We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A slice of lyme

1-2 Rolle Street, Budleigh Salterton, England
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic, International, Bistro, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Most recent review
- Jul 13, 2014
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    35
    37
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were very glad we had booked a table at this charming but very small bistro/café, as although it was a Tuesday evening several would-be diners were turned away. We enjoyed a lovely meal with wine and were served very efficiently by a very busy young lady who was charming despite being rushed off her feet. A definite must if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taunton
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Quite a small cafe but enough space around the tables so you don't feel crowded. Several choices on the menu and friendly service - excellent crab salad!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Godstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A slice of Lyme is not the biggest restaurant in the area being basically 2 living rooms with 4/5 tables per room but on a warm evening it still felt cool and not at all crowded. The menu is not too long and there was a nice range of specials and was a good mixture of fresh fish and meats... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We popped in here on the off-chance on a Friday night and they were able to fit us in. A really varied choice on the menu and lots of excellent fresh fish dishes ( as you would expect). The staff were very helpful and friendly and catered to my Gluten-free, sugar-free requirements superbly - they even had diabetic ice-cream on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Myself my Mum and my partner went here for lunch on reading trip advisor and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpfully when I had questions (fussy eater!). My crab dish was divine. All the other food was fresh cooked and served well. Would recommend and will go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Rang the day before our booking on the Saturday, could only get a 6.30 table with the proviso we finished at 8pm. I had the lamb and my mom had the chicken, both with rice (fluffy) and salad, we both really enjoyed these meals. We had dessert ice cream for mom and I had the lemon meringue, these were just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The menu is laminated, and as far as I can tell hasn't changed in 3 years. And chef does like to use chilli quite a lot 9as in sweet chilli dipping sauce). Crayfish tail starter - pretty tasteless tails with too much of the aforementioned chilli sauce. And not many tails either. Mains were better - off the specials board... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
debbie t, Owner at A slice of lyme, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you feel we are not improving or evolving but I feel I must point out that very recently (this Spring)we have added 5 new dishes to our evening menu and one new starter , We also have a specials board that is frequently changed . I admit 3 of our 7 starters have sweet chilli... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We chose this place based on reviews in favour of the others in Budleigh - very disappointing based on the service and waiting time for our lunch. We waited to order and then more than 30 minutes for sandwiches - with rude and rushed service. The food was ok when it arrived but we were given vinegar instead of salad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
debbie t, Owner at A slice of lyme, responded to this review

I am sorry you were dissapointed when you visited us and not served quickly or informed that there would be a long wait for your order. I cannot comment on this particular incident as I was not made aware of any problem but am very disappointed that you feel you were rudely treated as we aim to offer a friendly... More

Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Came across this restaurant whilst on a short break in Budleigh and liked the look of the tempting dishes on the chalk board outside. Asked our B&B who said they would recommend so booked for that night - lucky to get in as it was soon full. Had a really lovely relaxing meal in this cosy atmospheric little restaurant. Freshly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
debbie t, Owner at A slice of lyme, responded to this review

Thankyou for the lovely review , we really appreciate it and and are so pleased you enjoyed your visit More

Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were recommended to eat here by our B&B in Budleigh and we were not disappointed. Tucked away off the high street and close to the beach, this place is very charming inside with friendly staff. We had delicious food and enjoyed the fish menu and good wines. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed A slice of lyme also viewed

Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Been to A slice of lyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A slice of lyme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing