We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mystic Tin

$
African, International
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
38 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
+27 23 614 2461
Website
Add hours for The Mystic Tin and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As the evening draws near The Mystic Tin lights up in candle light and our...
As the evening draws near The Mystic Tin lights up in candle light and our chef prepares a local, International and African cuisine with venison, curries, oxtail and beautiful vegetables.The restaurant is rustic, yet stylish with a warm ambience, local artwork, soft background instrumental music and a fireplace for the cooler evenings.The bar offers coffee, local wines, beers as well as other drinks. Opening hours:5 pm till late, Sundays closed.Fully licensed. Credit Card facilities available.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 157 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 80
    Excellent
  • 46
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Excellent chicken roulade and chicken curry

Fantastic meal here. Food was yummy and the service and price were excellent. Rustic, traditional feel to it.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 19, 2015
JFlowerStAlbans
,
St Albans
Add Photo

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 NEW

We arrived early and the owner had forgotten to put our reservation in the book, we then had to sit outside, which was fine. Waitress lacked knowledge of menu. Food was OK but average, dessert not as described and poor. Top money for very average food. Owner was adamant that we were wrong about the reservation, we then showed her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Drummond Hillcrest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

On a trip from Durban racing in Ashton but no can do. Very bulshy lady said she cannot help us....what a joy.......

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Hi Sandy l l, I am at a loss as to what you are trying to convey here. On weekends such as the one of your visit, the town of Montagu and of course it's restaurants are booked to capacity. When a large party appears at the door without a reservation, and there are no tables available, one is forced... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Small restaurant with lots of atmosphere with excellent food and service. You get the feeling that each plate of food is prepared with individual attention to detail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Hi Gerda V, thank you kindly for your review. As you rightly point out, we are a small restaurant and attention to detail on each plate is crucial to us. We are happy that you enjoyed your evening with us. More 

Stevenage, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

Whilst staying in Montagu at Koo Karoo Guest House we ate here 3 times and were never disappointed. The atmosphere is friendly and the service excellent - especially from the ever smiling Jolene. The food was good quality and the after eating three different dishes our favourite was the venison steak. All the food and wine was well priced. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Dear JandB39, We are happy to have been of service to you 3 nights in a row and look forward to a return visit! We are indeed blessed to have Jolene and her smile as part of our team here at The Mystic Tin. Thank you for your kind review! More 

St Albans
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Fantastic meal here. Food was yummy and the service and price were excellent. Rustic, traditional feel to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Hi JFlowerStAlbans, thanks for taking time out to write a review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us! More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Very accommodating even though they appeared to be fully booked on arrival, they managed to find us a table to eat at

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Dear stephensue2015, thank you for your review! We are happy we could accommodate you, and that you enjoyed your visit with us. More 

Nantwich, Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Unfortunately we arrived to stay the night in Montagu just as a power cut plunged the whole area (not just the town) into darkness, but we are adventurous, and we ventured into the town to have dinner at the Mystic Tin restaurant, which we had already booked. Not knowing if the place would even be open in the spookily dark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Hi PoppySue F, thanks so much for your wonderful review! The power outages are indeed frustrating for us all, however we will always make the best of a bad situation. We are happy to have been of service to you and hope to see you again soon! More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We took a wander around Montagu and choose the Mystic Tin as less formal than the Five oaks and a bit cosier than the Old Tavern. We weren't disappointed. Friendly service, good food - it hit the spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Thank you WanderHopefully for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that what we offer "hit the spot"! More 

Edinburgh
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This is a nice restaurant in Montagu and we had a good meal here with good service. I would recommend it but probably better to book

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Thanks for your review if our restaurant. We are happy you enjoyed your meal with us! Have great stay in our beautiful country. More 

Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I say that this place is terrible but in truth it might not be......BUT.....having view the premises from afar it looked like an interesting prospect with well described dishes which appealed . WE were advised that in light of no reservation we would have to be patient and that the only seats would be outside. OK we could live with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Sir, you arrived as stated without reservation and were indeed informed that you would have a considerable wait - true. You arrived around 8pm and left at around 9pm, which totals around one hour. You stood in the bar using foul language and you were intimidating towards our waitress, who sat shaking for a good while after you left. The... More 

Travelers who viewed The Mystic Tin also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to The Mystic Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 38 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Montagu
  • Phone Number: +27 23 614 2461

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 11
  • Cuisine: African, International

Description

As the evening draws near The Mystic Tin lights up in candle light and our chef prepares a local, International and African cuisine with venison, curries, oxtail and beautiful vegetables.The restaurant is rustic, yet stylish with a warm ambience, local artwork, soft background instrumental music and a fireplace for the cooler evenings.The bar offers coffee, local wines, beers as well as other drinks. Opening hours:5 pm till late, Sundays closed.Fully licensed. Credit Card facilities available.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Mystic Tin and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Mystic Tin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?