We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Worplesdon Place

$$
Grill
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
01483 232407
Website
Add hours for Worplesdon Place and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 134 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 23
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 29
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Wont be going back!

I visited Worplesdon Place with family for a meal and we were very disappointed right from the start. When we first arrived we decided to get some drinks at the bar before we sat down, we had to return more than half of the drinks due to them being at the end of the barrel for pretty much... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed April 24, 2015
Mrs_D797
,
Woking, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Outdoor seating
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 NEW

I visited Worplesdon Place with family for a meal and we were very disappointed right from the start. When we first arrived we decided to get some drinks at the bar before we sat down, we had to return more than half of the drinks due to them being at the end of the barrel for pretty much everything!! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I stayed in the hotel for a business trip and ate here one evening. The food portions were very generous, I couldn't finish my food! And the food itself was very nice and well presented. The setting is gorgeous, I would imagine it to be lovely to sit by the lake. The staff were very attentive and polite. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to comment and really pleased everything was just right for you. More 

Guildford England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Myself and partner were looking for a place to eat on Easter Sunday, we ended up at the Worplesdon Place. Not our first visit by any means but under new management we were keen to experience if the service had improved. We were not disappointed the food was excellent, good quality, nicely cooked and service was very good. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed Your Easter Sunday with us. The kitchen did a great job that day especially as a water main in the area had burst and the whole village was without water. More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

My friend and I have been regular Saturday lunchtime visitors to this hotel, due to its lovely setting, good food and previously really nice staff. However our relaxing lunch there today was completely ruined by the attitude of a bar manager called 'Steven', who not only shouted at me when I tried to order post-lunch coffees but also gave one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

The new bar manager who was rude to you was sacked a few days afterwards when we had fully investigated the issue. He was also wanting in other areas but the way he spoke to you was unbelievable. Please accept our apologies. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Start with the positives, the pub it self is nice, clean and tidy and the views outside are stunning by the lake. Me and partner was looking forward to our meal on first impression, we had a great table over looking the lake. My partner is gluten free but the member of staff took this on board and told her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Our apologies. I hope the refund helped. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Disappointing, lamb dry & cold. Turkey average. Wouldn't eat here again. Funnily enough beer, sunshine & company were good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Very disappointed that our service wasn't so good this time, Our apologies More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Hadn't been here since it ceased to be a beefeater franchise. No complaints about the food but had to wait 20 minutes before we were served gave our order then waited 15 minutes before reminding waiter we were still waiting for our drinks. Only appeared to be 2 people front of house 1 behind bar and one waiting . Won't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Our apologies about your long wait. That is quite unacceptable. Training, training and training of young staff is our ongoing mission. They are getting much better. Sorry you had a bad day. Glad you enjoyed the food. Hope you do come back and see that we are normally more aware and faster. More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We often visit here for Sunday lunch, and are never disappointed by the good food. We had starters of breaded cheese and pate- both of which were well-presented and tasted great. The Venison casserole, I was assured by Himself, was a winner- with tender, good-quality meat. I chose roast beef-again, I really commend the quality of the meat-you really get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Really pleased you like the food and keep coming back. Sorry about the music. I will discuss with the manager. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

I came here for Mother's Day lunch and it was so great it felt more like Christmas Day lunch! My 5 year old son was immediately given a Mother's Day colouring sheet and some pencils whilst I enjoyed a lovely chilled glass of champagne. My son had fish and chips (proper chips!) and I had the crayfish and prawn cocktail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Delighted to read your kind comments. Thank you for your compliments. It is always good when the staff's hard work is appreciated. More 

Frimley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Haven't been here in ages and was impressed! Its smart and attractive with plenty of space to sit. Nice menu with plenty to tempt and the food was excellent when it came - tasty, good, plenty of it and well presented. I thought it was good value too. Will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to tell us how you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to serving you again. More 

Travelers who viewed Worplesdon Place also viewed

 
Guildford, Surrey
Worplesdon, Guildford
 

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford  >  Worplesdon
  • Phone Number: 01483 232407

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 30
  • Cuisine: Grill

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Outdoor seating

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Worplesdon Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?