We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leonardo Restaurant

$$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
55 Church Road, Hove BN3 2BD, England
+44 1273 328888
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 201 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 94
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Awful

Went here Christmas day and have just got round to writing review. Wasn't impressed at all, food was luke warm and lacked flavour. Won't be back.

1 of 5 starsReviewed January 25, 2015
Jamie S
,
Brighton, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Dining on a budget
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

Went here Christmas day and have just got round to writing review. Wasn't impressed at all, food was luke warm and lacked flavour. Won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I hand not been to Leonardo for a very long time and that was in the evening with my husband. When it was busy and great atmosphere! This visit was a lunchtime one with a dear friend, there was hardly anyone in it and despite the fact that it was close to Christmas there were no decorations and therefore lacked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cletoBrighton, Owner at Leonardo Restaurant, responded to this review

The only thing that is to be ashamed here is your review. Basically you are complaining because the restaurant was not busy and because you didn't see any Christmas decoration. But you said that the food was good, the staff friendly and that even the portions were too big. We really don't know what to think or do anymore, one... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

So often we find italian styled restaurants that are not run by Italians and therefore not that good, however in this case this one is family run and for many years. and still very good. We revisited recently and found excellent service by friendly helpful staff, a wide ranging menu, (not just pizza and pasta) and at reasonable prices. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Great Italian restaurant in Hove. Reasonable price, friendly staff and good ambience. Garlic bread is great to share as a starter especially with cheese. Lots of fish both starters and mains. All traditional dishes available too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

as being the only two people in the restaurant myself and my partner expected our food to arrive quick. After waiting some time for the starter the meatballs were cold and the calamari was poor. Moving on to the main my partner ordered steak medium rare which turned up well done. He asked for it to be re done but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cletoBrighton, Owner at Leonardo Restaurant, responded to this review

You and your boyfriend wrote the same review our facebook page and below is my answer to your boyfriend: This is the owner of Leonardo Restaurant, I have investigated the matter and looked the the CCTV, your steak was, in your opinion, served well done, maybe we could have argued that the steak was ok, but because we never argue... More 

Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We booked to have Christmas dinner at this restaurant as a change from all the hassle of cooking. On arrival we were seated in the conservatory part of the restaurant we asked to be moved as it was so cold and we were not comfortable the waiter said that there were no other tables and found a fan heater but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cletoBrighton, Owner at Leonardo Restaurant, responded to this review

When you booked you were told that we had only room in the conservatory area, the conservatory was full and so was the rest of the restaurant, no one else complained about seating in the conservatory area because it is very nice and very well heated, but of course maybe not heated enough for you, for this reason we got... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Had an excellent afternoon lunch with Honey Duck as the main. Not only was the food and service good, they also have the best toilets in Hove.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

This strikes me as a family restaurant with very good Italian food, a cut above the rest, a good wine list and friendly service at a reasonable price. It has a nice quiet atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

loving leonardo in hove, this place has been a brighton icon for years, and a must visit for all shoppers in the hove area, we went in with clients last week and found the new xmas menu to be both perfect in quality and in price, well upto the high standards leonardo sets, my client was most impressed, clean plates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner here last week for my mother's birthday. I have never experienced such painfully slow service on a quiet week night. The staff were all perfectly friendly and when they made their minimal appearances to our table they were polite. The food was ok, I would suggest sticking to the simple pizza or pasta options as the £13... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Leonardo Restaurant also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Leonardo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 55 Church Road, Hove BN3 2BD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Hove
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 328888

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 75
  • Cuisine: Italian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Leonardo Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?