We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Fall River Restaurants

Encore @ Inn On The Lake

3009 Hwy 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada
902-861-3480
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Fall River
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    3
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

New Year's Eve dinner with my Lady who lives locally. Really good 5 course dinner, chilled lobster amuse bouche, beef Carpaccio, rack of lamb, trio of crème brulee. Old world charm and pleasant staff, nice restaurant layout and large car park. However the place was way too cold which made the red wine undrinkable to start with and it's not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Ian F. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our foods, service and ambience on New Year’s Eve. To address your comments on the temperature, music and occupancy. Unfortunately I do not know whether you dined In Oliver’s Gastropub or Encore Fine Dining, so I can’t comment on the temperature of the room as we did not receive any... More 

Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Was at the restaurant at "Inn on the Lake" with a friend for lunch on December 31st, 2014. Had the seafood quiche which was disappointing. Quiche which was said to have salmon, scallops and lobster seem to lack anything other than the salmon. But the crust was tough and rubbery, which appears to indicate that it was microwaved. Also had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Blair M, Thank you for writing a review on your recent dining experience. Seafood quiche is one of our most popular luncheon offerings. We regularly receive complements on the dish. I do wish you had brought your concerns to our attention while you were here so we could have replaced the meal or offered some other form of compensation.... More 

Dartmouth, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Diner beware! What you order from the menu may not be what arrives at the table. Recently I ordered the Seafood casserole which is described as coming with a puff pastry crust. I have ordered this dish in the past and quite enjoyed it. On this occasion, however, the casserole arrived at the table without the crust. When asked about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Wendy M, Thank you for submitting a review on your recent dining experience with us at Encore at Inn on the Lake. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize that we missed the puff pastry on your seafood casserole. It’s nice to hear that you ordered the dish in the past and quite enjoyed it. Our kitchen and your server... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Visited this lovely Inn for lunch recently. For some reason I bombed out with the food !, I ordered the French Dip baguette. I had to return it as the beef was cold and rare. My experiences with this type of sandwich is that it is served hot with a dipping sauce. It came with about 2 tablespoons of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Ruth G, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. We looked into what happened that day and the fact there was a change in servers definitely complicated the level of service you received. They were aware that you did not like your baguette and should have removed it from... More 

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We met with four family members from the Halifax area for dinner at this location. We were thoughtfully given a quiet private dining room, which was greatly appreciated. Our waitress was a bit unpolished and casual, but nevertheless very friendly and attentive. The menu was suitably large and varied and offered a number of creative preparations. The wine list seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear foodbuffs, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your dining experience with us. We’re happy to read that overall you were pleased with the food. We don’t normally have complaints on the seafood casserole, but it was brought to the chef’s attention. Sincerely, Ron Nelson Innkeeper More 

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Met a friend here for supper on a Sunday evening. Staff were helpful, service was great, and setting was beautiful. It is located just off the highway, surrounded by trees and on the shore of a lake - even more stunning in the Fall. Ordered the haddock and chips - and it was the worse haddock & chips i think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear webster09, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We do hope that you let your server know so that she could rectify it immediately. It’s uncommon to get a complaint on our fish & chips but we have informed our chef and we hope you will consider this a one off and try again... More 

Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I was looking for a good breakfast spot, near the Halifax Airport, to take friends who were travelling. I'm so pleased I happened on Encore at Inn on the Lake. First of all, it is fall in Nova ?Scotia so the Inn is ringed by red and gold maple trees. Inside the restaurant, you can choose a table that overlooks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Kaye007, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your experience with us. We appreciate the nice comments and we look forward to having you as our guest again during the holidays. Sincerely, Ron Nelson Innkeeper More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is one of the places in NS that I like to go when I want a good meal with friends/family in an elegant setting. A truly nice restaurant with linen table cloths, subdued sound level, good food, and excellent service. The menu is broad without being ridiculously long--there is something for everyone. The food was served hot and tasty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Don C, We were pleased to see such a nice review. Thank you for taking the time to write about our restaurant and giving us such great scores. We will surely share this with the rest of our team. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Encore. Sincerely, Ron Nelson Innkeeper More 

Lindsay, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We were visiting Dartmouth and drove out to meet friends for breakfast here as they were staying at the Inn. We are really glad we did. The waitress was very friendly and up-beat. We all liked her right away. She was also a real pro as a waitress. The food was excellent. I had an omelet. You choose your ingredients... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Canada_Reals, It is especially nice when someone takes time out of their day to write such kind remarks - Thank you for reviewing our restaurant. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and were pleased with the service. We look forward to having you as our guest again should you ever come out this way in... More 

Liverpool, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Best seafood chowder ever as a starter and then it just keeps going and going. Great main dishes and the desserts are to die for. If lived closer would definitely eat there more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Dawn R, We would like to thank you for also writing a review on our restaurant in addition to your hotel review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write about your hotel and dining experience. We will pass along your compliments and we hope to have you as our guest again in the future. With Many Thanks,... More 

Travelers who viewed Encore @ Inn On The Lake also viewed

Fall River, Halifax Regional Municipality
Fall River, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Fall River, Halifax Regional Municipality

Been to Encore @ Inn On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore @ Inn On The Lake

Address: 3009 Hwy 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada
Phone Number: 902-861-3480
Location: Canada  >  Nova Scotia  >  Halifax Regional Municipality  >  Fall River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Encore @ Inn On The Lake staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?