We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Worplesdon Place

Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
01483 232407
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Worplesdon
Reserve with OpenTable
Worplesdon Place is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Grill
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    20
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Went to the Worplesdon Place Hotel Restraunt 24 / 08 /2014 for meal it was terrible only three tables had customers but still there was along wait .The roast beef was cold and the meat uncuttable so tough almost choked trying tying to eat it .The veg was frozen supermarkrt type & cold when served .Yorkshire pudding was like Auntie... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am really disappointed that your food was so poor. Everything is gradually being put into place to not just bring the general quality up, but to provide a menu that has real wow factor from a incredible chef using the best fresh ingredients. Training his support staff and team and obtaining new suppliers is underway. Your comments show just... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We visited one evening for a meal without booking - we hadn't been for a long time since the hotel changed hands. The starters took 30 minutes to arrive, although the main courses were quicker. The food was ok, but the vegetables were totally stewed and looked as though they had been cooked some time ago. The restaurant was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am very disappointed that service was so slow and the meal was not completely satisfactory. I will investigate. We have some good staff now, so this should not be happening. our apologies again. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

On arrival we were told we had no reservation after phoning twice to confirm numbers etc a few days before. We were told that we would have to wait till our table was ready. While waiting we ordered drinks, think the staff need a little training. We sat, were given menus and ordered. The starters took 45 minutes if not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am glad most of it was satisfactory but my apologies about the booking confusion. We are still struggling with the booking software and have a training session in a few days time. Max the new manger has a great deal to catch up on. More

Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Pros -Staff: unusually helpful and friendly. Brought condiments & cutlery to our table in the bar area -Outside area: grassed with lots of seating and overlooks lake with black swans, ducks & coots -Inside area: light, lots of seating, vibrant -Food: ok for price, haddock batter Cons -Music: loud in restaurant -Clearing plates: slow -Food: not much choice for non... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments. I am glad the staff looked after you. Our apologies that we haven't yet improved the selection on the bar menu. Its coming. More

Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Popped in on the way home home for a beer and bar food. Staff were very friendly. We were offered a bar menu and restaurant menu, not sure why they needed both? Food was OK, steak a little tough, but I didn't expect it to be fantastic as the price was quite low. The wife had fish and chips, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to comment. We have a new chef and are planning a new menu, which will I think have the wow factor. Hope you can visit again and see if we have achieved it. More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

cold plate ruined a good starter. Main course barely acceptable. Good waitress so I advised her to find a better job - place was empty and tatty. I waited to see manager but nobody appeared. Never did see my bill because there was nobody around, so I left cash and walked out. Avoid !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am very sorry your experience was so bad. Turning Worplesdon Place round has been tough. Finally we have a top class chef and a vibrant manager who will bring the standards up to what they should be. More

Westcliff-on-Sea England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Menu has a good variety of dishes. Staff very attentive polite and pleasant. Good value. The outside area is green and lush and has a great outlook.

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thankyou for your encouraging review. Glad you enjoyed it. More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Yes it's been through some changes recently. But my last visit last week was great. My wife and I met two university friends for lunch and we took our two young children. It was a fantastic sunny afternoon, so we sat outside, the garden is lovely with great view over the lake. We ordered from the lunch menu, I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to tell us More

Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place was recommeded by parents as a good location for a get together with family and younger children. We called to book a table outside, details taken then the voice on the phone said we could not reserve a table afterall. Took a chance and on arrival on a glorious Sunday lunchtime there was plenty of space to sit.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies for your poor service. Investigations have caused us to reorganise the table booking computers so everyone can understand the procedure. Why the waiting staff were not on form remains a mystery but obviously their training continues to be an issue. We are trying. Sorry. More

Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have been going to Worplesdon Place for many years and the Beefeater years were awful. Since the change over, the restaurant has improved hugely the food is a very high standard and very tasty. Our starters were delicious and the mains superb. Even the coffee was very good (unlike most pub coffee). The service was prompt, polite and attentive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your encouraging review. We do believe we are finally getting there after a long battle to restore the building and find the best staff. Our new head Chef is beginning to make his mark. Thanks again More

Travelers who viewed Worplesdon Place also viewed

Worplesdon, Guildford
Worplesdon, Guildford
 

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worplesdon Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing