We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 206 Newport Restaurants

Spiced Pear

117 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840-3659
401-847-2244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #26 of 206 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cliff Avenue
Description: The Spiced Pear’s primary dining room features an open-air kitchen, grand fireplace, and views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach. Well known for its signature ‘New England Tasting Menu’, the restaurant features a symphony of six or nine courses of local New England fare each night in addition to an a la carte menu featuring Continental cuisine.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    45
    24
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 NEW

A phenomenal, historic location matched with an incredible menu! The atmosphere of the Chanler is a great setting for this venue. The menu is diverse and specials are not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChanler_CliffWalk, General Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review

Dear Mfbarrett, Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review our restaurant. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Spiced Pear, and hope to welcome you back soon! Since you are interested in history, let us give you a tour of some of our guest rooms next time you return--it is an... More

Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It seemed like everyone was celebrating a special occasion (wedding, birthday, there was even a rehearsal dinner in a tented heated section). I had the Hudson Valley foie gras (paired with a sauterne) and my wife had charcuterie. The foie gras was awesome. My entrée was a sliced sirloin with asparagus wrapped with prosciutto... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChanler_CliffWalk, General Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review

Dear Matt M, We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal at The Spiced Pear! Shafer Hillside Select is a very special bottle, indeed, and we are pleased that our cuisine “paired” so nicely with it; and that your experience with us complemented your special occasion. Being a wine connoisseur, you might enjoy attending one of our Tasting Series on... More

New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Everything was perfect! Food ,service , atmosphere, view all 5+. Perfect for special occasions. Don't miss this opportunity when in Newport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChanler_CliffWalk, General Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review

Dear local529, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on The Spiced Pear. We are so delighted that you were able to enjoy a 'quintessential' Newport experience while you were here--views, service, atmosphere, and most of all food! We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Christine Sullivan More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We dined over Labor Day weekend and had an amazing experience. There was a party on the terrace but was completely self-contained so we were were able to enjoy an intimate dinner for our small group. The drink menu was extensive and we tried quite a few and enjoyed them all. We had appetizers as well as dessert and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChanler_CliffWalk, General Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review

Dear Frank A, I am delighted to hear that you and your small group enjoyed your experience at The Spiced Pear. On behalf of our whole staff, we thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We endeavor to embrace exceptional cuisine with thoughtful service; I am pleased to hear that we delivered our vision. Please come and visit again... More

tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Defintitely would recommend this restaurant! The lemon poppyseed soufflé for dessert was excellent! We walked to it from a bed and breakfast we were staying at down the Cliff Walk. This place had a nice bar as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChanler_CliffWalk, General Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review

Dear clmtraveler, Thank you for taking out the time to provide us feedback on your experience. We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience, and that you enjoyed our lemon poppyseed soufflé! We hope to have you join us again during your next visit to Newport. Regards, Christine Sullivan More

Providence, RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Frequent travelers and seekers of fine food and drink have become accustomed to paying more for more but oftentimes are disappointed when they pay more for only a pretense of "more." The Spiced Pear in Newport was one of the best dining experiences of my life and I have traveled all over the world. Both my wife and enjoyed all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChanler_CliffWalk, General Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review

Dear ProvidenceVLP, Thank you for your truly kind words. I am delighted to hear that you had one of the best dining experiences of your life. To be one of the best amongst other experiences you had around the world is a true honor. We hope you and your wife will be back soon and cannot wait to share another... More

Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Good food, ok to indifferent service. Not quiet at all there is a large party on the terrace. Otherwise ok but there are a couple of better options including the Castle Hill Inn and Bouchards for fine dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChanler_CliffWalk, General Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review

Dear AstuteObserver, I greatly appreciate your compliment of our food, and taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am deeply sorry that we fell short on offering you a more intimate experience at The Spiced Pear. While the ocean views and the smaller sized dining room do invoke a more private feel, we are sorry that you did... More

Amesbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This is a gorgeous restaurant with a 5 star menu and excellent staff. The views from the window are world class. The bar a wonderful classic. And obviously, prices to match. We did not have a problem with this, but I am not sure I would return because it was so stressful during dinner sitting next to a table with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheChanler_CliffWalk, General Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review

Dear Gretel101, We greatly appreciate all of your feedback. I am deeply sorry that your dining experience did not exceed what you had imagined. I appreciate your suggestion of implementing an age limit, as it is something we have discussed. While we agree that we are best suited for adults, on rare occasions we do have families who choose to... More

Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We had the Dining experience for 2; private room, roses, wine pairings etc. It came to over $500 with our generous tip and was good but not great. Our waiter was excellent but when I reserved I was asked for 4 food preferences; we got 1. The promised hand made chocolates never came and the waiter went to inquire in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChanler_CliffWalk, General Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review

Dear peggyvb, While I’m happy to hear that you were pleased with your room and the service, I am very sorry to hear that your private dining experience did not go as planned. You are absolutely correct that our website misquoted the offerings of the private dining experience. We recently launched our new website, and missed this oversight. We aspire... More

NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Our lunch tab was $90. We gave them the American Express card. The chit came back at $108. They just took it upon themselves to add a 20% tip. Said nothing about this! AND the chit came back looking perfectly normal with a line for Tip and Total - as if the original tab was $108. Had we not noticed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChanler_CliffWalk, General Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review

Dear SarahBridges, I sincerely apologize for what sounds like a truly frustrating experience. What you describe here is certainly not the type of service that our Restaurant prides itself on. I assure you that I have looked into what happened, and addressed it accordingly. I do hope that you see this as an isolated incident and welcome you to visit... More

Travelers who viewed Spiced Pear also viewed

 

Been to Spiced Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spiced Pear

Address: 117 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840-3659
Phone Number: 401-847-2244
Location: United States  >  Rhode Island (RI)  >  Newport
Average Prices: USD 30 - 50

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing