We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

We Three Loggerheads

Bar, British, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Ruthin Road, Gwernymynydd, Mold CH7 5LH, Wales
01352 810337
Website
Add hours for We Three Loggerheads and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 227 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 65
    Excellent
  • 64
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 44
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Great food

Good menu and helpful staff, the food was great and in great surroundings. Would recommend this place if you are en route to Snowdon, still probably an hour away.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 28, 2015
VixenVixen
,
West Sussex
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 NEW

Where to start...service for drinks was terrible...which led to us having to order two of each drink in the end so that we didn't have to endure the fifteen minute wait (even though noone else was in the queue) Dinner was a disaster: paid extra for a large beef dinner only to have it the same size as a normal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

I'm always surprised to see so many bad reviews for this venue. Either I have been really lucky every time I have visited or the rating for We Three Loggerheads doesn't do it justice. The Loggs' boasts food that is both home cooked and high quality. The desserts on offer here would stand alongside those in venues charging twice the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

What a star! Thank you so much! We have hundreds of people pass through here and although we can't get things right 100% of the time (who can?) we don't do a bad job. Too many people complain but not enough offer praise! When you consider how many meals we do here and how many people we serve drinks to... More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

What a terrific place. Saw the fabulous hanging baskets and decided to give it a try. The food was out of this world and what impressed my husband and I was that it catered for all - you could have steak and strawberries or home made gravy on superb chips. Toilets were spotlessly clean and the landlady, Linda, was delightful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you decided to stop off and that you enjoyed your lunch time experience with us too. Hope you call in again soon More 

West Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

Good menu and helpful staff, the food was great and in great surroundings. Would recommend this place if you are en route to Snowdon, still probably an hour away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your food and visit with us. Hope you spread the word and come back soon More 

Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We have often passed the "loggerheads" with its impressive display of hanging baskets and other florals. Finally I had the time to call in for a meal. The young man serving us was polite and helpful, but not overbearing, tables were clean and well set out. The dining area has a high ceiling which gives an air of spaciousness. Although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

I was a little confused with your heading for this review as overall you seemed to have enjoyed your visit and plan to come again. For your bill to be £37 for 2 steaks and coffee, there must have been other food and drink ordered as our steaks are £12.50 each for 8ozWelsh rumps, with onion rings, chips, tomato and... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We arrived as a party of 5, service was good but not overpowering. Very disappointed with the food, ingredients seemed fresh from the packet rather than fresh from the market. Two of us had belgian waffles for dessert which was obviously microwaved and rock hard in the middle. I remember this place from 20 years ago, and the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Glad the service was ok for you but I can hand on heart say that we do not serve food from a packet! We make our own dishes including desserts. The waffle of course is bought in as we couldn't keep up demand with a waffle maker! They are put under the grill and topped with our home made toffee... More 

Broughton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We called in on the way home, for a drink and a dessert. The dessert menu was lovely, although we did spend five minutes wandering about looking for someone to serve us, the bar area was unmanned when we arrived. I have had warmer welcomes, but the desserts chosen were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

So sorry the staff weren't there to meet and greet you. I hope they displayed better service once you were attended to. Glad you liked the food though. Don't know what you had but in all honesty all of the desserts are quite yummy, More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

What an awful experience at this place. Utter rude staff, no customer service at all. Reading back at reviews I'm not the only one. A disturbing experience overall. Will be telling fellow hikers to stay clear of this unfriendly pub, restaurent. Not sure if it is part owned by a brewery. If it is I shall be emailing them. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

This extremely non specific. We have many hikers, bikers and all manner of people, ALL of whom are welcome! You do not mention anything we can comment on or rectify We are not brewery owned and value all of the customers who visit. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

The female "supervisor" that was working during our visit today had the worst customer service skills I've ever had the misfortune to experience. Extremely rude. The owner was not sympathetic when we complained and when explained we had just spent over £20 on just one round of drinks at his establishment, and expected better customer service, quote "I still wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

What you failed to mention here is that the reason you were approached by our supervisor and my husband is because although you had purchased coffees, your party were sat outside our pub eating your own food and drinking your own drinks. My husband politely explained that it wouldn't matter if you had spent £20 or £150 you would still... More 

Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Ate here with my husband on evening. The meal was average but the service was very poor. We waited a long time for our order to be taken as the man taking the orders in the dining room was also working behind the bar in a separate room. Female waitress behaved as though we were a nuisance by being there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had to wait a while for your order yo be taken but we operate with 2 members if staff across the bar and restaurant hence the waiter and waitress were operating between the two. When we have few bookings in the diary we do not put on additional staff which sometimes with the volume of "walk ins"... More 

Travelers who viewed We Three Loggerheads also viewed

 

Been to We Three Loggerheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about We Three Loggerheads

Address: Ruthin Road, Gwernymynydd, Mold CH7 5LH, Wales
Phone Number: 01352 810337
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Flintshire  >  Mold  >  Gwernymynydd
Cuisine: Bar, British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Ruthin Road, Gwernymynydd, Mold CH7 5LH, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Flintshire  >  Mold  >  Gwernymynydd
  • Phone Number: 01352 810337

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Bar, British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from We Three Loggerheads staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?