We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Morimoto Waikiki

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Waikiki
Japanese, Asian fusion
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Modern Honolulu, 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Hobron)
Morimoto Waikiki is on the Red Line for the Honolulu Trolley, exit Discovery Bay. If taking TheBus, the following lines are avaiable 8, 19,20,23,24,42 and E, The Country Express.
+1 808-943-5900
Website
Today
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of...
Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of Western and Japanese ingredients to his newest restaurant, Morimoto Waikiki. With a focus on top-quality fish and fresh ingredients, everything is prepared in-house from ingredients flown in from Japan four times a week. Our seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations feature the best seafood as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Our refreshing and vibrant ambiance is the perfect backdrop for the remarkable culinary experience that is Morimoto Waikiki. Welcome.
read more
Good for:
Casual Elegant
Romance
Bar scene
Large groups
Doing business
Local cuisine
Outdoor seating
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 803 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 471
    Excellent
  • 177
    Very good
  • 80
    Average
  • 48
    Poor
  • 27
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Wonderful food and a perfect place for a date

The sushi and menu selection is amazing. It is very expensive, but worth it for a treat. From the sakitini to the beef carpaccio and there speciality sushi rolls make it one of the best sushi restaurants that I have been too. My only complaint would be that our waiter wasn't that friendly. And for... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 3, 2015
3yarddogs
Good for:
  • Casual Elegant
  • Romance
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Outdoor seating
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

The sushi and menu selection is amazing. It is very expensive, but worth it for a treat. From the sakitini to the beef carpaccio and there speciality sushi rolls make it one of the best sushi restaurants that I have been too. My only complaint would be that our waiter wasn't that friendly. And for that amount of money it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

The food is divine and the fact that the President and first lady were there just added to the experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

I had tried nigiri sushi and I was Inpressed as to how many kinds of selection they had. They had three different fat cuts ranging from 6$ a piece to 12$ a piece. All were exceptionally fresh and all tasted good. I personally liked the medium fat Maguro! A piece of heaven in your mouth! I also tried the filet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

We have heard rave reviews about this restaurant, and as we were staying at The Modern, decided to try it for dinner on our last night. Boy, am I glad we did! The three of us shared a variety of dishes, all absolutely amazing. Will definitely come back here next time we are in Honolulu!

Was this review helpful? Yes
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review

I'm really glad you were able to try us out during your stay at the Modern! It's great to hear that people for all over the world are getting to enjoy Chef Morimoto's creation. Can't wait to see you again! All the best, Chad, General Manager More 

Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

Everything was beyond our expectations. We had the tasting menu and consider it one of the finest dining experience we have ever had. Our waiter was perfect in every way. A truely talented server who knew exactly when to interupt and or explain the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review

I'm thrilled that your first experience with us surpassed your expectations! The tasting menu was an excellent choice for familiarizing yourselves with Chef Morimoto's tastes. We'll be sure to pass on the compliments to our staff! Hope you had a fantastic visit to Hawaii! Best, Chad, General Manager More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Bad service! Restaurant was half empty yet they made us wait 20 minutes for a table. Half of the entrees were not available. Tasting menu was a rip off, just did not get it. This restaurant is over hyped and over priced. McDonalds is a better choice than Morimoto.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review

I'm really sorry to hear this, Tania! The last thing we want is for someone to feel they were ripped off. I'm sorry about the wait for your table. However, I should explain that we seat our guests according to their reservations. Even if the restaurant appears empty, we can't sit our guests at just any table, as it's been... More 

Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Very cool to sit at the Sushi bar. We just asked the chef to make up whatever he felt like, and it was amazing. the dishes kept coming until we said stop...(so did the Saki). The tuna carpaccio is a absolute must! I've been to a couple of his restaurants, and never been let down!

Was this review helpful? Yes
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you could vibe with our sushi bar! Glad you loved the tuna carpaccio! Hope we get to see you again soon! Cheers! Chad, General Manager More 

Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

The layout of this restaurant felt quite odd, though I can't put my finger on why. But what it lacked in atmosphere, it certainly made up for in the incredible food. From the eel roll, to the sashimi, to the seafood entree, to the beef carpaccio to the [fantastic deal] for a flight of sake, my party was certainly impressed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review

Sorry our layout didn't quite vibe with you, Brittney, but it sounds like food more than made up for it. Glad to hear that you'd come back. Thanks for reaching out! Best, Chad, General Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

y family travels to Oahu once a year. Every year my husband and I plan a dinner out to Morimoto. This year was no different. We made our reservation several days in advance. The day came and we showed up. It was very very windy out, upwards of 40 km/hr winds. The restaurant was busy, but we figured because we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review

I'm sorry we couldn't fully impress you, Lexy. It's disappointing to hear that you didn't experience the service you deserve. We'll have to work harder next time. Best, Chad, General Manager More 

Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Did not disappoint. Foodies will love it. The tasting menu rocks and the saki sliders are perfectly paired to each course. The food was beautiful, fresh, layered exotic flavours and perfectly presented. Would return to the hustle and bustle of Waikiki again just to visit Morimoto.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review

I'm really glad to hear you love the tasting menu, Gina! Sounds like the freshness of our food really made an impression. Can't wait for you to visit Waikiki again! Take care, Chad, General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Morimoto Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Morimoto Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Modern Honolulu, 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
    (Hobron)
  • Public Transportation: Morimoto Waikiki is on the Red Line for the Honolulu Trolley, exit Discovery Bay. If taking TheBus, the following lines are avaiable 8, 19,20,23,24,42 and E, The Country Express.
  • Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Oahu  >  Honolulu>  > Waikiki
  • Neighborhood: Waikiki
  • Phone Number: +1 808-943-5900

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 31 - 50
  • Cuisine: Japanese, Asian fusion

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Elegant
  • Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of Western and Japanese ingredients to his newest restaurant, Morimoto Waikiki. With a focus on top-quality fish and fresh ingredients, everything is prepared in-house from ingredients flown in from Japan four times a week. Our seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations feature the best seafood as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Our refreshing and vibrant ambiance is the perfect backdrop for the remarkable culinary experience that is Morimoto Waikiki. Welcome.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Morimoto Waikiki and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Morimoto Waikiki staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?