We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Genie's Hookah Lounge

94 William Street, Newport, RI 02840
401-619-3770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 205 restaurants in Newport
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Persian
Good for: Romance
Description: Located in the heart of Newport, catering to those who enjoy finer things, Genie's offers an ambiance that is unmatched in Rhode Island with first class service, gourmet meals and teas, & of course hookahs.
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Description: Located in the heart of Newport, catering to those who enjoy finer things, Genie's offers an ambiance that is unmatched in Rhode Island with first class service, gourmet meals and teas, & of course hookahs.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    4
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport RI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The air is clean. The atmosphere is charming. The tapas are delicious. The graffiti on their outside wall has not been cleaned in years. This is disturbing when all other businesses in this charming area of Newport including the shopping center accross the street quickly remove or paint over any graffiti.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Great hookah lounge. Bellydancers on select nights. Couches could be a little more comfortable. BYOB . Attentive and informative staff. 20% Gratuity added to bill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This is the best Hookah Bar I have been to yet! I love the atmosphere inside and out and the food was amazing. The staff was friendly as soon as we walked through the door, I heard many friends talking about this place and I am glad I checkes it out, ALL GOOD THINGS

Was this review helpful? Yes
Storrs, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fantastic! The menu was great, the staff was so friendly and nice, the service was some of the best I've ever had, and the atmosphere was relaxing. I spent about 3 hours there with my boyfriend. Everything was perfect. I'd go there weekly if I lived nearby!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ive been to many hookah bars and this is my favorite after a great diner in Newport stop here for a hookah and culturally yummy dessert! The desserts are great! Just as a side note they are b.y.o.b however in the plaza across the street you can buy a bottle of wine and the hookah bar provides cups for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The best!! All around hookah place I've ever been too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I went mainly for the middle eastern food. Ordered the soda first. It was watery, no taste and zero fizz.(guy sitting behind us had the same complaint too). Were told something wrong with the soda machine. Then ordered chicken kebab with rice. Yucks...foul smell...either the food was stale or maybe something else...but yucks..we stopped eating after just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Hello and we are terribly sorry you had such an unpleasant experience. Unfortunately machines break down, including soda machines and your table was the first table to experience the soda issue. The soda was not "watered down" as you claim, but in fact not well carbonated. To insinuate that we would water down soda that costs us roughly 11 cents... More

Travelers who viewed Genie's Hookah Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Genie's Hookah Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genie's Hookah Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing