We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vine Lane | Upper Clent, Stourbridge DY9 9PH, England
+44 1562 882491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 111 Restaurants in Stourbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $27
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: A Traditional English Country Inn & Restaurant... The Vine Inn is nestled in the heart of the beautiful Clent Hills. A warm welcome awaits for all those who wish to visit a traditional English country pub that offers high quality dining in a relaxed environment. Our first class menu has been selected to offer a discerning mixture of traditional pub favourites and to specialise in fresh fish and game - our fish dishes constantly change on our specials board while our game pie and organic venison steaks (done in a variety of ways) are popular trademark dishes. The Vine Inn was first registered as the "Clatterback Water Mill" and what was once the old mill pond is now the garden with a decking area built near to where the water wheel was housed. It was first used as an inn offering home brewed beer, bed and stabling in 1836.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

Visited this afternoon for a late Sunday lunch and we were very impressed by the food. We'd been in here a few times previously for a drink after a walk in the Clent hills but today was the first time for food. We will definitely be coming back! The venison antipasti was lovely and was shared between the three of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We went for Saturday lunch, our first visit but it wont be our last. Great menu, I believe they change the menu each month which s excellent. Attentive service but above all we loved the cosy quaint surroundings and left with full bellies and feeling very satisfied and relaxed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I have been a regular diner at the vine since discovering it whilst out walking with colleagues and even used it as a location for the first date with my now fiancee. I booked a table for four adults, for Sunday lunch, but was concerned our 9 week old son might be an inconvenience for the staff, however it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, they are much appreciated. It's always nice to hear of new romance blossoming at the Vine, the pub has long been associated with newly courting couples getting away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We hope to see you and your family again soon, best regards, the Vine staff and management. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

Me and my friend have been here on several occasions and I have got to say it is the best country pub I have ever been to. The food is first class, high qualify pub food and every time I have been the food has been absolutely delicious, so hats off to the chef!! Especially the Beef roast dinner which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy new year! More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

I called to book and the gentleman who answered was friendly and helpful. As a family group of 8 plus a small dog we reserved a table in the bar area. The menu was good with a good select of specials. The service was slow (not sure if that was because it was bar area?). The staff were all very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Have been many times and food is usually wonderful but unfortunately today srvice was terrible food very poor and diningcarea very cold had too put my coat on too eat waited 40mins for starter all in all very bad experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you felt you had such a poor experience. However I am also very sorry that you haven't shown any fairness in your review. Foremost, for someone who has dined with us on fairly regular occasion and (as you put yourself) have found the food 'wonderful' previously, it is a shame that the first review you... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

We popped in on the way home late one night and had a great tasting couple of meals although the kitchen was just closing and we were the only ones in there. The waiters/bar staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was just what we were hoping for. No gastro dishes just well cooked tasty food that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Tradional english country pub.Log fire which was kept topped up all night.Varied menu, set price, or Al a carte. We asked if we could mix menus, no problem said our waiter. Food very good, choice plentiful. Service excellent. A rustic charm much better than the modern noisy pubs elsewhere. Pays to check if you need to book up has it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Such is the beautiful and tranquil setting of this traditional English country pub it is difficult to imagine you are little more than twenty minutes away from the urban sprawl of the Black Country. The Vine specialises in game and fish dishes however there are plenty of alternatives to choose from and on a very busy Sunday lunchtime our turkey... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon H, Manager at The Vine Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and well written review. We all wish you the best over the Christmas period and hope to see you again soon. More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

have been couple times with friends nice place great food generous potions good value we are returning nearer xmas for a Saturday lunch with our friends will let you know if it is still good all staff very friendly up for a joke good job with one our friends !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Vine Inn also viewed

Clent, Worcestershire
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to The Vine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Inn

Address: Vine Lane | Upper Clent, Stourbridge DY9 9PH, England
Phone Number: +44 1562 882491
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Stourbridge
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 13 - 27
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Vine Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Clent, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Vine Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?