We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Encore @ Inn On The Lake

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
3009 Hwy 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada
902-861-3480
This restaurant is at Inn on the Lake
Add hours for Encore @ Inn On The Lake and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 63 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 28
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great service and good food

Had several occasions to eat here. Each time great service and good food...fish and chips, chowder extra good ( on the Chowder Trail), burgers and nachos all very good. Main plates, especially rack of lamb good too. Also breakfasts are super. Good place to stay as well. If one is in the area, you... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 29, 2015
Robert C
,
Chatham
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

The staff and chef of Encore, in fact the entire team, provide a dining experience you will be hard pressed to find anywhere else. Warm, welcoming, exceptionally good food prepared with quality and care and attentive friendly staff. You must dine at Encore if in the Halifax-Dartmouth area, make a reservation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
187 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I see the mixed reviews, but our experience with the food and service was five star. Very attentive service by our waiter, Jamie, who went out of his way to please us. He recommended two specials for that evening and they were outstanding. Our meals topped off by cocoanut cream pie (with REAL whipped cream not that plastic sh..stuff) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Wayne W, Thank you for your five star review. Our coconut cream pie is a house specialty, I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed it. We will be sure to pass along your compliments about service to Jamie. We hope you get another chance to dine with us soon! Sincerely, Ron Nelson Innkeeper More 

Chatham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Had several occasions to eat here. Each time great service and good food...fish and chips, chowder extra good ( on the Chowder Trail), burgers and nachos all very good. Main plates, especially rack of lamb good too. Also breakfasts are super. Good place to stay as well. If one is in the area, you can't go wrong by staying or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Robert C, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really like hearing from our repeat customers and are happy to hear you have enjoyed so many meals with us. We look forward to serving you many more meals in the future! Sincerely, Ron Nelson Innkeeper More 

Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Food was very well presented, but the taste was unique. You could tell, the chef tried to give you something extra. Not just the standard great french cuisine but a unique taste special herbs and spices I couldn't quite make out but very tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear gracerider, We have great pride in our Chef and kitchen team, and we’re happy to hear their passion for their work was visible through your dinner. We look forward to serving you another delicious meal next time you are here. Sincerely, Ron Nelson Innkeeper More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

New Year's Eve dinner with my Lady who lives locally. Really good 5 course dinner, chilled lobster amuse bouche, beef Carpaccio, rack of lamb, trio of crème brulee. Old world charm and pleasant staff, nice restaurant layout and large car park. However the place was way too cold which made the red wine undrinkable to start with and it's not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Ian F. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our foods, service and ambience on New Year’s Eve. To address your comments on the temperature, music and occupancy. Unfortunately I do not know whether you dined In Oliver’s Gastropub or Encore Fine Dining, so I can’t comment on the temperature of the room as we did not receive any... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Was at the restaurant at "Inn on the Lake" with a friend for lunch on December 31st, 2014. Had the seafood quiche which was disappointing. Quiche which was said to have salmon, scallops and lobster seem to lack anything other than the salmon. But the crust was tough and rubbery, which appears to indicate that it was microwaved. Also had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Blair M, Thank you for writing a review on your recent dining experience. Seafood quiche is one of our most popular luncheon offerings. We regularly receive complements on the dish. I do wish you had brought your concerns to our attention while you were here so we could have replaced the meal or offered some other form of compensation.... More 

Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Diner beware! What you order from the menu may not be what arrives at the table. Recently I ordered the Seafood casserole which is described as coming with a puff pastry crust. I have ordered this dish in the past and quite enjoyed it. On this occasion, however, the casserole arrived at the table without the crust. When asked about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Wendy M, Thank you for submitting a review on your recent dining experience with us at Encore at Inn on the Lake. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize that we missed the puff pastry on your seafood casserole. It’s nice to hear that you ordered the dish in the past and quite enjoyed it. Our kitchen and your server... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Visited this lovely Inn for lunch recently. For some reason I bombed out with the food !, I ordered the French Dip baguette. I had to return it as the beef was cold and rare. My experiences with this type of sandwich is that it is served hot with a dipping sauce. It came with about 2 tablespoons of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear Ruth G, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. We looked into what happened that day and the fact there was a change in servers definitely complicated the level of service you received. They were aware that you did not like your baguette and should have removed it from... More 

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
166 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We met with four family members from the Halifax area for dinner at this location. We were thoughtfully given a quiet private dining room, which was greatly appreciated. Our waitress was a bit unpolished and casual, but nevertheless very friendly and attentive. The menu was suitably large and varied and offered a number of creative preparations. The wine list seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear foodbuffs, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your dining experience with us. We’re happy to read that overall you were pleased with the food. We don’t normally have complaints on the seafood casserole, but it was brought to the chef’s attention. Sincerely, Ron Nelson Innkeeper More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Met a friend here for supper on a Sunday evening. Staff were helpful, service was great, and setting was beautiful. It is located just off the highway, surrounded by trees and on the shore of a lake - even more stunning in the Fall. Ordered the haddock and chips - and it was the worse haddock & chips i think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
susannelson, Owner at Encore @ Inn On The Lake, responded to this review

Dear webster09, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We do hope that you let your server know so that she could rectify it immediately. It’s uncommon to get a complaint on our fish & chips but we have informed our chef and we hope you will consider this a one off and try again... More 

Travelers who viewed Encore @ Inn On The Lake also viewed

Fall River, Halifax Region
Fall River, Halifax Region
 
Fall River, Halifax Region

Been to Encore @ Inn On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore @ Inn On The Lake

Address: 3009 Hwy 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada
Phone Number: 902-861-3480
Location: Canada  >  Nova Scotia  >  Halifax Region  >  Fall River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3009 Hwy 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Nova Scotia  >  Halifax Region  >  Fall River
  • Phone Number: 902-861-3480

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Encore @ Inn On The Lake staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?