We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bayside Cabin

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Stokes Bay Road | Alverstoke, Gosport, England
023-9258-1426
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 164 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 105
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
I Do Like to be Beside the Seaside

As I believe I have noted previously, the Bayside Cabin is a good venue where excellent views simply enhance good food. The regular menus (for both breakfast and lunch) offer a variety of freshly prepared food at mostly reasonable prices but, unfortunately, the place is not without small but... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
John_Oram_Eats
,
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for a short business meeting. Unfortunately ceiling had water pouring through and half cafe was closed....these things happen. It's very noisy inside and rather cramped. I sat for 5 mins before I worked out that you have to order from the counter. A pleasant smile and explanation from the dour looking waitress as I walked in would have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Goodfooddave
Jackie M, Owner at Bayside Cabin, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review of Bayside Cabin, We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience, unfortunately we do have a leak in the café and it is being investigated as we speak. As for the fact that you felt you had bad customer service I would like to look into this more as I am concerned that... More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I suppose it's because it's a busy place, but the cafe style of the interior does make for it being very echoey and noisy. There's nothing to deaden the sound. I have been visiting the area for a year now and I had tried to come here once before, but it was so busy, that I left without ordering anything.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lizald5
Jackie M, Owner at Bayside Cabin, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review of Bayside Cabin We do have a large amount of kids from the school who do come for chips and we do always ask them to wait outside once ordered but with weather yesterday we felt that was unfair. We do not offer table service in general as we find its an easier system... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As I believe I have noted previously, the Bayside Cabin is a good venue where excellent views simply enhance good food. The regular menus (for both breakfast and lunch) offer a variety of freshly prepared food at mostly reasonable prices but, unfortunately, the place is not without small but irritating flaws. The specials board offers imaginative and even exciting food... More 

Helpful?
Thank John_Oram_Eats
Jackie M, Owner at Bayside Cabin, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review of Bayside Cabin We are sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast, I was informed of your complaint the same day as you came to Bayside. We have reviewed the waffles and have decided to give 3 as a portion as we did only reduce to 2 waffles as customers feedback was that the... More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Five of us went here for a lunch. Although it was packed, we were lucky as some people were just leaving so got a table straight away. The order was taken efficiently, we received our food quickly and it was hot and tasty. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank LCT1959
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

Now this is a heaving beach side cafe, decked out as a cafe and serving food that is typical of a cafe. We met with friends there and the place was packed to the rafters, always a good sign in my experience. We decided to give the ribeye steak a try just because it is usually the steaks in many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Jackie M, Owner at Bayside Cabin, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review of Bayside Cabin We are very pleased you enjoyed your steak we source it from a local butchers so we know its fresh and good quality. Many thanks Jackie Martin More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

We visited for breakfast, following a bracing walk along the beach, and were delighted with the quality of the food and the friendly fast service. A great place to take shelter from the wind and 'recharge our batteries'! We will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy K
Gosport
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I went with a group of friends for a late breakfast .Most impressed with the service, quality and prices. Set breakfasts named after the ferries, Gosport, Isle of Wight and Titanic! but all the usual variations as well. Situated at the Western end of Stokes Bay with a large car park outside , (£1 per hour pay and display) .Just... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeslieJM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

I have visited this establishment countless times and everytime it never fails to deliver a high standard of service and quality of food. A perfect place to visit for a bit of breakfast or a spot of lunch!

Helpful?
Thank Emmasam91
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

Really good service and atmosphere. The toasted tea cakes are to die for. We visited today which was wet and windy but it was nice and warm inside.

Helpful?
Thank georgetown44
Jackie M, Owner at Bayside Cabin, responded to this review

Hi Thank you very much for your review of Bayside Cabin. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon Bayside Cabin More 

Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

I went to the bayside cabin for lunch the food was excellent it came quickly, very hot the staff are so helpful and polite they could not do enough for you. It was very busy but the staff made time for your every need. After reading some of the reviews about not helpful and customer service I have to disagree... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrea c

Travelers who viewed Bayside Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Bayside Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Stokes Bay Road | Alverstoke, Gosport, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Gosport
  • Phone Number: 023-9258-1426

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bayside Cabin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?