We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Inn

40 Yealand Road | Yealand Conyers, Carnforth LA5 9SJ, England
+44 1524 732938
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in Carnforth
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Most recent review
- Aug 30, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Been here a few times, friendly, decently priced and in lovely spot. Many thanks to the lovely woman at the bar who kept my child very happy with free chocolate! Nice to see good veggie options too. A proper pub and so so cosy and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a gem of a pub tucked away off the beaten track. The weather was glorious when we arrived and we make the most of the ample sized beer garden. The style is traditional rustic in a tranquil rural setting. The lady (possibly the land lady) that served us was very attentive and made sure we had everything we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garstang, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I haven't eaten at the New Inn for over twelve months and I was very disappointed in the new menu, the weird and wonderful décor and the thirty odd scented candles in the main bar. We asked what sort of sausages they were and were told local butchers pork and beef, they were clearly walls cheap mush. The chips and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
newinn825, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

thank you for joining trip advisor and leaving positive feed back. the décor has not changed,, since last year ,,,,,,,,,,,,when you were here this is the 3rd new menu since the last year ,,,,,,,,,,,,,when you were here. the butcher and veg supplier probably supply 70% of pubs and restaurants in your area of garstang you finished all your meals,,, all... More

Clitheroe
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A log burning stove greets you when you walk into the cosy bar. Food choice is good and a specials board only adds to the options. Staff friendly and the standard of cooking was really good. I actually liked the beer and it was well kept, so if you're in the area stop in for a bite and a pint.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
newinn825, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

your comment are much appreciated glad you had a nice time look forward to seeing you again thank you More

Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very welcoming pub with cosy atmosphere and attentive, friendly staff. The food was very good with an excellent choice and is reasonably priced. The downside is the frankly awful Hartleys beer, their Cumbria Way and XB bitter the only draught ales on offer. I suspect they're tied to the brewery (Robinsons) in which case, perhaps they could offer one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
newinn825, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

glad you had a great time ,,, apart from the ,,,,,, sorry about the Hartleys beer, their Cumbria Way and XB bitter the only draught ales on offer. We are tied to the brewery (Robinsons) in which case, we do change the offering to Dizzy Blonde or seasonal offering as a guest ale glad your first trip advisor comment was... More

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great welcome lovely warm atmosphere log burner back ground music staff very friendly and helpfull food came could not fault it in any way large portions fantastic I will be calling again soon dont miss out on this little gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
newinn825, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

thank you Mr holt we are glad you experience was enjoyable hope you visit again soon thanks for joining trip advisor to give some positive feedback More

English Lakes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This pub is well worth a visit. The staff are all lovely & make you so welcome that its like visiting family. There is a lovely log burning stove which makes it really cozy inside especially on a chilly winters day. The food is very good with plenty of choice & is very reasonable priced. Once a month there's a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
newinn825, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

thank you for your positive comment it really great to hear you had a fab time with your friends and family the pub and village are small but yes the talent is big, band night last Friday every month hope you visit again soon More

Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We went to the New Inn wanting a good pub meal and that was definitely what we got! Food was excellent value and tasty. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and our two year old son was well and truly spoilt. Many thanks for a lovely evening, we will be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
newinn825, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

glad you and your family enjoyed the time here and the food was excellent value and tasty. Nothing was too much trouble for your two year old son glad he was well and truly spoilt. Many thanks for a lovely comment , glad you will be back!!! More

Cumbria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Having booked our large walking trip for Xmas back in June/ July ,we paid a £100.00 deposit which we lost as the last tenants left taking our pennies with them,,,,, hope they feel guilty taking someone's hard earned money the company there now honoured it but unfortunately are out of pocket too but we really did enjoy the Xmas meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'm assuming the recent management / change over issues have been resolved as our recent visit to the New Inn was rewarded with just as excellent hospitality and service as it was a few years ago. The food is filling, tasty and incredable value. Beer excellent too. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
denise r, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Any reviews dated after 2 september 2013 are nothing to with Chris Tomlinson or Denise Robinson. We have tried on numerous occasions to close down our TRIPADVISOR page but for some reason TRIPADVISOR seem reluctant to remove it. Which is unfair on the new management and potential customers.It is wrong that as a previous owner i should be able to... More

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Carnforth, Lancashire
Carnforth, Lancashire
 
Carnforth, Lancashire
Carnforth, Lancashire
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing