts. You choose what you want to eat lobster scampies etc as a main course and the rest is all you ca eat. The seafood chowder was amazingly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Lobster was split head to tail dragging the green stuff through the tail meat. Waiter said it was an squired taste but no offer to do anything about it. The man at the door where we paid also could have cared less. Poor service from these people. Only on it for the tourist money!! Chowder was only barely warm too.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forrest1980, Manager at New Glasgow Lobster Supper, responded to this review

I am very sorry that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We do encourage all our guests to try the tamale ( the liver/green of the lobster) as it is very much a personal taste. Each lobster is cut to make it easier for our guests to get into the lobster, and all are presented the same way... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have eaten here numerous times over the past 15 years and have always found the food excellent, however last nights meal left us disappointed. The mussels arrived more than a bit cool and the chowder had a skin formed on the top and again, was not overly warm. The lobster was just so-so and tasted like it was boiled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Forrest1980, Manager at New Glasgow Lobster Supper, responded to this review

Dear Scott, I am so sorry that you had a poor dining experience with us. We appreciate your patronage and would hate to think that we have lost your faith in us since you have been such great customers supporting us for the last 15 years. We would like to hear from you and discuss your experience. Feel free to... More

Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Visited New Glasgow Lobster Suppers this past weekend and was very disappointed from the time my two friends and I entered the building. The man who took our payment was so "unfriendly", I don't think he knows how to smile to a customer. I never got a hello, welcome, a thank-you, enjoy your meal..nothing!!! I've worked in customer service for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forrest1980, Manager at New Glasgow Lobster Supper, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and so sorry to hear that your experience was not up to our standard. We certainly will take all that you have said and give it consideration. It gives us something to r work on for the rest of the season. If you would like to contact us to discuss your experience further please do... More

Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We enjoyed a meal here in June 2014. Good location, comfortable seating and great views! The service was excellent! Very attentive, food was served at the table timely and was hot! The choices are plentiful. Mussels, chowder, salad, main course and awesome desserts! The cost was reasonable! A must do!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lacombe, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We saw this featured on 'You Gotta Eat Here' and our friends were told it's the best place on the island for lobster dinner. They do have none seafood meals as well. A unique setting for us as we've never experienced group eating like this. Order and pay at the door, then you are seated and waited on with as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forrest1980, Manager at New Glasgow Lobster Supper, responded to this review

Thank you Cindy for your kind words. We love hearing how people found out about us and nothing beats word of mouth but "You Gotta Eat Here" comes close! Glad you got to take a tour of our lobster pound , it's alittle cold in there but fun to look at all the different size lobsters. Thanks again Erin More

Travelers who viewed New Glasgow Lobster Supper also viewed

Prince Edward Island, Canada
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Rustico, Prince Edward Island
Hunter River, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Hunter River, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Been to New Glasgow Lobster Supper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Glasgow Lobster Supper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing