We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Matlock Bath Restaurants

The Fishpond Freehouse

204 South Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NR, England
01629 581529
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Hours:
Sun - Thu 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 9:00 am - 1:00 am
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Fishpond Matlock Bath is back and now represents the ultimate free house experience for the people and visitors of Matlock Bath. Offering an unsurpassed range of traditional beers, continental lagers, fine wines, spirits and soft drinks, the newly refurbished bar is a great place to meet with friends or family. By working with our local breweries we hope to provide our customers with a more sophisticated selection at the bar. Guests of our establishment are not only offered a dynamic place to gather and mingle, but also a place to participate in the entertainment through interactive events, celebrations, and live music. Our new Artisan bakery will provide our menus with the finest breads, pastries and pizza - all served in our casual dining ambiance. The philosophy of food at the fishpond is to ethically source seasonal fresh produce to deliver an unrivalled taste experience. Our Espresso coffee and Teas selection sourced from local Roasters is available throughout service along with menus that reflect the time of day. For those wanting a spot of live music Over the years The Fishpond name has become synonymous with Live Music, our 200 capacity Ballroom regularly hosts live bands and entertainment and has seen the likes of Ian Dury, Thin Lizzy take the stage. As a focal point for local and touring music please check our gig guides to find out what's coming up as we look to reinstate the reputation of this once great music venue. And we are also proud to introduce our Raft Restaurant... Raft restaurant floats neatly on The Fishpond at Matlock Bath and retains many of the historic buildings original features. We aim to take our food to another level; offering a unique dining experience from solid oak tables complete with fish detail to the warming log burners that frame the room. The style of food on offer is contemporary British with a European twist and the menus will showcase the best local produce from reputable suppliers. Our menu will also follow the seasons to ensure ingredients are at their finest when used. We take pride in the reputation we have as a friendly, welcoming and professional venue, and hope to see you soon at The Fishpond!
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

On our weekend away in Matlock Bath we ate at the Fishpond on the Saturday night. Having called in on the Friday night to book a table we were slightly disappointed that there were no tables available in the Raft restaurant. That disappointment disappeared when our food arrived. Everything was cooked to perfection, well presented, reasonably priced and with excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We came here for a meal after a busy day out in Matlock Bath. The food was delicious and the childrens meals were very good sized portions. It was halloween when we visited and the pub and restaurant was beautifully decorated for the occasion, even the staff were dressed up too. The staff were very friendly and gave sweets to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Had a table upstairs which was nice & quite. A really great meal with home made bread, which was also on offer to buy, so took some home. Friendly staff very polite & helpful as my son & daughter in law vegetarian. The main bar was nice & looks to have a range of live music during the week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Upminster
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Situated opposite the museum of mining, this recently redeveloped free house and its Raft's restaurant offer a great selection of real ales, log fires and good food. I would imagine it's very much the heart of the local community.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Matlock Bath can have a reputation of being over the top with its tourism and that it really only offers fish and chips and amusement arcades but there arexsome hidden gems. After a recent visit, The Fishpond is clearly on my list places to go again. The upstairs restaurant has recently been refurbished and is comfortable and pleasant. Staff go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian G, General Manager at The Fishpond Freehouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of the Fishpond, I was delighted to read your comments. I do hope that we welcome you back soon. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

My wife and I popped in yesterday for a meal and was very impressed with the food and service. Staff could not do to much for use and the food was all home cooked including the bread which they also sell so we took one home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ian G, Manager at The Fishpond Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your glowing review of your meal with us in the bar!! Its really nice of you to take the time to praise the efforts of my team and will pass this on to them. I hope you enjoyed your bread when you got it home! I look forward to welcoming... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Presentation was excellent however the food wasn't particular exciting (however portions are large!). Around £10/head is pretty decent. Dining area was very spacious. Overall an okay experience, probably wouldn't return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian G, Manager at The Fishpond Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your bar meal you had at the Fishpond. I was disappointed to see that our offering was not to your taste, but we do pride ourselves on freshly home produced food and was pleased to see that you thought we offered value for money...and with regard to... More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We initially tried this pub for a drink, but decided to stay for a meal when we saw others eating. The décor is frankly weird, with a huge mixture of styles in one room, and it lacks atmosphere, despite the little oil lamps on the tables. The dining end is better, and our food was good and plentiful, well priced.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian G, General Manager at The Fishpond Freehouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I have recently taken over as General Manager here and would agree with you that there are some aspects of the decor which are a little disjointed. Over the next few weeks, we are undertaking a re-decoration of our bar area to have a more generic style through... More 

Horncastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We booked in here for a meal,as we were staying in Matlock Bath ready for a wedding the next day. Well what can I say, we were very pleasantly surprised. The restaurant, called The Raft, was beautifully decorated, & had a lovely ambience. Great menu, & the food was excellent, we decided to share the couple of cheese boards for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian G, General Manager at The Fishpond Freehouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, I am delighted to see you enjoyed your meal. Should you be in the area again for a meal, please give us a call in advance and we can try and ensure that the cheese platter will be to your liking! More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I have used this pub several times. I have never had a bad experience. Very comfortable and nice. The staff have always been polite and helpful. It's cozy in winter and has good outdoor seating on warm days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian G, General Manager at The Fishpond Freehouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review of the Fishpond, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Fishpond Freehouse also viewed

Matlock Bath, Derbyshire
Matlock Bath, Derbyshire
 
Matlock Bath, Derbyshire
Matlock Bath, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Fishpond Freehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fishpond Freehouse

Address: 204 South Parade, Matlock Bath DE4 3NR, England
Phone Number: 01629 581529
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Matlock Bath
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday 9:00 am - 1:00 am
Average Prices: USD 0 - 25
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fishpond Freehouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?