We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
40 Yealand Road | Yealand Conyers, Carnforth LA5 9SJ, England
+44 1524 732938
Improve this listing
Add hours for The New Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 115 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 65
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Closing for refurbishment?

We have been going to this friendly informal pub for 22years whilst on holiday in the area. We were shocked last week to be informed by the very friendly and efficient barmaid that it is to close on Nov 1st for refurbishment. What a time to close - missing all the extra Christmas trade. We do... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed October 26, 2014
W W
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Hi it's Denise. Me and my partner were the last tenants of the New Inn leaving in sept 2013. I feel as passionate as you about the New Inn remaining as a local pub but the reality of it is in a village with an ageing population of 500 the New Inn as a business is not viable. Even though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Robinsons are so hard up they plan to sell the site as three plots to build upmarket housing ...Thanks for the Money over the decades you regulars we would like you to take your money and support and>>>. Ask them why they will not sell to a local who would re open the pub,why they will not return the calls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lancashire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Me and my husband called into the New Inn for lunch in the summer and sat outside with our little dog. Nice food but a bit on the expensive side for lunch, would expect to pay not much more to be honest for a decent early evening dinner. Staff were nice and friendly and the village is very pretty. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

After decades of Robinsons lies and running down this iconic pub the time has come to call it a day....A Brewery spokesman said..........

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We have been going to this friendly informal pub for 22years whilst on holiday in the area. We were shocked last week to be informed by the very friendly and efficient barmaid that it is to close on Nov 1st for refurbishment. What a time to close - missing all the extra Christmas trade. We do hope that Robinsons will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Been here a few times, friendly, decently priced and in lovely spot. Many thanks to the lovely woman at the bar who kept my child very happy with free chocolate! Nice to see good veggie options too. A proper pub and so so cosy and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a gem of a pub tucked away off the beaten track. The weather was glorious when we arrived and we make the most of the ample sized beer garden. The style is traditional rustic in a tranquil rural setting. The lady (possibly the land lady) that served us was very attentive and made sure we had everything we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garstang, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I haven't eaten at the New Inn for over twelve months and I was very disappointed in the new menu, the weird and wonderful décor and the thirty odd scented candles in the main bar. We asked what sort of sausages they were and were told local butchers pork and beef, they were clearly walls cheap mush. The chips and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
newinn825, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

thank you for joining trip advisor and leaving positive feed back. the décor has not changed,, since last year ,,,,,,,,,,,,when you were here this is the 3rd new menu since the last year ,,,,,,,,,,,,,when you were here. the butcher and veg supplier probably supply 70% of pubs and restaurants in your area of garstang you finished all your meals,,, all... More 

Clitheroe
Level Contributor
226 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A log burning stove greets you when you walk into the cosy bar. Food choice is good and a specials board only adds to the options. Staff friendly and the standard of cooking was really good. I actually liked the beer and it was well kept, so if you're in the area stop in for a bite and a pint.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
newinn825, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

your comment are much appreciated glad you had a nice time look forward to seeing you again thank you More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very welcoming pub with cosy atmosphere and attentive, friendly staff. The food was very good with an excellent choice and is reasonably priced. The downside is the frankly awful Hartleys beer, their Cumbria Way and XB bitter the only draught ales on offer. I suspect they're tied to the brewery (Robinsons) in which case, perhaps they could offer one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
newinn825, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

glad you had a great time ,,, apart from the ,,,,,, sorry about the Hartleys beer, their Cumbria Way and XB bitter the only draught ales on offer. We are tied to the brewery (Robinsons) in which case, we do change the offering to Dizzy Blonde or seasonal offering as a guest ale glad your first trip advisor comment was... More 

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

 
Carnforth, Lancashire
Carnforth, Lancashire
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 40 Yealand Road | Yealand Conyers, Carnforth LA5 9SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Carnforth
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 732938

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The New Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The New Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?