We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Canal Turn

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Lancaster Road, Carnforth LA5 9EA, England
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Reservations
Description: went there on vacation, old pub beautiful setting on the canal, go to the...
went there on vacation, old pub beautiful setting on the canal, go to the website check it out, one of the bigger and nicer places to eat & drink in carnforth
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 110 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 30
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
very accommodating

visited here after a day out for some lunch/dinner food was very good there was no kids menu which i would address if i were the manager however staff were very accommodating it was,nt the easiest order for the young waitress to take but she was patient and polite even when trying to understand... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 18, 2015
ian d d
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

My wife and myself was on the 4.5 mile walk carnforth to Bolton Le Sands and on the way back decided to have a snack at The Canal Turn Pub. We soon realised that it was more like full meals rather than just snacks however we was quite hungry after the walk so we both choose the fish and chips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarcusCanalTurn, Owner at The Canal Turn, responded to this review

Hi Anthony I know you have to take the rough with the smooth on Tripadvisor, but nothing makes us happy than when we exceed expectation and our guests leave happy, so thank you for taking the time to spread the good word. This really is the sort of feedback that makes all the hours (and there's a lot!) worth while.... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

visited here after a day out for some lunch/dinner food was very good there was no kids menu which i would address if i were the manager however staff were very accommodating it was,nt the easiest order for the young waitress to take but she was patient and polite even when trying to understand our irish accents. decor could do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We had this pub down to visit. We like to have days out on our touring motobike. Although when we arrived we had our doubts. Even on entering and seeing how tired the premises are. We had arrived early (before opening time) so we could have a walk along the canal & around Carnforth. On encountering The Canal Turn on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarcusCanalTurn, Owner at The Canal Turn, responded to this review

Hi Countess Thank you so much for the kind words. I think much of what I'd expand on in response can be found in the immediate review below, but I'd also like to add that the main reason for our taking over is the planned quarter of a million pound refurbishment that will begin in October with a view to... More 

Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

At first sight it all looks a bit run down. In fact it is run down, very run down . We had a couple of drinks, tried to sit outside but lack of outdoor tables is a problem. The hay bales are ridiculous and strike may as having health and safety issues. Was certainly not sitting on them. After a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarcusCanalTurn, Owner at The Canal Turn, responded to this review

Hi John Thanks so much for the consructive review, I can't disagree wth anything you've picked up on. I've touched on this in other responses, but we are only just nearing our second month and, although this business is ours, the building itself is leased from a pub company. This is the reason why we don't have proper garden furniture... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Should be reported to trading standards. I ordered from the menu, as shown on the website. Battered scampi ‘as it used to be’, chips, mushy peas, CT tartar sauce £12.95. It looked ok but when I bit into the first Scampi it tasted unusual to say the least and on closer inspection discovered it was in fact fish. As the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarcusCanalTurn, Owner at The Canal Turn, responded to this review

Hi Charles As ever, we're sorry your experience didn't live up to expectation. However, I must address some of the rather large ommissions and inaccuracies in you review... Firstly, I DID immediately take the dish off the bill after you said you didn't like cod cheek. Secondly, as you point out, the menu does read 'as it used to be'... More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Walked uo for a meal last night after hearing it had been taken over and that food was good. The place was busy and all food that came out made ordering a hard decision as it all looked superb. The steak ale pie would have served 2 And the burger was large too. Best chips we have ever tasted Friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarcusCanalTurn, Owner at The Canal Turn, responded to this review

Hi Pam Thanks so much for the positive response; it makes it all worth while when people enjoy themsleves as it's what we're here for afterall! Just to let you know we've just taken delivery of brand new fryer so the chips will hopefully be even more delicious (which is certainly not going to help my waistline either - not... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Called in for a late lunch. Waitress informed us that Sunday Roasts were on offer so we both chose pork. When served the vegetables were not very warm, although the roast potatoes were red hot. The meat was of poor quality - very fatty & Yorkshire pud overdone. The final straw was the PRICE - £12.99 per head!!!!! Will NOT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarcusCanalTurn, Owner at The Canal Turn, responded to this review

Hi Lexi Very sorry to hear your experience with us didn't meet your expectations. The meat we use is actually locally sourced rare breed pork and, as a result, does posess a higher fat content. We use pork shoulder / collar and cook it on the bone to ensure maximum flavour. I totally except it may not have been to... More 

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Have been here only twice, each time the food and the atmosphere were very good. We travelled 72 miles to go back the second time and it was well worth it. Improvements in the building are one the way and can only add to what is already there. No second thoughts in recommending this inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We heard through the pipeline ,that the 'Canal Turn Pub' was under new management so we tried it and it very Good, We had the 'Sunday Roast' excellent nicely presented was very tasty we had the beef it was cooked to perfection everything ,The Roast potatoes, the Mashed potatoes, through to the Yorkshire pud just spot on . A little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarcusCanalTurn, Owner at The Canal Turn, responded to this review

Hi Fellerman Thanks so much for the support. It's always great to hear from people who have enjoyed their meal and the changes we've made to the food, service and pub in general. As with all our guests, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards Marcus More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Not your typical pub grub. Small portions & rather expensive I thought! But the new owners & staff were very friendly and I wish them every success. Don't try & be fancy, give carnforth something it needs. Good pub grub! Decrease the prices, increase the portions & watch them come through the door!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarcusCanalTurn, Owner at The Canal Turn, responded to this review

Hi Lisa Many thanks for the comments. We're a tad shocked though, if there's been any contstant complaint since opening it's that our portions are too big! We bought a beautiful dessert trolley with us to Carnforth and it's hardly been touched as a majority of our customers are too full after their mains. Our gammon, burger and steaks are... More 

Travelers who viewed The Canal Turn also viewed

Carnforth, Lancashire
Carnforth, Lancashire
 

Been to The Canal Turn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canal Turn

Address: Lancaster Road, Carnforth LA5 9EA, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Carnforth
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lancaster Road, Carnforth LA5 9EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Carnforth

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Description

went there on vacation, old pub beautiful setting on the canal, go to the website check it out, one of the bigger and nicer places to eat & drink in carnforth
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Canal Turn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?