We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Barn Owl

Old Barn Owl, Langport ta100bh, England
01460 281391
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 21 Restaurants in Langport
Price range: $3 - $33
Cuisines: English, British, Fish & Chips, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nicky and Richard welcome you to come and join them in this family run, family friendly traditional pub set in the beautiful Somerset countryside. Recently taken over Nicky and Richard are getting back to the good old traditional classic food menu, handmade where possible and produce sourced locally. Large dining area, family, child friendly. Large beer garden over looking the countryside. Traditional 300 year old property inside with wealth of character. Large inglenook fireplaces and large log burners. Function room available for various uses. Large car park.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have stayed down the road from the Old Barn Owl and had two superb meals there. It seems The new owners have certainly fulfilled their promise to improve the menu which is so much more than the usual pub grub, although they do have a bar/ light snacks menus as well the main menu, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bournemouth
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had a meal here a couple weeks back could not fault it at all steak you could sucked it away scampi was delicious lovely will be going back again lovely staff and great pub and well worth the money infact paid more for food that was not a patch on here so worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Visited as part of a large group. The food was provided as a buffet. With a choice of lasagne, chicken curry and steak & kidney pie and chips. Due to quantity and quality of the food provided I was compelled to indulge in seconds and thirds! I was therefore able to sample all three choices. I can simply sum the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldbarnowlwestport, Owner at Old Barn Owl, responded to this review

Hi, we would just like to say thank you for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and look forward to you returning and trying out our new menu. More

Yeovil
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Since visiting on Fathers day back in June we have been here on a wednesday evening about 5 times, as they do 2 sirloin steaks for £20. The last 3 times it has been cold in the pub and this evening, on a really bad night it was freezing. They had lit the log burner but only just as it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldbarnowlwestport, Owner at Old Barn Owl, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your review. My wife and i have just brought this pub/restaurant and would like to assure you that we are working very hard to get this up to a high level of standards. The heating was a issue and i totally agree with you but i hope that you will come and try us again to... More

Churchill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went here for a committee meeting in November, the place was freezing some members put on their overcoats. The lunch was delivered piece meal, even though we had pre ordered. I had fish cakes which were OK but the vegetables came several minutes later followed by some chips even later. There was nobody else in the restaurant so no excuses!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldbarnowlwestport, Owner at Old Barn Owl, responded to this review

My wife and I are the new owners here and I have to agree with your comments in your review. When we came to view the property it was cold so i know what you mean. We have been here 12 days and in that time we have worked very hard to improve standards throughout the property. It obviously takes... More

Curry Rivel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have eaten here about 5 times now, and every time we have had excellent food!! All cooked to perfection, the veg is the best I have had, fresh and full of flavour. A good choice and totally unpretentious,which is refreshing these days, as alot jump on the gastro bandwagon, forgetting the importance of good food at a good price.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a family meal there. We made the most of it and enjoyed ourselves. This was despite the fact that the food was nothing special, and the service non existent. Menu too large to offer quality food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldbarnowlwestport, Owner at Old Barn Owl, responded to this review

My wife and I have just taken over this property and would like to assure you that we are making some positive changes. I agree the menu was not great and we have put together a great new menu which is getting back to traditional pub classic food. Service has improved a lot too. I would like to ask you... More

Crewkerne
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Average to all aspects.over egged the menu, As Ramsey said,better to do five great dishes than forty average ones. Plus point lots of things going on,as in entertainment , Can't really say much more than that!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oldbarnowlwestport, Owner at Old Barn Owl, responded to this review

Hi would like to say that my wife and I have just taken over this place and in the 12 days we've been here have made some really positive changes. We have a new menu that is getting back to traditional pub classic food. I agree there was far to much choice. All the feedback customers are giving us each... More

Ilminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ate here early one Friday evening and the food cannot be faulted, my only slight crtisism is maybe too much choice on the menu. Fantastic midweek deal, prices are all very reasonable for great homecooked fresh food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yeovil
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had driven around looking for this pub as I last visited about 7 yrs ago, having found it we popped in to have a drink and a look around. Huge seating area which is sort of divided up which gives the whole place a great atmosphere. We had a look at the menu and had just a couple of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Old Barn Owl also viewed

 

Been to Old Barn Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Barn Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing