We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 53 Otley Restaurants

The Fleece

Westgate, Otley LS21 3DT, England
01943 465 034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 53 Restaurants in Otley
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    14
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

A little out of the way, this Pub a gem. Great beer garden, fine food and not forgetting a good range of local beers. Well worth a visit. Car park at rear

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Food is way overpriced and very small portions, photos on tripadvisor do not reflect the poor dishes that are been served. A number of dishes were off the menu during our visit, I ordered a steak and kidney pie which was suppose to come with vegetables, I expected maybe some carrots and peas etc I was shocked to recieve some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

Friendly service, great countryside garden in nice weather, fantastic local beers. Welcoming pub - highly recommend the burgers. Have also tried the lasagna but wasn't what I expected, a tad too much cheese. Overall though a highly recommended gastropub with nice ambience and jazzy music.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I have been a fairly regular diner at The Fleece for some years now as it is my 'local' pub and have not had many causes for complaint - until now ! Booked a table for 4 people on a Saturday evening and should have realised as soon as we arrived and saw how quiet it was that something was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
fleece-otley, Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to take this time to thank you for adding your thoughts on this site. All comments are appreciated and actioned accordingly. In regards to your complaints I will try to address them in the following paragraphs. I have talked to the chef about the pastry and he assures me that because of the type of pastry... More 

Otley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We were here for a triple celebration of 2 birthdays & an engagement. I had pre-booked the table. We've eaten here a few times, but not since the new menu & chef. We all had a mix of starters, mains & puds. The Whitebait starter was lovely with a nice aioli, the pate was good, I didn't try 2 of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I've eaten here a few times and always been impressed with the food and service. Very welcoming for dogs, lovely decor and a great selection of beers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We ate Sunday lunch here after reading mixed reviews and deciding to give it the benefit of the doubt. Unfortutely the food was a huge let down. Undercooked veg, over cooked meat, burnt yorkshires and watery gravy. All things you'd expect to be spot on with only one other table of four seated besides ourselves. For a pub in such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fleece-otley, Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. I am sorry that you had issues with the Sunday lunch. It is unacceptable that we are serving under par food as we pride ourselves on the overall quality that we serve here. We are currently in the process of a team change with a new manager and a new... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We ate here on our first night in Otley, after trying to get somewhere for fish & chips. My other half had a starter - the pate, and said it was really good. I had the fish & chips, he had the sausage & mash. Both v filling meals & the sausages were really tasty. The pub was quite lively,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I have just read some of the other reviews, and judging by them The Fleece must have 2 sets of staff.(chef) My wife and I plus 2 friends ate there today and as it happens we all had the fish & chips. The fish itself was fine but the batter was soggy and as for the chips & peas they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
fleece-otley, Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review

I would like to start by saying how sorry we are for your experience at The Fleece. We pride ourselves on the food we serve and the quality of the ingredients we use. I have had meeting with the chef and I have been informed that unfortunately on the night in question one of the fryers had broken leaving us... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The interior of the pub is nice but the standout is the tiered garden area extending down to the Wharfe River (safely fenced, of course). It was a great place to go and enjoy a local cask beer or cider (Rosie's!) and let the kids run amok in the grass :) The food was very decent, especially their burger special.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Fleece also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece

Address: Westgate, Otley LS21 3DT, England
Phone Number: 01943 465 034
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Otley
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fleece staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?