We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Montagu Restaurants

The Mystic Tin

38 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
+27 23 614 2461
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: As the evening draws near The Mystic Tin lights up in candle light and our chef prepares a local, Indian and north African cuisine with fillets, curries, pizza and beautiful vegetables.The restaurant is rustic, yet stylish with a warm ambience, local artwork, Cuban, French, Brazilian and jazz music and a fireplace for the cooler evenings.The bar offers coffee, local wines, beers as well as other drinksOpening hours:5 pm till late, Tuesdays closed.Fully licensed.No card facilities. Microbrewery and Beergarden
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    35
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We ended up there after a long day on the road on a Saturday evening when Montagu seems totally dead. We didn't expect to much from this place but when going there it was a big surprise. The stuff is absolutely friendly, the atmosphere of this place was quit and authentic (one can watching the two ladies in the kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Dear Bueschel, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! The ladies in the kitchen do enjoy what they do and have great fun while preparing for our guests. We are really happy to have such wonderful staff, it is a joy to work with them. We wish you happiness and hope to see you again... More 

Simon's Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We chose the chilli popper starter with Karoo lamb curry and oxtail mains. Everything was fresh, delicious and cooked to just the right point for us. Portions were very generous (sadly leaving no space for desserts). Ambience is pleasantly quiet and service friendly with host, James, suitably attentive. A very enjoyable, quality meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review TomRobBrown! We take special care to ensure that all our meals are prepared with the freshest ingredients, and the best ingredient of course is the love for what we do! We look forward to a return visit when next you are in our beautiful town! More 

Brussels
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The restaurant we had been referred to was busy so we went here - and were very glad we did. I don't think we could have had better. Yes my partner was disappointed the brewery was not yet open (soon we were told) and yes the place could use some modernisation/cosmetic touches but the food is EXCELLENT. As mentioned elsewhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Dear MB100xlls, thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We are happy you had a great experience with us! Our Lamb curry is very popular with our guests and we are proud of our chef for cooking such great food. I am sure that should you return in the not too distant future, you will be able... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We visited the Mystic Tin for dinner on a Friday night. The brewery is not up and running at the moment due to licensing red tape I believe, but we stayed for a meal and it was lovely! We were expecting just standard pub favourites but the food here surpassed our expectations. We had the Ostrich Bobotie and the spiced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Dear Ollie-and-Jess, thanks for taking the time to write such a fabulous review! We have a truly great Chef in our kitchen, and our front-of-house staff are a credit to their chosen profession indeed. We are blessed for sure. More 

Durban, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Lovely garden setting off the main road. Excellent service. Freshly prepared lunches and a good selection of deserts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Thanks FULVIO182 for your great review! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for an early dinner in Montagu.. Popped in to The Mystic Tin. Very pleasantly surprised. Delicious meal. Butternut & Ginger soup yummy yum yum. Pricey but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Hi BobbyBool, thanks for taking the time to write your great review! We at Mystic Tin are always happy to be of service and to provide our guests with the very best. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Cape Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Small, cosy, intimate restaurant in Montagu with good food and good service. Manager and staff very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Hi Ettienne_K2013, thank you for your great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and would love to see you back again soon. More 

Humansdorp, South Africa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

It was a cold evening when we had our meal here,but the owner quickly had a nice fire going.The wait staff was not very pleasant..nothing I said could get her to crack a smile.. and when the food came the order was not correct where upon and altercation ensued between the kitchen staff and waitress...eventually the right order came..My oxtail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Hi Tokkelosh, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of your underwhelming experience. Our oxtail dish has been a great success and all but you have been overwhelmed by the flavour and tenderness of the meat. The salmon roulade is in fact salmon rolled with spinach and cream cheese, not cottage cheese, and is a popular starter... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Really disappointed, ridiculously over priced. Portions of rice bigger than the actual meal. Desserts clearly get microwaved, as they where ice cold in the middle and piping hot on the outside, also as a none drinker I was disappointed at the amount of alcohol in the sticky toffee pudding, which is not mentioned on the menu. To cramped as you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Dear Kat2202, thank you for taking time to write a review. I have to disagree with you on the price issue as well as what you say about alcohol not being mentioned on the menu as regards the sticky toffee pudding. The menu clearly states that it is "drizzled with a brandy syrup". Our pricing structure is built around local... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Lovely meal with the Oxtail and Curries a must try. Good wine selection from the Robertson wine valley and beyond with great friendly service to boot. Will definitely be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Thanks MikeS for your great review! Our oxtail and curries are indeed our top movers, and we are happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Our wine selection is mostly local as we are spoilt for choice with all the wonderful wineries in our valley. We look forward to hosting you again soon! More 

Travelers who viewed The Mystic Tin also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to The Mystic Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mystic Tin

Address: 38 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 23 614 2461
Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Montagu
Average Prices: USD 6 - 11
Cuisine: African, International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mystic Tin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?