We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Huntsman Inn

English, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Greenfield Road, Holmfirth, England
01484 850205
Website
Add hours for The Huntsman Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 142 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 46
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 21
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Good Food

Booked on-line,received text and email confirmation,varied menu to choose from,good service,food was served hot and in good time,good value

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 27, 2015
maltrab
,
West Yorkshire
Add Photo

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eton, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

We had our wedding here in April. All the team were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much. The rooms were very clean and lovely decor we also stayed on extra nights and ate in the restaurant which was simply delicious. We only received positive feedback from our entire guest list, Stuart and Melissa should be very proud of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Fantastic first impression on our first visit. Food was excellent. Service was great. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Has a surprise my family organised a meal at The Huntsman Inn, Holmfirth. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, the meal had been booked for 6.00pm which our table was prepared and waiting. The food was exceptional with a great choice, to say six people being served on a busy day was very good. Service could not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

....the food was exceptional with a great choice and the staff were lovely. I've always liked The Huntsman but something has changed - fir the better :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We were very disappointed in our meal, not only was the service slow but the food was poor. We visited on a Sunday and less than 10 tables were occupied in the restaurant. We waited over 30 mins for food that was just warm and not tasty. The pie was dry and obviously had been re-heated more than once. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that on this occasion we didn't meet our own very high standards and I'm sure had a member of the team known about it at the time we would have strived to make things right at the time. Thanks for the feedback and we will use it to ensure we improve our offering in the future. More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

We were returning from Rochdale where we had been visiting my partners Sister and called in the restaurant at about 1730 hours. We found the establishment to be very warm on arrival and we ordered the SIRLOIN STEAK. When the food came it was cooked to perfection as we ordered and the service was first-class.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback, we have just added a couple of great new cuts to our grill menu for when you come back. More 

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

You may have seen this restaurant advertise "Pensioners Special Luncheon" to include 2 x Course Meal, Live Singer, After Dinner Bingo, well, DON'T BELIEVE THEM! I booked for a party of 9 to celebrate my mothers birthday in March and there was NO LIVE SINGER & NO AFTER DINNER BINGO. I think there's a law about placing misleading advertisements ...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Stewie79, Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Hi I'm very sorry for the misunderstanding regarding the pensioners luncheon that was advertised. everyone that had booked specifically for the pensioners luncheon was notified that the event was cancelled, but your booking was down as a birthday party hence why we didn't notify you. I'm very disappointed that no one from the brewery has contacted you and I shall... More 

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Booked on-line,received text and email confirmation,varied menu to choose from,good service,food was served hot and in good time,good value

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Dined here 18th May in the evening had Sausage & Mash, very nice indeed & treacle pudding was nice too. Well presented. The only fault was it was a cold day & the large dining area was cold & the food got cold while eating it!. Waiting staff were nice & Beer was nice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

Hi thanks for the lovely comments about our food and I'm very sorry the dining area was cold, it's such a big restaurant and with the stone flagging it does take a lot of heating, I have asked the duty managers to turn the heating on a few hours before service to ensure this shouldn't happen again. More 

england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

food excellent, venue excellent, very clean, views spectacular, bar staff very polite even though customers were comment about the over priced drinks e.g £1.65 for a fruit shoot

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stewie79, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this review

I'm so glad that you liked everything about our business but the price of drinks, this is an area that is out of my control being a brewery owned business, but I have fed your comments back. We are very well priced on cask ales and certain wines and are competitive in many other areas but I am aware in... More 

Travelers who viewed The Huntsman Inn also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Address: Greenfield Road, Holmfirth, England
Phone Number: 01484 850205
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Holmfirth
Cuisine: English, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Greenfield Road, Holmfirth, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Holmfirth
  • Phone Number: 01484 850205

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Huntsman Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?