We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Essence Restaurant

4769 | KENDWA BEACH, Nungwi, Tanzania
+255 773 548 388
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 restaurants in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ESSENCE IS LOCATED ON KENDWA BEACH NEXT TO KENDWA BEACH RESORT. FREE WI-FI, AND MUCH MORE.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    54
    7
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our group of 23 dined at Essence whilst on an overland tour of Africa in October. Firstly let me say that we were the only people in the restaurant apart from perhaps 2 or 3 other tables. The service we received was terrible. At one point the waiter brought out one too many drinks to our table. When we advised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

First of all let me apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit to our Essence Restaurant in October 2013. We do our best to please our guests, such as by offering to re order the meal at no extra charge or offer a discount. (upon inquiring with the Restaurant Manager you were offered both). Hope you will give us... More

Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Essence is great. The food is awesome. I ate their 4 times during my stay! I was lured in by the free wifi but went back 3 more times (with all my friends) because the service was great and food was good. Let me tell you.. Good service in Africa is hard to find. The servers just don't really seem... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great service and good quality food! I ordered the sirloin steak which was grilled to my perfection! The location is great and the restaurant has a good breeze to keep you cool throughout the evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The only edible dish is the chicken fingers in the appetizers - at least from what the four of us have ordered. I had the chicken fingers for appetizer and seafood spaghetti for main (where you had to search for the seafood but alas nowhere to be seen). My husband and our friend had caprese for starter (not a big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mungan, Thank you for your review. However on our menu we do not have Shrimp teriyaki or Chicken pasta, or spaghetti. We are not located in Nungwi, but kendwa beach. May I please have the exact name of the dishes that you ordered, so that we can take it further with our Chefs. However due to power outages and... More

Unguja, Zanzibar Urban, Tanzania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Me and my boyfriend likes to eat in essence restaurant their food is delicious.....mr Simone and staff their helpfuly and their very very kind never seen before.We promise to be back again and again..............Thank u for your realy hospitality keep it up

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Inder Tanzania,We are a group working for the super pure aqua company in Zanzibar. After some hectic days of work we decided a weekend break,as for our knowledge we found out this restaurant (essence)through trip advisor and decided to spend the weekend there,so I went a day before to speak with the restaurant chef (xavier) about our group of 13... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's quite a bit deceptive to have this place listed as Nungwi. My wife and I walked for no less than 1 hour trying to find this place along Kendwa beach before finally getting there. None of the staff or security guards have any idea where the "Essence" restaurant is so make sure to get some extra help in finding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nirvanasha, General Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you had to walk one hour, we will try and familiarize everyone around the area of Nungwi and Kendwa about our location. Your assumption is right as far as tourists are concerned, we do tend to have a lot of italian guests who frequent our establishment. However we do offer a variety of international dishes... More

Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Inside an amazing resort, just between Kendwa and Nungwi beaches, sits this great European quality restaurant. We were impressed by the Chef visiting our table as we were sited, the big sized portions and the impeccable contemporary yet local design. The service was personal and fast, the menu was diverse and the food was really good! The beef steak and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We found Essence whilst walking down the beach a few seconds from our own hotel (Gold) and decided to have lunch there. I had been craving seafood from the moment we got to Zanzibar so I chose the Lobster for my main, it was by far the BEST lobster I had ever tasted. The roasted veg added a nice touch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The food at Essence wasn't quite as delicious as I'd expected from other reviews, but the good service and beautiful setting made me like it. They were very welcoming to me on my first night when I came alone, which I appreciated, and the host recognised me on both return visits. The "lobster only" was fairly good (lobster here has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

 
Nungwi, Zanzibar
Nungwi, Zanzibar
 
Michamvi, Zanzibar

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing