We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mystic Tin

Certificate of Excellence
$
African, International
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
38 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
+27 23 614 2461
Website
Add hours for The Mystic Tin and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: As the evening draws near The Mystic Tin lights up in candle light and our...
As the evening draws near The Mystic Tin lights up in candle light and our chef prepares a local, International and African cuisine with venison, curries, oxtail and beautiful vegetables.The restaurant is rustic, yet stylish with a warm ambience, local artwork, soft background instrumental music and a fireplace for the cooler evenings.The bar offers coffee, local wines, beers as well as other drinks. Opening hours:5 pm till late, Sundays closed.Fully licensed. Credit Card facilities available.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 149 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 76
    Excellent
  • 44
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Pleasant evening

We took a wander around Montagu and choose the Mystic Tin as less formal than the Five oaks and a bit cosier than the Old Tavern. We weren't disappointed. Friendly service, good food - it hit the spot.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 29, 2015
WanderHopefully
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW

We took a wander around Montagu and choose the Mystic Tin as less formal than the Five oaks and a bit cosier than the Old Tavern. We weren't disappointed. Friendly service, good food - it hit the spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This is a nice restaurant in Montagu and we had a good meal here with good service. I would recommend it but probably better to book

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Thanks for your review if our restaurant. We are happy you enjoyed your meal with us! Have great stay in our beautiful country. More 

Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I say that this place is terrible but in truth it might not be......BUT.....having view the premises from afar it looked like an interesting prospect with well described dishes which appealed . WE were advised that in light of no reservation we would have to be patient and that the only seats would be outside. OK we could live with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Sir, you arrived as stated without reservation and were indeed informed that you would have a considerable wait - true. You arrived around 8pm and left at around 9pm, which totals around one hour. You stood in the bar using foul language and you were intimidating towards our waitress, who sat shaking for a good while after you left. The... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Having looked at the menus of many recommended restaurants in Montagu, only the Mystic Tin offered us something different. My wife and I love venison and we were all set to have the springbok bobottie until we smelt the wonderful aroma of the lamb curry. We both had the curry which was as good as it smelt, and I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Hi Maggi S, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! It was great to see you in our restaurant so often. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our cuisine and hope to see you next time you are visiting our beautiful town. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We have eaten at the Mystic Tin several times in the past mostly,I have to admit. before the new owners took over although we did eat there once under their ownership. The food was always superb until last night. The smoked salmon trout starter was very good but I ordered the stuffed chicken breast main course as I have done... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Hi Susan H, we are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience on your last visit. I have no idea what reformed chicken might be as our chicken comes straight from the bird and is used as is without any reformation, other than filling and cooking it. I am glad to hear that your complaint was dealt with... More 

henham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This was our last day in montagu and had been disappointed by two other restaurants so we were a bit pessimistic,please to say ,as per the title both the food and service were good

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Thank you ianHenham for your review, we are happy to hear that we did not disappoint you! We continue to strive for excellence and look to improve in all aspects of our restaurant. More 

Villeneuve-sur-Lot, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Convenient location, quiet and intimate serving local produce including game at a reasonable price. Very good friendly service

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Thank you andrewcameron47 for taking time to write your review! We are proud of our eclectic menu , representing dishes from far and wide. Please visit us again soon! More 

South of England
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

..... a mimosa 2014 Sauvignon Blanc I cannot recall when I last gave a terrible review as I always strive to be fair and find something in the restaurants favour and Maybe it's unfair to review a restaurant on Valentine's Day. However, we did go on Valentine's Day. We were given half a glass of sweet pink sparkling wine when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Dear Southofenglandfoodie, I thank you for your review. I do find it odd though, that on the night in question, when I approached all our guests individually, that all to a man said they had a great evening and enjoyed their meal. The prawns were poached in coconut milk, not served in it as you suggest. The accompaniment was a... More 

Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We were staying next door to the restaurant and on the recommendation of the owner we went for our evening meal. We both had Bunny Chow, a South African food dish consisting of a half bread loaf filled with chicken meat curry. It was really nice and the hostess was very attentive and friendly. We also had a bottle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Thanks Bry111 for your kind review! we are happy to hear your evening wit us was a memorable one. More 

London
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

This restaurant was booked for us and we were not disappointed. An assortment of what the Cape has to offer, beautifully cooked and presented. Recommend the Kudu cappachio, but all was very yummy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jrmulligan, Owner at The Mystic Tin, responded to this review

Dear seedoubleu, thanks for your great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your evening with us at The Mystic Tin. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Travelers who viewed The Mystic Tin also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to The Mystic Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 38 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Montagu
  • Phone Number: +27 23 614 2461

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 11
  • Cuisine: African, International

Description

As the evening draws near The Mystic Tin lights up in candle light and our chef prepares a local, International and African cuisine with venison, curries, oxtail and beautiful vegetables.The restaurant is rustic, yet stylish with a warm ambience, local artwork, soft background instrumental music and a fireplace for the cooler evenings.The bar offers coffee, local wines, beers as well as other drinks. Opening hours:5 pm till late, Sundays closed.Fully licensed. Credit Card facilities available.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Mystic Tin and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Mystic Tin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?