We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 5NQ , England
01746 763304
Website
Add hours for Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the...
Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the rolling Brown clee hills just on the outskirts of Bridgnorth town.We open daily and offer a full Gastro menu and award winning carvery on selected days. Bookings are essential at all times to avoid disappointmentWe also offer a fully stocked bar with a range of Lagers, Ciders and tradtional cask ales including an extensive wine listA warm welcome awaits you from our family run business
read more
Good for:
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 132 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 74
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Very good food, friendly staff and at a reasonable price.

Visited with friends after an absence of a couple of years. The décor adds to the ambience. We had the set price meal which was, in my opinion, very good value. The meat on the carvery was all cooked in an Aga and was very, very tasty. All of the vegetables were of high quality. We thoroughly... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 25, 2015
kby121148
,
Wolverhampton
Good for:
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 NEW

Visited with friends after an absence of a couple of years. The décor adds to the ambience. We had the set price meal which was, in my opinion, very good value. The meat on the carvery was all cooked in an Aga and was very, very tasty. All of the vegetables were of high quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Went on a Friday lunch time to catch up with friends we had not seen for some time. Excellent Aga Carvery. Big portions of meat well cooked and a wide selection of veg. Great value, when we arrived our server told us it was on £4.99 that day so even better ! Had the puddings of the day Waffles and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgnorth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Beautifully cooked meat and wide variety of vegetables available. Equally delicious traditional puddings - plenty of custard!!! Only problem for first sitting- pressured to vacate table for second! Limited alternative space to continue our lunchtime celebration. However- still enjoyable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Chose this venue for my retirement/birthday party and they were most accommodating for our party of 20 people, providing us with a separate area in the dining room. When I went in to book they were most helpful and we had everything arranged in less than 15 minutes. On the evening in question the service and food was excellent and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for a lovely review we hope you visit us again in the future Kindest regards, Adam More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Yet another visit to Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn in Bridgnorth, what can I say, we just keep returning. The staff are friendly and efficient, the atmosphere is great, with hidden nooks where couples or families can enjoy the really good food. The traditional carvery, served on Sundays is simply the best carvery I've had, the quality is excellent -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for writing a lovely review this really does boost staff morale, hope to see you again in the future :) Kindest regards, Adam Owner More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

we have been to the punch bowl before and had a great meal and this time on are second visit we were not disappointed we were shown to are table by john who infomed us that as a january sale the carvery was only £4.99 witch was a bargain everything at the carvery looked really nice the turkey was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, Delighted that your second vissit was even better than the first visit, hope to see you again in the future :) Kindest regards, Adam Owner More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

first time we tried to eat here we were quite rudly sent on our way and was told it was booking only. So to see what all the fuss was about (considering was only a cavery) we booked the next Sunday. First thing to note is that if you are clostraphobic don't eat here as the seats are crammed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write an average review, firstly I can only apologise that you left disappointed although it would been nice to bring any shortfalls to the management's attention before your departure. Lately we have had no option but to turn people away when totally fully booked, of course we would accommodate everyone walking through the... More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We have visited the Punch Bowl a couple of times and have enjoyed it very much. We visited again tonight with my brother and his girlfriend and as we sit here now, reflecting on it, we both agree that there is not one single thing we can find fault with. They had a deal on, with the 3 courses (carvery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for the lovely feedback, hope to see you again in the near future Kind regards, Adam, Charlotte and the whole team More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We eat here on Boxing day (4 of us) and it was our first time here and very impressed. We pre-booked and arrived a little early so table wasnt ready so had a quick drink .. the table was ready shortly after (actually dead on time for our reservation) It was a set 2 course meal .. main & dessert.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, We are sorry found the carvery queue a little slow, you have hit the nail on head though, people like to view their veggies and given the vast range this does take a little longer. I want to assure you that our Treacle sponge is homemade not brought in, but I have passed on your comments to the... More 

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We were here for the carvery before Christmas. A busy place that does cater for coach parties, however we were given a very comfortable table away from the party crowds. The food was plentiful and delicious. The staff are efficient but friendly. Good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for the lovely feedback, hope to see you again in the near future! Kindest regards, Adam, Charlotte and the team More 

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Been to Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 5NQ , England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Bridgnorth
  • Phone Number: 01746 763304

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Description

Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the rolling Brown clee hills just on the outskirts of Bridgnorth town.We open daily and offer a full Gastro menu and award winning carvery on selected days. Bookings are essential at all times to avoid disappointmentWe also offer a fully stocked bar with a range of Lagers, Ciders and tradtional cask ales including an extensive wine listA warm welcome awaits you from our family run business

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?