We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tudor Rose

Certificate of Excellence
$$
English, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
29/31 High Street | Upnor, Rochester ME2 4XG, England
+44 1634 714175
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Set in a old fishing village a hidden gem down a lovely cobbled street,a...
Set in a old fishing village a hidden gem down a lovely cobbled street,a little bit of Cornwall in the Medway towns backing on to the historic Upnor castle. Now open all day and serving food from 12 to 3 and 6 to 9 Monday to Saturday and Sunday 12 to 4, please phone to book to avoid disappointment.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 116 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 66
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great locals

Many thanks to all the quizzers .I have just been handed £86 from the guvnor Mark for Ruby Young a little girl with stage 4 cancer . You always feel welcome at the Rose !

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 16, 2015
Kedidi2
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

Arrived early for Sunday lunch on 28th June 2015 with my partner. Was looking forward to a relaxing meal in what looked like a very interesting, historic and atmospheric pub. Was told in mono tones that they were 'fully booked for lunch" ... oh well maybe they did not want our money ! Will not be back !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark W, Owner at The Tudor Rose, responded to this review

Almost all Sundays are fully booked for lunch, we have a small kitchen and are limited to the amount of covers we can do at the standard we strive for. We advise our customers to book well in advance to avoid the type of disappointment you suffered and felt so bad you had to leave such a nasty review. More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Situated a stone's throw from The River Medway, next to Upnor Castle, the setting for this quintissentially English character pub is superb! At the end of the picturesque cobbled street of Upnor village. The pub has been sympathetically decorated in a nautical, vintage style and the garden is beautiful, with plenty of quality garden furniture. The food is average pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark W, Owner at The Tudor Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive review , we try and pitch our food offer at the upper end of "pub grub" using the best possible ingredients most of our customers feel they get very good value for money as you can see by the vast majority who have booked and eaten here. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Visited with my wife for lunch, ham and eggs for me, scampi for her fifty minute wait for food and they were not even busy, who knew it could take so long to fry a couple of eggs, if your hungry suggest you go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mark W, Owner at The Tudor Rose, responded to this review

If you have not booked the way we prepare and cook our meals you will have a minimum of 30 min wait depending on how busy our kitchen is . if you was looking for fast precooked food you should have gone to k.f.c or McDonald's. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Many thanks to all the quizzers .I have just been handed £86 from the guvnor Mark for Ruby Young a little girl with stage 4 cancer . You always feel welcome at the Rose !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

I have been to the tutor rose on three other occasions to food never disappoints me is a very nice atmosphere and the staff could not be more helpful but certainly recommend that people eat their and even if you want to just have a quiet drink and a chat with a friend it's a very pleasant atmosphere village itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Medway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

The booking for a Friday night meal for 2 was done over the telephone and was quick, easy and efficient. It is suggested that no matter when you are going that a reservation is made in advance both to ensure you get a table and that no other ‘large’ event is taking place or occurring at your chosen time. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We went last night booked a table for two as you do. It was not busy but then we did eat early evening Which suited us. Nice welcome on arrival. I know this pub from old and was so happy to see a turn around in the decor much fitting to the character of the inn. Real ales on offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I previously ate in the Tudor Rose a couple of times and enjoyed the food and were served by a friendly waitress. Unfortunately the last time we went to eat there we had a very different experience. When I walked in, I was ignored by the bar maid and so I went and sat down at one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Went there for lunch with another couple. Excellent steaks and local caught fish, prawns in the bucket, homemade puddings for reasonable prices. Add to that local beers like Whitstable Bay ale all at under £100 for 4. Right by the river and Upnor Castle,plus good srvice without being pushy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

This is a lovely little pub situated right next door to Upnor Castle. Staff were friendly and obliging. The garden is lovely and provides a sheltered eating environment. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had sandwiches in the garden. We were told that it would be a 40 minute wait but the arrived within 10. The only downside was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark W, Owner at The Tudor Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, seems the only thing we got wrong was not to overfill your baguette. More 

Travelers who viewed The Tudor Rose also viewed

 

Been to The Tudor Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Rose

Address: 29/31 High Street | Upnor, Rochester ME2 4XG, England
Phone Number: +44 1634 714175
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Rochester
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 8 - 31
Cuisine: English, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 29/31 High Street | Upnor, Rochester ME2 4XG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Rochester
  • Phone Number: +44 1634 714175

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 31
  • Cuisine: English, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Families with children

Description

Set in a old fishing village a hidden gem down a lovely cobbled street,a little bit of Cornwall in the Medway towns backing on to the historic Upnor castle. Now open all day and serving food from 12 to 3 and 6 to 9 Monday to Saturday and Sunday 12 to 4, please phone to book to avoid disappointment.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tudor Rose staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?