We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant

Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 5NQ , England
01746 763304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 72 Restaurants in Bridgnorth
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the rolling Brown clee hills just on the outskirts of Bridgnorth town.We open daily and offer a full Gastro menu and award winning carvery on selected days. Bookings are essential at all times to avoid disappointmentWe also offer a fully stocked bar with a range of Lagers, Ciders and tradtional cask ales including an extensive wine listA warm welcome awaits you from our family run business
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the rolling Brown clee hills just on the outskirts of Bridgnorth town.We open daily and offer a full Gastro menu and award winning carvery on selected days. Bookings are essential at all times to avoid disappointmentWe also offer a fully stocked bar with a range of Lagers, Ciders and tradtional cask ales including an extensive wine listA warm welcome awaits you from our family run business
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    52
    15
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shifnal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

Lovely meal. We had a Sunday Carvery, had to book in advance, we could only get a time of Midday which was rather early for us, but it was still busy. A very popular place. Nice to see Great British food being cooked in a Great British cooker - AGA !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

My mom booked us in here for the carvery (on bank holiday monday) after seeing it on trip advisor and I'm very glad she booked in advance! We came at about 12.30 and the place was already packed with people waiting for tables to become available. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help. If anything was missing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broseley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

our wedding reception was held here in august this year, we cant compliment charlotte, chris and the rest of the staff enough for all their hard work. we were filled full of confidence before the wedding reception and everything ran smoothly. they couldn't have been more helpful and we would definately recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingswinford west midlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My Wife and I were coming through Bridgnorth on our way back from the Shrewsbury flower show and decided to call in on the Ye Ole Punch Bowl. We had a Carvery and we were not disappointed. The cooking is now done on the AGA and the meal was very tasty, in fact it was fantastic. We have not had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We decided to visit on the spur of the moment as we are contemplating buying a Total Control Aga. We should have booked! It was very busy, perhaps because it was a Sunday lunchtime, but the helpful staff at reception managed to find us a table without delay, though they clearly had difficulty in fitting us in. We decided on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for a great review I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for taking the time to write a great review. The AGA carvery so far has been a resounding success and it's great news to hear that you want to purchase a total control AGA for your own kitchen having seen... More

Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Timing is everything with a carver. Get there when the vegetables are fresh and the meat is freshly placed in front of the carver and it will be excellent. My beef was to die for. My wife's turkey was from bits and pieces left on the bones of the turkey. The roast potatoes were hard on the outside having been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to upload an average review, am I sorry to read that you only rank our food 55/100, I do find your review system bizarre if I am honest looking at your others reviews. I will personally apologise that you found everything just ok and we try our best to meet all our customer... More

Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Husband and myself used to visit this pub when we were teenagers but some 40 years later did a nostalgic revisit and we were not disappointed although the bar/restaurant area had changed somewhat. The staff were most welcoming and efficient, as we had not booked before hand we were seated at table 1 next to door leading to the toilets.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for a great review and delighted that you enjoyed our AGA carvery, it has become very popular indeed. In terms of our service we do our upmost to accommodate all our customer requirements, I am pleased we managed to change your table without any problems, I must admit this table is the last one we offer when... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I came here recently in a party of 9 for my mom's birthday. We booked for the 2pm slot on a Sunday afternoon for the carvery. It was very busy and we had to queue up for quite some time to get our food. But it was well worth the wait! You get plenty of meat and it's clearly very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for a great review and delighted that you enjoyed our AGA carvery on a sunday, it has become very popular indeed. We hope to see you again and thank you for taking the time to upload a nice review, reviews like this have a great impact on staff morale Kindest regards Adam Giles More

Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We decided to try the carvery lunch at the Punchbowl as we have always enjoyed those at its sister pub, The Plough, which is nearer to where we live. As soon as we entered we were impressed by the ambience and welcome we received from Chris and then from the other staff at the bar and carvery. Chris was particularly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for a lovely review, I have of course shown your review to Chris this this has put a big smile on his face, I am delighted that you enjoyed the food, service and surroundings so much. This is what our industry is all about, its very reassuring to receive such positive feedback. I hope you frequent us... More

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Having seen the signs advertising the Aga carvery I thought I had better go having been reared on Aga cooking. The place is an interesting building and nicely furnished with lots of small spaces and nooks and crannies. I was relatively late going in, but I was made most welcome by the staff. I ordered a starter of pea and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and I note you are a passionate TA reviewer with honest reviews. It’s great to read that you enjoyed the service and the food was still of a good standard near end of service, this is most reassuring to read. In terms of our AGA, I do... More

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing