We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Worplesdon Place

$$
Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
01483 232407
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Worplesdon Place and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 167 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 36
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Food is average. Lacks atmosphere.

Been here a few times since it changed management. The food is OK, but nothing special. Service ranges from mediocre to quite good depending on who serves you. The place does lack atmosphere.

3 of 5 starsReviewed August 13, 2015
Silverpablito
,
Surrey England
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

I stayed here several months ago and at that time it had only just been taken over from a premier lodge and it really was not up too much. I had at short notice to come back to the area from the outside it looks good but as soon as you enter the hotel section it starts to go down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

Visited here for the open mic night on Fridays and decided to stay for dinner. Was quite busy so lucky to get a table, friendly staff, hubby had a burger which he was happy with, I chose risotto for the veggie option. Not bad prices for a hotel, I'd say mid range. Shame weather was not better as they have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

My husband and I saw this place as we were driving past and decided to stop by for lunch - It was a beautiful sunny day and the place wasn't even crowded - there was plenty of space outside under the umbrellas over looking the pond. We love the outdoors so this was perfect - I had the fish cakes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

We went as a family for Sunday lunch and it was all pretty poor. The venue is a good size, the bar is nice and there's plenty of parking - but that's pretty much where the positives stop. The menu is very limited with about three or four starters and six or so main courses. The service was exceptionally slow,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

We often eat here, as we find this to be the sort of mid-range restaurant where you don't have to worry about the possibility of uncivilised clientele! We popped in midweek for a change, and found some popular menu items, such as burgers and fish and chips, but I would have liked to have seen some more interesting items on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Majorca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

Booked a living social deal that included afternoon tea. The staff were nice and friendly but the tea was more coffee shop than afternoon tea. The hotel needs improvement as the restaurant area was old and outdated and unwelcoming. Not for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey England
Level Contributor
201 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Been here a few times since it changed management. The food is OK, but nothing special. Service ranges from mediocre to quite good depending on who serves you. The place does lack atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Been to Worplesdon Place twice on the last few months. Once to just eat and second time we decided to have our engagement party here. Beautiful surroundings, massive garden with lake, black swans, ducks, plenty of seating indoors and out. We were very fortunate the weather was sunny all day for our engagement party. Nothing to fancy, few friends, family,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolverhampton, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

Absolutely beautiful building. You can tell that when this was in it's prime it was a very grand place indeed, sadly it appears to be in the hands of people who overlook the details at the moment. The grounds are also a little unkempt. But these are quirks, it's a beautiful place and the staff - all foreign on my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am glad you liked the hotel. I will investigate why the breakfast was not done properly. Never known us give any one a single sausage. The old water system has struggled to cope with our increased popularity. Further work was done this week to increase capacity. Lets hope we have fixed it at last. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

Arrived at 7.20 to be told the kitchen is closed, by a particularly cheesed off looking barman who offered no explanation! To follow was a comedy of errors just to order the drinks, never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

My apologies again. I have now had time to investigate. We had a busy Sunday, lots of good staff, and good service. We do close the kitchen early on Sunday at 8 pm however because it was quiet, after the manager had left, some staff decided to bring forward its closing. They should not have done this, consequentially there has... More 

Travelers who viewed Worplesdon Place also viewed

Worplesdon, Guildford
 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford  >  Worplesdon
  • Phone Number: 01483 232407

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 31
  • Cuisine: Grill

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Worplesdon Place and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Worplesdon Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?