We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Coffee Shop, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village 7946, New Zealand
Add hours for Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 382 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 164
    Excellent
  • 126
    Very good
  • 57
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
GOOD Food and a warm welcome

stayed in the near by lodge for two nights and decided to eat here both nights because the food was wholesome and reasonably priced and the staff welcome was so good. all in all a cozy place to eat at the end of the day

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 21, 2014
belly5uk
,
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Unfortunately, our trip to mount cook was unfulfilling due to the bad weather (resulting in us not doing any of the outdoor activities there) other than the comfort food we got for breakfast here. Coffee and Salmon Bagel were good (: Slightly costly though. Service was average. Good to stop by for a coffee or two.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Good that you found a lovely coffee, lashings of salmon on your bagel, and cream cheese! Not sure about your comment on the staff as not sure what was lacking. If you're able to be more specific that would be helpful. It is low season here at the moment; the service should be exemplary, so if it isn't we'd like... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

stayed in the near by lodge for two nights and decided to eat here both nights because the food was wholesome and reasonably priced and the staff welcome was so good. all in all a cozy place to eat at the end of the day

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

So glad you found us here in the village, and that you enjoyed our wholesome food and the friendly welcome. Travel safe and hopefully see you next time. M&C More 

Atherton, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building and a lovely location, looking out to Mt Cook. We ordered a pizza, which really wasn't very tasty at all, had minimal topping, had a stodgy base, and was not very hot. Prices reflect that fact that there aren't many places to get food in the area... Can well imaging that the place has a great "pumping vibe"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

We're delighted to hear that you loved the building and the location. In regard to the pizza: the bases are made fresh by a local artisan baker, and there are minimal toppings on margherita pizzas because those are on the menu for children and many do not like any type of interesting topping. However, if you had alerted our staff... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I ate here a couple of times in February. The staff were helpful & friendly. The food was lovely & even my gluten & dairy free diet was catered for without a fuss. Restaurant clean. Great view of mountain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

We're delighted that you received great service and good food selections at our restaurant. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a positive review. Travel safe. M&C More 

Magnolia, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Wonderful views and great food, what more can you say! we ate both dinner and breakfast there. Organic and tasty

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed the organic components and the taste! Travel safe. M&C More 

Aus
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We enjoyed a decent meal here. Good options of meat, veg and salads. Nice staff. Atmosphere feels like a nice rustic alpine hut.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The feel of the restaurant is exactly what we intended to create, so that's great. Travel safe and come back and visit soon. M&C More 

Chula Vista, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We ate here our one night that we stayed in the Park. The menu offered some variety and had good taste. The service and prices were reasonable. Considering the alternatives at the hotel, I would definitely choose eating here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We do work hard to provide quality food and service. Thanks very much for recognizing that. Travel safe. M&C More 

manly
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Mt Cook has very little choice of food outlet so it was a great surprise to find this gem. Food was simple but with interesting twists. Service was genuinely good and it was a standout against the Hremitage which in contrast was poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it. Much appreciated. We're so glad you found us! M&C More 

Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My partner and I had dinner here recently for our one night in Aoraki Mt Cook. We shared a meatlovers pizza and a steak, both were nice but I wouldn't say anything too special. We were here on the Sunday of the Easter long weekend and were very surprised that we wouldn't be served any alcoholic drinks unless we produced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Good to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us. You're right though, we don't do ostentatious decorative meals; we prefer to focus on the quality of the ingredients and serve food you can taste which also means as much in the way of organic products as possible. Laws on alcohol are very strict in NZ and if you have... More 

New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had dinner here as a family and had a fabulous meal with great service. The food was amazing. So delicious. Would recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Travel safe. M&C More 

Travelers who viewed Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
 
Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village 7946, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Mackenzie District  >  Mt. Cook Village

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Coffee Shop, New Zealand

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?