We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cross Inn

Church Rd., Llanblethian, Cowbridge, Wales
01446-772995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 35 restaurants in Cowbridge
Cuisines: European, Continental
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    35
    13
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

lovely pub food and good house wine.friendly staff that made you more then welcome..good menu and good value.nice dinning room.and sun garden.we will be calling again soon...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very friendly and welcoming. Just across from the vineyard so handy for a walk out at night. Really nice people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a birthday meal. It was such a lovely place. It's hard to find traditional, home cooked food, and this place definitely does that! The service was brilliant and the food was outstanding. We will all definitely make this our regular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We called here recently and were greeted as if we were regular. Beer very good and pipes had only just been cleaned. We were only people eating in dining room but the meal was wonderful, especially the fish which was to die for!. Will certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Came here for a meal on a date, and found the restuarant area to be very intimate and charming. Lots of food options available, with a very appealing specials board! We both went for the Duck dish and thoroughly enjoyed this special. The dessert was unremarkable, but that didn't take away from the meal, the lovely decor of the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I haven't been to the cross in over 7yrs, since I vowed never to return after a very unpleasant experience. I went out lastnight with friends and unbeknown to me they'd booked the cross for our monthly get together. What a transformation! Nicely furnished, clean, friendly staff and great food. We chose to eat in the bar as the resturant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We visited the cross Inn on Sunday the 19th March. I booked well in advance for my Fathers birthday. After reading their resent reviews I nearly cancelled, until a friend reassured me they'd had a great meal the week before. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown to our table. We all choose the 2 course set menu for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pontyclun
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I chose The Cross Inn for my husband's birthday surprise meal as most of the reviews appeared favorable. What a disappointment!! I booked a table for 15 people on 9th February this year and after asking for the re-figuration of the tables to allow us to sit together my sons had to do this themselves... We eventually sat at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hedley_10, Owner at Cross Inn, responded to this review

We gave the entire lower level of the restaurant over to your group of 15 to provide a pleasant private party area. Unfortunately you decided to reconfigure the tables that made it difficult to serve, however we checked it for safety of service and accommodated the lay-out. It’s important to note service time was impaired with this delay during the... More

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Recommended by a relative so was looking forward to Sunday lunch on a wet and windy day. It was freezing cold in the restaurant, we kept our coats on through the starter. The table and cutlery were covered in soot, which the waitress explained was caused by the wind blowing down the fire the previous night. This was understandable but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had meal on Sat 25th January after reading reviews online. When we arrived I felt that I just wanted to change my mind about eating there as the place was no different to when I went 15 years ago. Apart from the coal fire the décor was depressing and the carpet was horrifying. My boyfriend asked for garden peas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Cross Inn also viewed

Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing