We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn on the Lake

Ockford Road, Godalming GU7 1RH, England
+44 (0)1483 419997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 53 Restaurants in Godalming
Price range: $57 - $57
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    59
    36
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

I went to the Inn on the Lake with family and my young son so we got there early at 5pm - we were seated by 5.15 but despite ordering fairly quickly, our food didn't arrive until gone 6pm. The maitre'd who seated us was brilliant but after that our waitress service was pretty poor and only got better when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

Our table was booked for 5pm for a family meal for 4 adults and 1 child. My husband and I arrived first. Being unfamiliar with the place, we did not know where to wait for the others and were given no help. People at the bar ignored us. No-one asked if we wanted a drink while we waited.There was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

Coming back from Goodwood, where we had a fab day out with friends, we said, where do we go for dinner? Godalming was one of the places before we would split and go home. Done...anybody knows the Inn on the lake ? Yeh...so we ended up there after an eventful day. It was Friday evening and we still got a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Popped in for a Birthday lunch with my wife. Sat down outside in the sun and I went to the (empty but some distance away) bar to get us a drink and some menus. The bar lady was very rude and simply said: "I can't serve you without a table number" - I described in some detail the location of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dominic B, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Richard C, I am very intrigued as to who you were dealt with on this occassion as what has happened to you is definitely not the level of service that we offer at The Inn On The Lake. We pride ourselves in giving friendly and efficient service so i am deply saddened that this has happened. Please conatct... More

Swaffham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This establishment has developed over the years to become a very slick and attractive venue for family meals. The 'roasts' are a star feature - not cheap but worth the slightly premium prices. Seemingly always very busy and popular, there is a range of table options and menu options. Attentive, friendly, staff offer a good style of service. A decent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic B, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Ian P, It is so refreshing to see a nice review, especially from a senior contributor like yourself who understands the nature of the business. Like you said, our roasts are one of our many main attractions and it would be hard to find somewhere around the area with the same quality. Thank you once again Kind regards... More

Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My birthday celebration lunch was not a good experience here at all. Trying to get served in the restaurant took ages, ordered second round of drinks and these had to be requested twice before they turned up. The first course arrived after a short while but the main course took forever to arrive at our table and again we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dominic B, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Rosemary280, I am sorry to hear that you have had a dissapointing experience on your Birthday Meal. We have taken all your comments on board and will be acting on them so we can improve our guests experience so that this doean't happen again. If you would like to discuss further then please call the pub directly so... More

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Where to start? Bar staff could not operate till, told it was fully booked in the restaurant but there were empty tables when we arrived and the same when we left after last food orders. Main courses took ages to arrive and were very poor - pasta over cooked, terrible steak with apparently twice cooked chips that were just soggy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dominic B, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Good Afternoon lawsi, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. As it is clear that you have been disappointed in your recent visit to us, i would like to discuss in more detail with you if possible about what has happened as we are going through a lot of staff changes at the moment so more training... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Went her on a lovely Thursday evening we never go out during the week but fancied treating ourselves by having a night of the gym and cooking. When we arrived the pub was heaving. A little apprehensive we still decided to stay and eat. All the back benches were pretty much full so we thought we were lucky when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic B, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Natasha M, I hope all is well and thank you for taking your time to review The Inn On The Lake. I am very disappointed to hear that you have been "Forgotten" as it should never happen, regardless of how busy we are. If you want to discuss this further then please give us a call so that... More

Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We met friends at this pub. As we walked in we were very excited at the prospect of a lovely shared meal. The venue and restaurant both looked lovely. I went to the bar to order an Americano for myself and a DECAFF for my fiancée. The lovely waitress proceeded to make them and although I had to take a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic B, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Good Afternoon robiwatts, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor as every piece of feedback is vital for us to grow and become a success. I am sorry to hear about your last experince and all your comments have been taken into consideration and will be addressed so in the future this doesn't happen again. Kind regards Dom... More

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Visited first time today for a gathering after funeral for dear friend. Bar - sherry - not sure we do that? Eventually found some in the fridge. First served in a brandy glass then in a whisky glass. The food was booked as an afternoon tea menu. We had sausage rolls sandwiches (think some of them were actually sandwich spread... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic B, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Camille J, I hope all is well and thank you for your recent feedback with regards to a function you attended here at The Inn On The Lake. We have now simplified our buffet choices so that this mistake doesn't happen again in the future and with regards to your sit down meal, i have spoken to those... More

Travelers who viewed Inn on the Lake also viewed

 

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing