We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Café, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village 7946, New Zealand
Add hours for Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 363 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 157
    Excellent
  • 117
    Very good
  • 55
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Good Food And Good Value Considering Where You Are

Eating options in Mount Cook Village are limited. It's the monopoly of overpriced Hermitage Hotel eateries or just this place. It has a pleasant décor and great views. It's nearer pub food rather than haute cuisine but all the meals my wife and I had here were very good and were good sized... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 1, 2015
Slight-Fade
,
Hampshire
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015 NEW

Eating options in Mount Cook Village are limited. It's the monopoly of overpriced Hermitage Hotel eateries or just this place. It has a pleasant décor and great views. It's nearer pub food rather than haute cuisine but all the meals my wife and I had here were very good and were good sized portions. The bill for food and drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015 NEW

The Old Mountaineers' owned and run by people who love the mountains and want you to have a great experience. Loved the old photo exhibition and the various rucksacks and crampons and ice axes which give the place a real feeling of character. The food was very good being locally sourced, organic, free-range and GE-free, and plenty of it. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Briagolong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

Great place to stop and have a bite. Food was great and you could sit and see the beautiful snow covered mountains from your table. Loved all the old photo's and ski equipment displayed around the walls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Travel safe! More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW

We stayed at the Hotel but used this bar for our meals as it was much better value, meals were nice and staff friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review about our cafe and restaurant. Travel safe! More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

This is the only restaurant that is not in a hotel or hostel in Mount Cook Village. The food was fine, but not unusual. The service was very friendly. A pleasant dinner for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our good honest food, as well as the organic coffee made with organic milk too! Thanks for taking the time to write your positive review on the service and the food. Travel safe. More 

Wales
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

nothing fancy just good plain food, great for after a long hike. And what could be better than to eat the meal watching Mt Cook. Service was a bit hit and miss depending on who was serving. Was disappointed to turn up for meal to find it closed despite its advertised hours saying it open. I think this was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Yes, except for Easter, in the lower tourism season we do close from 3 to 5pm to give the staff a good break as they work split shifts. This often occurs in outlying areas and there are clear notices up to indicate this. Great that you enjoyed our good food. More 

Taichung, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

The food is good, staffs are nice, and it is located next to the information center. I enjoyed my time in Old Mountaineers’.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed it. Travel safe. More 

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

I had a lot of worries about eating around Mt Cook. Heard everything was poor quality and over priced. Was pleasantly surprised. Food was actually pretty good, and the prices were no higher than anywhere else in NZ. Not a lot of options in the area, and this was pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to the time to write your positive review. So glad you enjoyed it with us. Travel safe. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 via mobile

We had coffee before going for a walk. Nice atmosphere and a great place to relax. When we came back we had tea and noticed that the food looked good. Prices OK considering where we were although being charged 50c for a very tiny jug of hot water to top up the tea pot was a breathtaking cheek!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review. I'm aghast you were charged 50cents for extra hot water! That should not be happening! If you are still in the village come and have a complimentary pot on me. Travel safe and so pleased you enjoyed everything else. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

The food was good wholesome country kitchen style food. The restaurant is decorated with mountaineering artifacts, keeping with the atmosphere of the village and Mount Cook Region.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review and for appreciating the atmosphere, service and wholesome food. Much appreciated. Travel safe! More 

Travelers who viewed Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
 
Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village 7946, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Mackenzie District  >  Mt. Cook Village

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Café, New Zealand

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?