We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Gili Trawangan

East Beach Gili Trawangan | Gili Island, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
0811399877
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Gili Trawangan is located on the coast that has the widest beach on Gili Trawangan and incredible panoramic views, we can see the Rinjani mountain, Gili Meno, Lombok Island while sunbathing
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Gili Trawangan is located on the coast that has the widest beach on Gili Trawangan and incredible panoramic views, we can see the Rinjani mountain, Gili Meno, Lombok Island while sunbathing
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    17
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Ok, so I can be a little pedantic back in Melbourne - but generally I think I'm pretty consistent when comparing against the relevant market. And the Gili Trawangan dining scene is average at best in my opinion. Don't let that stop you coming to this beautiful part of the world though!! Service started out well here, but declined after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Ok the grill close to the entrance is cool and the location, with a nice view on Gili beach, is lovely. The problem is that the smoke from the grill doesn't allow to breth and the food is really poor. There are other place a where you will eat better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Went to Cafe Gili because it was such a pretty restaurant and smelled great (like French crepes). Unfortunately, I think my boyfriend and I ordered the wrong things. Ordered a tuna tartare, which was bland, while he ordered a steak with bearnaise sauce, which was butterfly cut for some strange reason and came with an onion gravy (definitely not bearnaise).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very comfortable beach chairs, good food and reasonably priced drinks! The location is great with chairs in the shade and in the sun - whichever your preference!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florida
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We tried to enjoy our dinner, which should have been a pleasant experience with the wonderful duet that plays/sings mellow western oldies like The Beatles and Creedence. But there's a mosque, apparently just across the street, that simultaneously plays a gawd-awful nasally chanting at full volume and almost drowns out everthing else for half an hour. I have no idea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Do everyone a favor and don't advertise that you take credit card when you really don't since your machine is perpetually broken. It makes for a disappointing experience when you specifically choose a place that takes credit and ask the staff before hand if they will take credit card only to try and pay and get 'woops its broken'. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

Once again I do apologize for your inconvenience. People come on holiday to have a stress free time. I had only been working here 3 weeks from when you came for your visit. I am still working on many details to make your experience more enjoyable on the island. Since your visit we have made a complaint with the bank.... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had great dinner here (jumbo shrimps and barracuda) very fresh and tasteful prepared on BBQ. Rice was bit sticky and lettuce dry but fish was superb!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

Thanks for the good review. I'm glad you enjoyed the BBQ. Indonesians always make their rice sticky. I will suggest we cook it a little less. I think that's the difference between Western taste and Asian taste. We always think our rice is a fail if it sticks and they want it sticky because they eat with their hands. Hahaha,... More

Vienna
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I also found the service irritating etc...but that's all nothing compared to being sick like two hours later. I had all the signs of food poisioning, stomach cramps and vomiting. I guess it was the banana cake that did it. I went inside to ask about desserts (as the waitress took ages to come to the table). There she told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

I'm sorry about your experience at Cafe Gili. Since then the owner has hired a new manager. I started on December 16th of 2013 and am working hard to make sure every aspect of your visit is what you would expect from an island retreat. Maybe you can give us a chance to make it up to you. Would like... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the staff was really nice. We had a bruschetta and a seafood nasi goreng, both very good (though the seafood consisted only of shimps), and so far the espresso was the best on gili t. Also the fresh juices were very tasty. Totally recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

Thanks for the recommendation! Instead of calling it Nasi Goreng Seafood maybe we should call it shrimp fried rice or maybe we could add a little squid to it. What else? Certainly no fish. I will be working on the menu soon. Looking forward to it actually. I just started working here on the 16th of Dec 2013 but was... More

Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great location on the beach. Top service and staff with a big smile. Innovative desserts, coconut ice cream to die for! Excellent value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cafe_Gili_Manager, General Manager at Cafe Gili Trawangan, responded to this review

Thanks for the top notch review! Glad you enjoyed it. More

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gili Trawangan also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Cafe Gili Trawangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Gili Trawangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing