We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Huntsman Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Greenfield Road, Holmfirth, England
01484 850205
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Huntsman Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 145 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 48
    Excellent
  • 41
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 21
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Mixed views

Haven't been here for a while, we decided to have our evening meal here. I ordered beef pie and wedges which was fine (wedges a fab size but quite dry). My other half ordered bangers and mash (oh no, a green veg in the middle of the plate a dollop of mash on top and 3 sausages on top of... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 13, 2015
Lynn G
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

As a firm favourite of the family, The Huntsman was chosen as the place for us all to celebrate a very special birthday. As always, everything was brilliant, from the warm greeting by the chaps on reception, the bar staff and the girls in the restaurant did a sterling job looking after us......18 in total. The birthday boy had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

we booked a short break at the huntsman and were not disappointed.the room we had was for the disabled and was excellent.the food and drink was good and reasonablely priced.a most enjoyable stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Haven't been here for a while, we decided to have our evening meal here. I ordered beef pie and wedges which was fine (wedges a fab size but quite dry). My other half ordered bangers and mash (oh no, a green veg in the middle of the plate a dollop of mash on top and 3 sausages on top of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We had our wedding here in April. All the team were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much. The rooms were very clean and lovely decor we also stayed on extra nights and ate in the restaurant which was simply delicious. We only received positive feedback from our entire guest list, Stuart and Melissa should be very proud of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Fantastic first impression on our first visit. Food was excellent. Service was great. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Has a surprise my family organised a meal at The Huntsman Inn, Holmfirth. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, the meal had been booked for 6.00pm which our table was prepared and waiting. The food was exceptional with a great choice, to say six people being served on a busy day was very good. Service could not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

....the food was exceptional with a great choice and the staff were lovely. I've always liked The Huntsman but something has changed - fir the better :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We were very disappointed in our meal, not only was the service slow but the food was poor. We visited on a Sunday and less than 10 tables were occupied in the restaurant. We waited over 30 mins for food that was just warm and not tasty. The pie was dry and obviously had been re-heated more than once. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that on this occasion we didn't meet our own very high standards and I'm sure had a member of the team known about it at the time we would have strived to make things right at the time. Thanks for the feedback and we will use it to ensure we improve our offering in the future. More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

We were returning from Rochdale where we had been visiting my partners Sister and called in the restaurant at about 1730 hours. We found the establishment to be very warm on arrival and we ordered the SIRLOIN STEAK. When the food came it was cooked to perfection as we ordered and the service was first-class.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback, we have just added a couple of great new cuts to our grill menu for when you come back. More 

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

You may have seen this restaurant advertise "Pensioners Special Luncheon" to include 2 x Course Meal, Live Singer, After Dinner Bingo, well, DON'T BELIEVE THEM! I booked for a party of 9 to celebrate my mothers birthday in March and there was NO LIVE SINGER & NO AFTER DINNER BINGO. I think there's a law about placing misleading advertisements ...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Stewie79, Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Hi I'm very sorry for the misunderstanding regarding the pensioners luncheon that was advertised. everyone that had booked specifically for the pensioners luncheon was notified that the event was cancelled, but your booking was down as a birthday party hence why we didn't notify you. I'm very disappointed that no one from the brewery has contacted you and I shall... More 

Travelers who viewed The Huntsman Inn also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Greenfield Road, Holmfirth, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Holmfirth
  • Phone Number: 01484 850205

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Huntsman Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?