We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vine Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Vine Lane | Upper Clent, Stourbridge DY9 9PH, England
+44 1562 882491
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: A Traditional English Country Inn & Restaurant... The Vine Inn is nestled...
A Traditional English Country Inn & Restaurant... The Vine Inn is nestled in the heart of the beautiful Clent Hills. A warm welcome awaits for all those who wish to visit a traditional English country pub that offers high quality dining in a relaxed environment. Our first class menu has been selected to offer a discerning mixture of traditional pub favourites and to specialise in fresh fish and game - our fish dishes constantly change on our specials board while our game pie and organic venison steaks (done in a variety of ways) are popular trademark dishes. The Vine Inn was first registered as the "Clatterback Water Mill" and what was once the old mill pond is now the garden with a decking area built near to where the water wheel was housed. It was first used as an inn offering home brewed beer, bed and stabling in 1836.
read more
Good for:
Romance

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 129 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 64
    Excellent
  • 42
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Late Sunday Lunch

Telephoned at short notice on Sunday and got a table for 2 at 5. Arrived early and enjoyed a very pleasant drink at the bar until our table was ready. Very friendly service and a delightful late Sunday lunch. Will definitely be back.

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 23, 2015
ian867
,
Daventry, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Telephoned at short notice on Sunday and got a table for 2 at 5. Arrived early and enjoyed a very pleasant drink at the bar until our table was ready. Very friendly service and a delightful late Sunday lunch. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Lovely little pub, very quiet, polite and helpful staff, excellent food, good variety, value for money, would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

We visited for dinner having read the reviews. We were a little disappointed. We found the fare to be very average. My game pie lacked variety of game and I felt it was poorly seasoned. Similar comments could be made about the other dishes we ate. It was just not as good as many similar restaurants in the area. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Visited this afternoon for a late Sunday lunch and we were very impressed by the food. We'd been in here a few times previously for a drink after a walk in the Clent hills but today was the first time for food. We will definitely be coming back! The venison antipasti was lovely and was shared between the three of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We went for Saturday lunch, our first visit but it wont be our last. Great menu, I believe they change the menu each month which s excellent. Attentive service but above all we loved the cosy quaint surroundings and left with full bellies and feeling very satisfied and relaxed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I have been a regular diner at the vine since discovering it whilst out walking with colleagues and even used it as a location for the first date with my now fiancee. I booked a table for four adults, for Sunday lunch, but was concerned our 9 week old son might be an inconvenience for the staff, however it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, they are much appreciated. It's always nice to hear of new romance blossoming at the Vine, the pub has long been associated with newly courting couples getting away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We hope to see you and your family again soon, best regards, the Vine staff and management. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Me and my friend have been here on several occasions and I have got to say it is the best country pub I have ever been to. The food is first class, high qualify pub food and every time I have been the food has been absolutely delicious, so hats off to the chef!! Especially the Beef roast dinner which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy new year! More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

I called to book and the gentleman who answered was friendly and helpful. As a family group of 8 plus a small dog we reserved a table in the bar area. The menu was good with a good select of specials. The service was slow (not sure if that was because it was bar area?). The staff were all very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Have been many times and food is usually wonderful but unfortunately today srvice was terrible food very poor and diningcarea very cold had too put my coat on too eat waited 40mins for starter all in all very bad experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you felt you had such a poor experience. However I am also very sorry that you haven't shown any fairness in your review. Foremost, for someone who has dined with us on fairly regular occasion and (as you put yourself) have found the food 'wonderful' previously, it is a shame that the first review you... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

We popped in on the way home late one night and had a great tasting couple of meals although the kitchen was just closing and we were the only ones in there. The waiters/bar staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was just what we were hoping for. No gastro dishes just well cooked tasty food that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Vine Inn also viewed

Clent, Worcestershire
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to The Vine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Vine Lane | Upper Clent, Stourbridge DY9 9PH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Stourbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1562 882491

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 28
  • Cuisine: English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance

Description

A Traditional English Country Inn & Restaurant... The Vine Inn is nestled in the heart of the beautiful Clent Hills. A warm welcome awaits for all those who wish to visit a traditional English country pub that offers high quality dining in a relaxed environment. Our first class menu has been selected to offer a discerning mixture of traditional pub favourites and to specialise in fresh fish and game - our fish dishes constantly change on our specials board while our game pie and organic venison steaks (done in a variety of ways) are popular trademark dishes. The Vine Inn was first registered as the "Clatterback Water Mill" and what was once the old mill pond is now the garden with a decking area built near to where the water wheel was housed. It was first used as an inn offering home brewed beer, bed and stabling in 1836.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Vine Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Clent, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Vine Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?