We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 5NQ , England
01746 763304
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the...
Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the rolling Brown clee hills just on the outskirts of Bridgnorth town.We open daily and offer a full Gastro menu and award winning carvery on selected days. Bookings are essential at all times to avoid disappointmentWe also offer a fully stocked bar with a range of Lagers, Ciders and tradtional cask ales including an extensive wine listA warm welcome awaits you from our family run business
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 158 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 93
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good value business lunch

My colleague and I ate here today and we were impressed with the good value carvery, choice of three meats and good selection of vegetables all cooked well. Only comment is that we arrived early (mid-day) and the place looked shut from the outside!

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 19, 2015
Mike B
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 NEW

We visited Ye Olde Punch Bowl for lunch during our annual Church Outing last week. The meal was pre booked for 50 of us. I tend to approach Carveries with a little apprehension as I've experienced dried, stringy meat and overcooked vegetables in the past - brown broccoli being a recurrent problem! I needn't have worried. The meats were moist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

My colleague and I ate here today and we were impressed with the good value carvery, choice of three meats and good selection of vegetables all cooked well. Only comment is that we arrived early (mid-day) and the place looked shut from the outside!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Heard a lot of good things about this place so decided to go for a Sunday carvery, we purchased two carveries at the till along with our drinks and was served by a pleasant young girl & we went to find a table. We stopped a waiter by the name of Gareth (according to his T-shirt) & asked if we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Didn't stay here, but we had a very nice meal whilst visiting this establishment. Steak was supposed to be medium but was well done, took back to chef and supplied with a medium steak. The carvery was out of this world, and the beef was beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Went here with family and friends, it was a Friday evening and we attended the tribute night, the entertainment and food was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

we visited punch bowl again on a thursday evening and had the 3 course carvery special what a bargain! the standard of food is always amazing! I work in the catering,customer service industry and know only too well how its difficult to please everyone but honestly the quality,presentation of food,the customer service you receive here is a credit to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We booked to attend an advertised offer of three courses for £10 as part of the settings celebratory event. I booked initially for myself and husband, but then added to this with 4 good food friends mentioning as requested on the paperwork that we wanted the celebratory event. We arrived alongside another group for 5.55pm to be met by closed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed average review, firstly we can only apologise that your experience was just average across the board. If you read the majority of reviews the feedback is positive and you dined on 'AGA anniversary deal' which is heavily discounted offer. Our premises is very old (700 hundred with little windows and... More 

london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

had a great stay here in june !! room was superb comfy bed , fridge with drinks supplied !! had the carvery in the evening and have to say it was the best carvery I,ve had !! massive breakfast in the morning , all in all a pretty good stay , will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We hope you visit us again and thank you for posting positive feedback Kindest regards, Adam, Charlotte and all the team More 

Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We visited The Old Punchbowl on Thursday evening, and following the reviews had high expectations! Unfortunately they were not busy, the vegetables and meat were dry and depleted, we had to ask for fresh turkey and some vegetables,I had beef which was over cooked for my taste, the meal overall was ok, service was good and friendly. SUMMERY Meal ok,but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write an average review, I have fully investigated into the evening that you dined and I can only apologise you had and average carvery but you did arrive at 8.45pm as we were closing the carvery down. I would agree the carvery would not of been at its highest standards just before... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

Had a carvery lunch yesterday at The Punch Bowl Inn. Excellent food could not fault it. Service was very good considering there were 46 in our party ! Drinks prices were reasonable. Would recommend this Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We hope you visit us again and thank you for posting positive feedback Kindest regards, Adam, Charlotte and all the team More 

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 5NQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Bridgnorth
  • Phone Number: 01746 763304

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Description

Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the rolling Brown clee hills just on the outskirts of Bridgnorth town.We open daily and offer a full Gastro menu and award winning carvery on selected days. Bookings are essential at all times to avoid disappointmentWe also offer a fully stocked bar with a range of Lagers, Ciders and tradtional cask ales including an extensive wine listA warm welcome awaits you from our family run business

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?