We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 79 Bridgnorth Restaurants

Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant

Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 5NQ , England
01746 763304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 79 Restaurants in Bridgnorth
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the rolling Brown clee hills just on the outskirts of Bridgnorth town.We open daily and offer a full Gastro menu and award winning carvery on selected days. Bookings are essential at all times to avoid disappointmentWe also offer a fully stocked bar with a range of Lagers, Ciders and tradtional cask ales including an extensive wine listA warm welcome awaits you from our family run business
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

first time we tried to eat here we were quite rudly sent on our way and was told it was booking only. So to see what all the fuss was about (considering was only a cavery) we booked the next Sunday. First thing to note is that if you are clostraphobic don't eat here as the seats are crammed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We have visited the Punch Bowl a couple of times and have enjoyed it very much. We visited again tonight with my brother and his girlfriend and as we sit here now, reflecting on it, we both agree that there is not one single thing we can find fault with. They had a deal on, with the 3 courses (carvery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for the lovely feedback, hope to see you again in the near future Kind regards, Adam, Charlotte and the whole team More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

First off positive food (carvary) is lovely service on the other hand isn't great. After a nice meal we was enjoying a couple of drinks however after hearing the a member if staff who I assume either was or wanted to be the manger demand to a member of staff say they wanted us out by 11 was quite unacceptable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Firstly I will start be apologising for your dining experience, although none of my team can relate to such contents and the week you uploaded this review we were closed most evenings given the festive season. I don't believe that Charlotte (The manager) would say this and the only night that we were open late was Friday 2nd... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We eat here on Boxing day (4 of us) and it was our first time here and very impressed. We pre-booked and arrived a little early so table wasnt ready so had a quick drink .. the table was ready shortly after (actually dead on time for our reservation) It was a set 2 course meal .. main & dessert.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, We are sorry found the carvery queue a little slow, you have hit the nail on head though, people like to view their veggies and given the vast range this does take a little longer. I want to assure you that our Treacle sponge is homemade not brought in, but I have passed on your comments to the... More 

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We were here for the carvery before Christmas. A busy place that does cater for coach parties, however we were given a very comfortable table away from the party crowds. The food was plentiful and delicious. The staff are efficient but friendly. Good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for the lovely feedback, hope to see you again in the near future! Kindest regards, Adam, Charlotte and the team More 

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

Seven of us went here for our Christmas Day lunch, well 5 course extravaganza, and we weren't disappointed. The ambience , service and food was second to none. To be honest, you haven't tasted proper cooked turkey unless it's been cooked in an Aga oven. Then again the pork, beef, lamb, venison, gammon and home made pigs n blankets were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for the lovely feedback, hope to see you again in the near future! Kindest regards, Adam, Charlotte and the team More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

After seeing all the hype of the live aga cooking, I thought it would be spectacular, how wrong I was, I couldn't understand why wasn't seated at the table until my meal was in my hand, I would have liked to have a few minutes to decide what I would like on my plate. Calvary was the only available meal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the AGA carvery, this is the first negative comment we have received since the launch. I am not quite sure how your meal was cold by the time you got to the table? Rather an odd comment or how the staff were rude with directions? We aim to please not be rude.... More 

Bewdley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I have been here twice with over 60s club for the last two Christmases. Wonderful food, well run and very friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for the lovely feedback, hope to see you again in the near future Kind regards, Adam, Charlotte and the whole team More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We visited the punch bowl as part of a big party. Have to say that the food was very nice. The staff couldn't have been any more pleasant or helpful,a nice change in this day and age. Well done to everyone who works there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for the lovely feedback, hope to see you again in the near future Kind regards, Adam, Charlotte and the whole team More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

on tuesday 2/11/2014 visited the ye olde punch bowl ,this is a yearly ,visit ,which as far as i am concerned speaks for it self ,the thing is if i go back you have something special ,and yet again i was not disappointed ,the meal [a carvery] was up too the standard i have come too expect ;there where two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for the lovely feedback, hope to see you again in the near future Kind regards, Adam, Charlotte and the whole team More 

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Been to Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant

Address: Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 5NQ , England
Phone Number: 01746 763304
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Bridgnorth
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?