We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thaproban

Yaddhehimulla Rd, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
94914381722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 47 restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
8 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    58
    39
    14
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great dining area. Food was ok but nothing to write home about and pricy but the service was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

After eating here 3 times this week I can't believe some of the negative reviews. We had the best seafood here during our time in sri lanka. The best food we had was the seafood platter (Prawns, Tuna, Giant Prawns etc) and lobster. All was cooked excellently and extremely tasty. The service was great and they couldn't do enough for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Right on the beach, serves almost the same fare as the others....what sets it apart is their Sri Lankan rice & curry.....one of the cleaner & polished places on the strip...guests can use the shower & change facilities as well... Also have accommodation, with rooms that have balconies overlooking the water.....but can get noisy with the late night parties...

Was this review helpful? Yes
munich
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Things start promisingly enough when one inspects the array of seafood, which looked first class - such a shame they have no notion how to cook it! I would particularly highlight chewy calamari, and a tuna steak that miraculously metamorphosed sashimi grade raw fish into a piece of leather. Service was surly by Sri Lankan standards - perhaps they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We ate here 2 nights, both nights it was packed with people and yet we had a table right on the beach in front of the waves. The food was lovely - super Sri Lankan 'rice and curry', and the baked crab was also lovely. We would definitely recommend. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Thaproban seems to be the place to be in Unawatuna but on our visit we were highly unimpressed. It is not cheap and neither the food nor the setting justifies the cost. Our prawns were average and our squid was so bad we couldn't eat it. They did not take it off the bill even though we told them it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We visited this restaurant today and I was quite disappointed after reading the previous reviews. The restaurant does not have as much beach space as other spots but it was okay. We ordered the fish and rice and was told the fish would be grilled. When the food came, the snapper was baked with no flavor whatsoever along with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban, responded to this review

Dear Guest , We were surprised with your review, it is sad to note that we have received a poor review out of hundreds of good reviews for food & Service of Thaproban Beach Restaurant . We are doubtful whether you have visited our restaurant or any other , as we have a long beach space compared to others .... More

Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great restaurant on the seaside with cozy interior. Diverse seafood market and menu. The most tasty lobster, prawns and crabs. Funny nice personnel ready to find you the good table and help with food choice. Obligatory to visit!!!! =)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had dinner from the fresh fish market two nights in a row. Very busy outside on the beach which helps build a buzzing atmosphere. The fish market is excellent value for money; you select what you want, the staff weigh it and agree the price, moments later it's on the grill and then served with a choice of sides. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Male Atoll
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nice location on the beach with lovely fresh seafood and pleasant service.Really enjoyed the butter fish. A shame they don't have some agreement with their sister property, Thambapanni Retreat, where I stayed, to offer a free glass of wine or a small discount.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Thaproban also viewed

 

Been to Thaproban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaproban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing