We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant

Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 5NQ , England
01746 763304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 72 Restaurants in Bridgnorth
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the rolling Brown clee hills just on the outskirts of Bridgnorth town.We open daily and offer a full Gastro menu and award winning carvery on selected days. Bookings are essential at all times to avoid disappointmentWe also offer a fully stocked bar with a range of Lagers, Ciders and tradtional cask ales including an extensive wine listA warm welcome awaits you from our family run business
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn is a multi Award winning country Inn set on the rolling Brown clee hills just on the outskirts of Bridgnorth town.We open daily and offer a full Gastro menu and award winning carvery on selected days. Bookings are essential at all times to avoid disappointmentWe also offer a fully stocked bar with a range of Lagers, Ciders and tradtional cask ales including an extensive wine listA warm welcome awaits you from our family run business
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

I Cannot fault The Punch Bowl after visiting today with my fiancé ..The food is fantastic and it has a really great, friendly atmosphere. Charlotte and Chris provide a fantastic service and it's a pleasure to dine there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

I don't bother writing a review as a rule, but having been for a carvery today felt compelled to do so. The service was fantastic and the food was spot on. The staff could not do enough to help us with our visit. There are 2 locations quite close to each other that offer this kind of service I.e carvery... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

stood and waited at the bar for 10 mins the bar was filthy, beer slops all over it. think they were having staff problems, complaining about staff not turning up in front of customers, grouchy chef at the carvery, not good

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive feedback Several issues..... We are not short staffed nor would be so unprofessional to complain about being short staffed in front of customers!!! Never have have customers stood ten minutes at an absent bar, this is against all our policies, we get asked for table service and when busy ask customers to go to our bar... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I went to the Punch Bowl last night for a family birthday meal. We had a mixture of meals off the main menu and carvery. We have no complaints about the food on the main menu but the carvery was much to be desired as it was very dry although we have eaten the carvery before and it was fine.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NostalgiaInns, Manager at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Totally speechless and genuinely upset reading the contents of your review, we went out of our way to give you personal table service, asked you if you wanted more drinks and hot beverages around 10pm as you were talking without drinks until 11pm, you declined then reprimanded us for us more coffee, my colleague and I were more... More

Dudley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I went to eat at the Punch Bowl today as I was looking for a local pub-styled restaurant to book a group of 10 ladies in on a weekly basis. The pub looked very nice inside, the waiter was obviously new and completely untrained but I bore with him as that was not his fault. I ordered the cod and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NostalgiaInns, Manager at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Well I was expecting this review as you blackmailed me and I note the following; You ate your meal and I asked if you were content, your colleague mentioned bones... The chef Nathaniel and I came to your table and offered you the following; A replacement meal An alternative dish A refund You opted to eat the dish... More

Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My Wife visited the Punch Bowl with her sister and young nephew in August 2014 for a mid-week early-evening meal and was extremely disappointed with attitude of the staff who were poorly informed regarding one vegetarian option and a childrens meal and were generally rude. The Head Waiter appeared to be completely disinterested in his customers and when asked about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry to read that you had a poor experience, especially about the service, this is most out of character for us at Ye Olde Punchbowl Inn. In terms of the 'Nut Roast' we do have these stocked in our freezer for vegans and special dietary requirements, they... More

Shifnal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Lovely meal. We had a Sunday Carvery, had to book in advance, we could only get a time of Midday which was rather early for us, but it was still busy. A very popular place. Nice to see Great British food being cooked in a Great British cooker - AGA !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for a great review I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. The AGA carvery so far has been a resounding success! It would have been nice to score four stars given you enjoyed the experience? Nevertheless are are glad you enjoyed the... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My mom booked us in here for the carvery (on bank holiday monday) after seeing it on trip advisor and I'm very glad she booked in advance! We came at about 12.30 and the place was already packed with people waiting for tables to become available. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help. If anything was missing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for a great review I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for taking the time to write a great review. The AGA carvery so far has been a resounding success, as you commented we are getting very busy on lunchtimes so bookings are recommended at all times now. We hope to... More

Broseley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

our wedding reception was held here in august this year, we cant compliment charlotte, chris and the rest of the staff enough for all their hard work. we were filled full of confidence before the wedding reception and everything ran smoothly. they couldn't have been more helpful and we would definately recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Matt, Warm greetings by all us at at Ye Olde punchbowl Inn, we are delighted that your wedding was a great success with us we also take take pride in delivering a truly memorable occassion for you and your family and friends. we are pleased we exceeded your expectations we host a lot of weddings and believe the success... More

Kingswinford west midlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My Wife and I were coming through Bridgnorth on our way back from the Shrewsbury flower show and decided to call in on the Ye Ole Punch Bowl. We had a Carvery and we were not disappointed. The cooking is now done on the AGA and the meal was very tasty, in fact it was fantastic. We have not had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NostalgiaInns, Owner at Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for another lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed the food, service and surroundings so much, its great to read so many positive reviews from yourself. This is what our industry is all about, its very reassuring to receive such positive feedback and boosts staff morale. I hope you frequent us again :) Kindest regards, Adam More

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Punch Bowl Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing