We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Worplesdon Place

$$
Grill
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
01483 232407
Website
Add hours for Worplesdon Place and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 131 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 24
    Poor
  • 29
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Good food, but atmosphere a little lacking

We often visit here for Sunday lunch, and are never disappointed by the good food. We had starters of breaded cheese and pate- both of which were well-presented and tasted great. The Venison casserole, I was assured by Himself, was a winner- with tender, good-quality meat. I chose roast beef-again... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 15, 2015
bluepointcat
,
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

My friend and I have been regular Saturday lunchtime visitors to this hotel, due to its lovely setting, good food and previously really nice staff. However our relaxing lunch there today was completely ruined by the attitude of a bar manager called 'Steven', who not only shouted at me when I tried to order post-lunch coffees but also gave one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 NEW

Start with the positives, the pub it self is nice, clean and tidy and the views outside are stunning by the lake. Me and partner was looking forward to our meal on first impression, we had a great table over looking the lake. My partner is gluten free but the member of staff took this on board and told her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Disappointing, lamb dry & cold. Turkey average. Wouldn't eat here again. Funnily enough beer, sunshine & company were good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Hadn't been here since it ceased to be a beefeater franchise. No complaints about the food but had to wait 20 minutes before we were served gave our order then waited 15 minutes before reminding waiter we were still waiting for our drinks. Only appeared to be 2 people front of house 1 behind bar and one waiting . Won't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Our apologies about your long wait. That is quite unacceptable. Training, training and training of young staff is our ongoing mission. They are getting much better. Sorry you had a bad day. Glad you enjoyed the food. Hope you do come back and see that we are normally more aware and faster. More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We often visit here for Sunday lunch, and are never disappointed by the good food. We had starters of breaded cheese and pate- both of which were well-presented and tasted great. The Venison casserole, I was assured by Himself, was a winner- with tender, good-quality meat. I chose roast beef-again, I really commend the quality of the meat-you really get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Really pleased you like the food and keep coming back. Sorry about the music. I will discuss with the manager. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

I came here for Mother's Day lunch and it was so great it felt more like Christmas Day lunch! My 5 year old son was immediately given a Mother's Day colouring sheet and some pencils whilst I enjoyed a lovely chilled glass of champagne. My son had fish and chips (proper chips!) and I had the crayfish and prawn cocktail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Delighted to read your kind comments. Thank you for your compliments. It is always good when the staff's hard work is appreciated. More 

Frimley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Haven't been here in ages and was impressed! Its smart and attractive with plenty of space to sit. Nice menu with plenty to tempt and the food was excellent when it came - tasty, good, plenty of it and well presented. I thought it was good value too. Will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to tell us how you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to serving you again. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

Goodmorning Mr Roger , regarding your answer to a review I understood that your are the owner of the place . We been there many times for drinks with friends and the last few times we were there it happen that the GM was shouting and swearing in italian to the staff in his language and I know that because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am sorry that you feel that way. Turning the hotel round has been difficult and we have had a series of managers. Max has been with us for 6 months now and his enthusiasm, drive and good humour has been great. He is a fiery Italian who says it like it is but that is something we all need.... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

This lovely pub is perfect to have a meal, drink or a relaxing coffee while enjoying the ducks & swans in the nearby pond. Perfect for a chat with a colleague, away from the workplace!

Was this review helpful? Yes
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Glad you find the grounds and facilities so suitable. We have tried to lay it out so there are plenty of nooks and crannies for private conversations. More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Staff took my booking for afternoon tea on a Sunday. They called me just 2 days before the event to cancel, saying the voucher I have is not valid on a Sunday so they will be requiring me to re book on a Mon - Fri. Very inconvenient, not to mention embarrassing as I now have to inform my friends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
roger b, Owner at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

I am sorry that we could not book you an afternoon tea on a Sunday. Lunch and traditional roast is very busy now and guests do seem to want to eat lunch all through the afternoon so we have not been offering tea. Our manager was trying to offer you a discount on the lunch when he rung. More 

Travelers who viewed Worplesdon Place also viewed

 
Guildford, Surrey
Worplesdon, Guildford
 

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford  >  Worplesdon
  • Phone Number: 01483 232407

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 30
  • Cuisine: Grill

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Outdoor seating

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Worplesdon Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?