We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Montezumas Mexican Restaurant

62 Frank Street, Labrador, Queensland 4215, Australia
07 5591 1905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 46 Restaurants in Labrador
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Montezuma's Labrador offers a fully licensed authentic Aztec/Mexican dining experience.Our meals are prepared fresh daily using locally grown produce where possible and cooked in convection ovens. Our meals are not too spicy but for those who love it that way, do not hesitate to order hot or extra hot sauce. If you wish to tone down the spices order a bowl of sour cream.We cater for vegetarians and those requiring a gluten free diet.There is a special menu for the little amigos and colouring in to keep them occupied.As we have a large number of loyal regulars, bookings are highly recommended.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    7
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

As always Monty's was a quick, easy and great dinner. Always reliable and always good food and drinks and excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Beach, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family have dined at Montezuma's Labrador for birthdays, anniversaries and other family events for almost 10 years now. In the last 12 months or so, I have seen a tragic decline in service and the quality of food. Bookings are consistently recorded incorrectly or not at all, staff are disinterested at best and rude at worst -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were just looking forward to having a great dinner. We had booked it . Once we arrived the lady at the counter acted like we hadn't booked. While there was only two booths full. But after all the trouble we got to sit down and relax . After that we ordered our dinner. When our entrée came it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Been a regular patron of this restaurant for many years whilst visiting Gold coast every 3 month's with my family. As per normal made booking by email and got confirmation reply email in return. Turned up to the restaurant were we were told that we didn't have the booking; being made to think we were lying. Place was empty and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Montezumas3, Owner at Montezumas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Mincrafter. I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your Montezuma's experience this time around. Montezuma's Labrador has not changed management since the last time you would have dined with us. We have, however, a lot of new staff at the moment who are still learning the ropes but this is not an excuse. The owner... More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restsurant because of previous positive experiences at other montezumas. What a disappointment! Must admit there were 5 of us & we hadnt booked but the waitress found us a table which was great. We were not told about the monday night special..kids eat free until after we had finished our meal which wasnt very helpful. My husband ordered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Montezumas3, Owner at Montezumas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

You were very lucky to be able to get a table without booking on our busy family Monday nights, so that's great our wonderful staff were able to help you with that. As for our Monday nights Kids 12 years & under Eat Free deal, no it is not normally something that is stated by our staff. There is a... More

Runaway Bay, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Greeted promptly by staff and shown to our table, given the choice to select drinks from the bar or have table service, starters orders taken and brought to the table while we had time to decide on our mains. Always a great mains selection to choose from and never go away hungry or disappointed. Always a great night whether with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montezumas3, Owner at Montezumas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review & for your continued loyalty Paul N. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon :D More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Sorry to say but my family & I ate here for lunch & we were very underwhelmed by the service & taste of the food. We were expecting an authentic tasting meal but honestly I could have made the same dishes with more flavour at home. We've had microwaved meals that taste better! We ordered drinks & I had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was our second time here. First, the starters are a waste of time. The chips definitely come from a bag from the grocery store and the salsa taste like it comes out of a can. We ordered Margaritas which again taste like it comes from a pre-made mix. Being a Mexican restaurant, it needs to be more on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montezumas3, Owner at Montezumas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Like all businesses, we appreciate constructive honest criticism. Thank you for your feedback regarding our wait staff. This matter will be discussed with them. I would like to assure you that our Mexican meals are definitely not from the "supermarket" or "out of cans" & no margaritas or cocktails are "pre-mix". Our meals are prepared fresh daily & cooked in... More

Queensland, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived we were greeted with rude, inexperienced female waitresses. No one paid attention to is at all, I booked a reservation and they made us feel like inconvenient walk ins. I would not recommend this place to anyone! The service was utterly disgusting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Firstly, I named my review shocked, as I am shocked that this restaurant has bad reviews. We dined in Last Saturday and the experience was amazing. The atmosphere was great, a little loud but that's what happens when your busy! The staff were on the ball and the manager was very charismatic, my partner said he was worth his weight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montezumas3, Owner at Montezumas Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review Sia J! It was wonderful to read great things about Montezuma's after a few bad reviews of late which have left us a bit disappointed that people haven't been enjoying the Mexican experience as much as we had hoped. Your title had me worried but the rest of your review had me... More

Travelers who viewed Montezumas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Montezumas Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezumas Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing