We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Gili Trawangan

East Beach Gili Trawangan | Gili Island, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
0811399877
Website
Update restaurant details
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Gili Trawangan is located on the coast that has the widest beach on Gili Trawangan and incredible panoramic views, we can see the Rinjani mountain, Gili Meno, Lombok Island while sunbathing
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Gili Trawangan is located on the coast that has the widest beach on Gili Trawangan and incredible panoramic views, we can see the Rinjani mountain, Gili Meno, Lombok Island while sunbathing
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    26
    25
    14
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast.
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

We tried to enjoy our dinner, which should have been a pleasant experience with the wonderful duet that plays/sings mellow western oldies like The Beatles and Creedence. But there's a mosque, apparently just across the street, that simultaneously plays a gawd-awful nasally chanting at full volume and almost drowns out everthing else for half an hour. I have no idea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Do everyone a favor and don't advertise that you take credit card when you really don't since your machine is perpetually broken. It makes for a disappointing experience when you specifically choose a place that takes credit and ask the staff before hand if they will take credit card only to try and pay and get 'woops its broken'. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

Once again I do apologize for your inconvenience. People come on holiday to have a stress free time. I had only been working here 3 weeks from when you came for your visit. I am still working on many details to make your experience more enjoyable on the island. Since your visit we have made a complaint with the bank.... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had great dinner here (jumbo shrimps and barracuda) very fresh and tasteful prepared on BBQ. Rice was bit sticky and lettuce dry but fish was superb!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

Thanks for the good review. I'm glad you enjoyed the BBQ. Indonesians always make their rice sticky. I will suggest we cook it a little less. I think that's the difference between Western taste and Asian taste. We always think our rice is a fail if it sticks and they want it sticky because they eat with their hands. Hahaha,... More

Vienna
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I also found the service irritating etc...but that's all nothing compared to being sick like two hours later. I had all the signs of food poisioning, stomach cramps and vomiting. I guess it was the banana cake that did it. I went inside to ask about desserts (as the waitress took ages to come to the table). There she told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

I'm sorry about your experience at Cafe Gili. Since then the owner has hired a new manager. I started on December 16th of 2013 and am working hard to make sure every aspect of your visit is what you would expect from an island retreat. Maybe you can give us a chance to make it up to you. Would like... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the staff was really nice. We had a bruschetta and a seafood nasi goreng, both very good (though the seafood consisted only of shimps), and so far the espresso was the best on gili t. Also the fresh juices were very tasty. Totally recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

Thanks for the recommendation! Instead of calling it Nasi Goreng Seafood maybe we should call it shrimp fried rice or maybe we could add a little squid to it. What else? Certainly no fish. I will be working on the menu soon. Looking forward to it actually. I just started working here on the 16th of Dec 2013 but was... More

Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great location on the beach. Top service and staff with a big smile. Innovative desserts, coconut ice cream to die for! Excellent value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

Thanks for the top notch review! Glad you enjoyed it. More

Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a few days in Gili T this past August and quickly became regulars at Cafe Gili. During the day, the place runs as a "beach club" with giant pillows as sun beds and easy food served on the beach. In the evening the place becomes a proper restaurant - but you can still choose to have dinner right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

Thanks for backing me up on the price of coffee. I did my best to respond to the guy who thought we were overpriced. Also thank you for giving such a detailed review. I just started as the GM recently and could have my hands full for at least a few days just replying to all the reviews. Hahaha. Glad... More

Daegu, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A friend and I went here to *try* and eat dinner. We arrived shortly before a huge group of about fifteen spoiled rich kids on their gap year. They were loud, obnoxious, and completely dominated the staff's attention once they walked in. 1st Offense: We had to call the staff over to place an order 2nd Offense: After waiting 30... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

I'm sorry about your awful service. The owner has recognized this and has hired a new manager. I have five years experience working in a cafe in Jakarta and decided to move to the island for a new challenge. Statistically there needs to be someone in charge consistently to keep food and service up to par in Indonesia. I have... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I went here today for a double espresso. I had to pay 40.000 rph. This is totally insane!!! I normally have a complete meal and a drink for the same price. Gili trawangan is spoilt. This island is wasted by tourist prices and there is no way back. How sad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you think 40,000 is too much to enjoy a double expresso in a laid back restaurant on the beach. Our menu is competitively priced and the prices are clearly marked. To say we are a rip off restaurant is completely unfair. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had a sandwich at lunch time and I was positively impressed so to convince my friends to go and have dinner there at night. It was a nightmare: very bad and poor food, bad service, no athmosphere...in few words: stay away from that place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your sandwich and sorry you didn't enjoy your dinner. And thank you for giving us 3 out of 5 for atmosphere even after saying it wasn't any good. Appreciated. I just started as the new manager less than 2 weeks ago and the first thing I'm working on is atmosphere. It's so very important. I think... More

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gili Trawangan also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Cafe Gili Trawangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Gili Trawangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing