We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Worplesdon Restaurants

Worplesdon Place

Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
01483 232407
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Worplesdon
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Grill
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    20
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014 NEW

My wife and I were travelling back to Leicester last Sunday when we found this restaurant. We were immediately impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We ate in the bar, sitting in a bay window with a great view across the lawns and lake. The menu had a good range of options - including vegetarian. The service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Really pleased you enjoyed the food. We now have great chef, able to produce some exciting new dishes. He makes old favorites pretty special too. As you say the chocolate dirt is spectacular but thanks again for telling us. More

Guildford
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

New management is a big improvement. I chose the nut roast with mushroom sauce which came with mash and roast spuds and seasonal veg (sugar snap peas, baby carrots, broccoli and cauli today). There was also a veggie pasta option that sounded tempting. Service was good and portions generous, so much so we couldn't even look at the dessert menu.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks. Our new chef thinks veggie dishes should have the same flair and flavor as meat or fish. Glad you liked it. Pity you didn't have room for one of our sweets. Do try the chocolate dirt next time. It's fantastic. More

Hassocks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Beware. I went here, having looked at Beefeater restaurants in Worplesdon on the website, thinking that this was where I what I was going. I could not fault the food but it was not Beefeater and neither was the price

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

We are glad you liked the food. Freshly cooked with fresh ingredients is always going to more expensive than food made in a factory and then microwaved, but we are trying to keep the price as low as possible. Thanks for your comments. More

England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Having eaten there a few times in the past, Wife and I popped in after a day of shopping in Guildford. Place was very quite (about four tables in a big restaurant area). No body there to greet and stood for sometime before being seated. Wife ordered fish pie and I the belly pork with dauphinoise potatoes. Waited quite a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am very sorry you had such a disappointing visit. So much has improved and every body is working hard to produce top quality dining and then we mess up like this. Much soul searching at this end into what went wrong. Our apologies again. More

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Went to the Worplesdon Place Hotel Restraunt 24 / 08 /2014 for meal it was terrible only three tables had customers but still there was along wait .The roast beef was cold and the meat uncuttable so tough almost choked trying tying to eat it .The veg was frozen supermarkrt type & cold when served .Yorkshire pudding was like Auntie... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am really disappointed that your food was so poor. Everything is gradually being put into place to not just bring the general quality up, but to provide a menu that has real wow factor from a incredible chef using the best fresh ingredients. Training his support staff and team and obtaining new suppliers is underway. Your comments show just... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We visited one evening for a meal without booking - we hadn't been for a long time since the hotel changed hands. The starters took 30 minutes to arrive, although the main courses were quicker. The food was ok, but the vegetables were totally stewed and looked as though they had been cooked some time ago. The restaurant was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am very disappointed that service was so slow and the meal was not completely satisfactory. I will investigate. We have some good staff now, so this should not be happening. our apologies again. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

On arrival we were told we had no reservation after phoning twice to confirm numbers etc a few days before. We were told that we would have to wait till our table was ready. While waiting we ordered drinks, think the staff need a little training. We sat, were given menus and ordered. The starters took 45 minutes if not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am glad most of it was satisfactory but my apologies about the booking confusion. We are still struggling with the booking software and have a training session in a few days time. Max the new manger has a great deal to catch up on. More

Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Pros -Staff: unusually helpful and friendly. Brought condiments & cutlery to our table in the bar area -Outside area: grassed with lots of seating and overlooks lake with black swans, ducks & coots -Inside area: light, lots of seating, vibrant -Food: ok for price, haddock batter Cons -Music: loud in restaurant -Clearing plates: slow -Food: not much choice for non... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments. I am glad the staff looked after you. Our apologies that we haven't yet improved the selection on the bar menu. Its coming. More

Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Popped in on the way home home for a beer and bar food. Staff were very friendly. We were offered a bar menu and restaurant menu, not sure why they needed both? Food was OK, steak a little tough, but I didn't expect it to be fantastic as the price was quite low. The wife had fish and chips, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to comment. We have a new chef and are planning a new menu, which will I think have the wow factor. Hope you can visit again and see if we have achieved it. More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

cold plate ruined a good starter. Main course barely acceptable. Good waitress so I advised her to find a better job - place was empty and tatty. I waited to see manager but nobody appeared. Never did see my bill because there was nobody around, so I left cash and walked out. Avoid !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am very sorry your experience was so bad. Turning Worplesdon Place round has been tough. Finally we have a top class chef and a vibrant manager who will bring the standards up to what they should be. More

Travelers who viewed Worplesdon Place also viewed

Worplesdon, Guildford
Worplesdon, Guildford
 

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing