We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Vaults

35 High Street, Rochester ME1 1LN, England
01634 817165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 104 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Mon - Thu 9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sun 12:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Cuisines: British, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
23 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Kent
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 NEW

This visit was by way of celebration, and quirky interest. I have heard that there is a ghost, resident in the vaults of the George PH. It is, according to the local history society, the oldest building in Rochester! The meal was hot and adequate. I kie a few more vegetables on my plate, but so far as it went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hastings
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

15th Sep 2014: Good food and atmosphere BUT 1. Out door table was unstable had to be propped by the waitress. 2. waitress skills could be better. 3. After paying and leaving we found we'd been overcharged....by £8....side dish ordered did not come to the table and 3 cups of coffee we did not order or have. Complained over the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I have been to the George Vaults before. The venue is truly beautiful and unique for a special occasion. You would never even know they are there as they are situated underneath the pub. Yes it smells a little musty down there but what do you expect? It's a 14th centuary vault afterall! It was decorated beautifully and although there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeVaults, Manager at The George Vaults, responded to this review

The George Vaults team appreciates all the comments, positive or negative posted on here and we always try to exceed all our customers expectations. We are sorry to hear that you had a not so pleasant experience while dinning with us, however at all times our staff were assured that food and service was great. We do hope to see... More

Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This is my second visit here. This time I pre-booked with 3 friends and we were seated in the garden. The live band was excellent but if you dining for lunch you may want to eat inside as, as good as the band are, they were loud. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The service was above average... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Interesting place, never knew it existed until recently. Lots of bars within, but you have to visit the vaults, incredible. Outdoor section as well for summer evenings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I was surprised at how good the food was when I first tried it in the George Vaults but it's now somewhere I regularly eat. I last are here a week ago and it didn't disappoint. I had the lamb dish on the new menu (I can't remember exactly what it came with) and my partner had the steak. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

New menu, with some brilliant additions, had a lovely noodle and beef dish, beef melted in my mouth. coupled with a great atmosphere and quality drinks, need I say more....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Pop in a few pints at the end of a busy work week every now and then. Friendly staff, great atmosphere! Nice comfortable outside seating area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rochester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We went into George vaults for coffee with friends only to be told that they don't serve coffee after 5.00pm, this has happened to us anywhere else before. We'll never go back there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were going to have a birthday celebration in the vaults as it's certainly quirky. However, we cancelled our booking as we thought it would be a bit cramped and uncomfortable for our guests. It also has an overwhelming musty smell as there isn't much fresh air getting down in those vaults. The toilets were well worn too and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The George Vaults also viewed

 

Been to The George Vaults? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Vaults, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing