We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Worplesdon Place

Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
01483 232407
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 restaurants in Worplesdon
Reserve with OpenTable
Worplesdon Place is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: Grill
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    19
    28
    18
    17
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 NEW

Popped in on the way home home for a beer and bar food. Staff were very friendly. We were offered a bar menu and restaurant menu, not sure why they needed both? Food was OK, steak a little tough, but I didn't expect it to be fantastic as the price was quite low. The wife had fish and chips, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

cold plate ruined a good starter. Main course barely acceptable. Good waitress so I advised her to find a better job - place was empty and tatty. I waited to see manager but nobody appeared. Never did see my bill because there was nobody around, so I left cash and walked out. Avoid !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am very sorry your experience was so bad. Turning Worplesdon Place round has been tough. Finally we have a top class chef and a vibrant manager who will bring the standards up to what they should be. More

Westcliff-on-Sea England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Menu has a good variety of dishes. Staff very attentive polite and pleasant. Good value. The outside area is green and lush and has a great outlook.

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thankyou for your encouraging review. Glad you enjoyed it. More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Yes it's been through some changes recently. But my last visit last week was great. My wife and I met two university friends for lunch and we took our two young children. It was a fantastic sunny afternoon, so we sat outside, the garden is lovely with great view over the lake. We ordered from the lunch menu, I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to tell us More

Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place was recommeded by parents as a good location for a get together with family and younger children. We called to book a table outside, details taken then the voice on the phone said we could not reserve a table afterall. Took a chance and on arrival on a glorious Sunday lunchtime there was plenty of space to sit.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies for your poor service. Investigations have caused us to reorganise the table booking computers so everyone can understand the procedure. Why the waiting staff were not on form remains a mystery but obviously their training continues to be an issue. We are trying. Sorry. More

Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have been going to Worplesdon Place for many years and the Beefeater years were awful. Since the change over, the restaurant has improved hugely the food is a very high standard and very tasty. Our starters were delicious and the mains superb. Even the coffee was very good (unlike most pub coffee). The service was prompt, polite and attentive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your encouraging review. We do believe we are finally getting there after a long battle to restore the building and find the best staff. Our new head Chef is beginning to make his mark. Thanks again More

Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place has so much potential but they do not have a clue. From the outside the place looks really nice and has a great outside space, but that's about where it ends. Inside still looks like a 90's style community pub with the staff to match. The menu is so uninspiring it was hard to choose anything other than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Very sorry you were so disappointed. After Premier Inn left we had a major job in repairing the building and finding the right staff. We have finally found a great head chef and a top manager who will motivate our young team so I hope if ever you do come back, that you would find a real improvement More

Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

It's such a shame as it is such a lovely place, lots of space outside for the kids etc. It has most certainly gone down hill, maybe because everybody who worked there seemed to be below their 20s. A family member booked a function for a party. overall we had a lovely time. Waiting ages at the bar, then was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am glad you liked the food and the place and our apologies about the service. Its been a roller coaster year trying to sort out the building and team. Actually we have a nice bunch of young people but they need training and direction. Unfortunately finding the right leader and head chef has been difficult. If you visit again... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have not been here for a couple of year so we though that we would pop in. The place is looking a little run down and the dining room seemed large but the tables were well spread out, so not sure if the tables had been moved into another room for a function. The food was standard pub fare... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Sorry we kept you waiting so long. We didn't have a head chef at the time and we were struggling although I am glad that that we still managed to cook it properly. Proper fresh ingredients do take longer but not that long! Sorry More

UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hearty food, nothing elaborate, mostly bought in but for lamb shank, burgers, steaks etc it is good, hearty food cheaply priced. Very good service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thankyou. Glad you enjoyed your meal. More

Travelers who viewed Worplesdon Place also viewed

 
Worplesdon, Guildford
 

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worplesdon Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing