We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dragon Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Chinese, Pan-Asian
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
London Road, St. Ippolyts, Hitchin SG4 7NL, England
01462 440989
Website
Add hours for The Dragon Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Families with children

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 129 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 81
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great venue to celebate the Chinese new year

Visited with friends for the Chinese new year. The food was very good, all the usual Chinese style courses including duck and pancakes. The atmosphere was also very good and the evening enhanced by the proprietor performing some very good table magic. At £26 per head a good value evening with great... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 25, 2015
Stephen C
,
Baldock, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Takeout
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

The owners here are LOVELY and the food is OUTSTANDING .. My husband and I can never fault this place. They are always friendly and obliging. They give you a suggestion on how many portions to order for how many of you there are, however are sooo flexible as to what you want like adding an extra starter or middle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you PeroxideA for your kind words. We do our best in providing freshly prepared MSG-free Chinese food to our very much valued customers. Thank you for your ongoing support and we look forward to being of service to you again soon. With Sincere Regards, Alun 01462 440989 More 

Baldock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Visited with friends for the Chinese new year. The food was very good, all the usual Chinese style courses including duck and pancakes. The atmosphere was also very good and the evening enhanced by the proprietor performing some very good table magic. At £26 per head a good value evening with great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this review

Good Day to you Stephen C, Thank you for joining us last Saturday evening to welcome the Year of the Ram! I am pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our special 4-course new year banquet and entertainment for the evening. Wishing you good health and good fortune in this special year and I hope to be of... More 

Cuffley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We visited on Sunday lunchtime at 1 pm. We had the mix and match meal for two people. All courses were excellent and freshly made. The service was spot on and we were entertained by the Host with his magic tricks. This is one of the very best Chinese meals that we have had and we will be going again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this review

Dear Alwinecurtis, Thank you for making the journey to come to dine at The Dragon Inn. It was lovely to meet you and I thoroughly enjoyed sharing my magic tricks with you! Good wishes to you and your family. With Kind Regards, Alun 01462 440989 More 

Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I have been a couple of times before and thought Dragon Inn good. The disappointment wasn't really with the food, although the portions are rather small, but with the overall ambience. It’s a strange building for a restaurant and so seating can be an issue. To be sat at a table directly below the bar where the orders are being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this review

Dear DiamondChris, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Feb 14 was our busiest night and we were in deed short of staff due to sickness, hence we had someone stepping in to help at the last minute. My sincere apologies for her lack of customer service experience on the evening you visited. We did notice that... More 

Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

Been here three times now. Food has been mostly very good with a couple of average examples. The host makes it a unique place to visit as he does magic tricks at your table! A bit expensive but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this review

Dear SimonWel, Thanks for your time in submitting your feedback. We do our best in serving freshly cooked food with a unique service. We look forward to sharing more new tricks with you very soon. Regards, Alun 01462 440989 More 

Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We get a delivery from Dragon Inn at least a couple of times a month. Consistently lovely food, freshly cooked and delivered promptly. I love the fact that my King Prawns with Ginger and Spring Onion has big slices of fresh ginger and no MSG is used in their cooking. Fab!

Was this review helpful? Yes
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this review

Dear RachelC76, Thank you for your kind review. We do our best in delivering freshly cooked to order dishes without the use of MSG. Your ongoing support is greatly appreciated and we hope to continue to being of service to you. Perhaps you should try a dining in experience some time? With Kind Regards, Alun 01462 440899 More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I use The Dragon Inn frequently for take aways and I cannot fault their food or delivery service. I would definately recommend using them if you are local.

Was this review helpful? Yes
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this review

Good Day to you Daddymcc, Thank you for your most kind review and ongoing support. We are very grateful to our local regulars because without you, we would not be trading in this challenging economic climate! With kindest regards, Alun and the team at The Dragon Inn. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Well first visit to this place, and it was so lovely I thought I would take a little time in writing a review. Such a warm friendly atmosphere, the manager went out of his way to meet and greet us, and some magic tricks along the way, made our visit that little more special. Food was perfect, all in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this review

Dear Naff72, Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience at The Dragon Inn and I hope we can be of service to you again soon. All the best, Alun (01462 440989). More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

After reading the reviews I was really looking forward to a tasty meal but I was very disappointed. My starter was BBQ spare ribs, the meat was very dry, tough and without flavour, a warm source was poured over them rather than the ribs being cooked in the sauce. My main was Cha Siu Pork with egg fried rice, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this review

Dear Roger, Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I'm really sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent meal. I only wish that you raised your concern at the time because I would have been able to put it right for you. We take customer feedback very seriously and I can assure you that... More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We have been to this restaurant several times and have always thoroughly enjoyed the food and the friendly service. There is a varied menu and the food is always beautifully presented. We have taken friends and family there and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. There is also an excellent take away service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this review

Dear Christine, I would like to say a big thank you for your ongoing support. We would not be where we are now if it were not for our loyal customers like yourself! With Kindest Regards, Alun (01462 440989) More 

Travelers who viewed The Dragon Inn also viewed

Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: London Road, St. Ippolyts, Hitchin SG4 7NL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hitchin
  • Phone Number: 01462 440989

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 28
  • Cuisine: Chinese, Pan-Asian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dragon Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?