We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana

421 E Commerce St, Ste B, San Antonio, TX 78205-2815 (Downtown)
210-226-8462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,624 of 4,110 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $20 - $20
Hours:
Mon - Fri 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    57
    102
    93
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

We should have payed more attention to trip advisor. This place doesn't deserve the 2.5 rating it has. Great location and the beer was cold. My wife said her drink tasted like a virgin drink. The "authentic" Velveeta queso was the best part of the meal. We won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

I remember going here with family when I was a child in the 1970's. A Riverwalk icon for Tex-Mex, it's the place I had to take a friend from Houston. While there are better culinary choices on the Riverwalk, the food was better than I expected and the prices were more reasonable than I remembered from my last visit. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Temple, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Went on a Sunday night and there was a short 10 minute wait that was accurately quoted. Was promptly sat and served drinks and food. We were pleasantly surprised with the speed of all service as they were quite busy. Would definitely visit this place again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review

Dear Bryan, We are pleased to hear that you had a short wait and a wonderful evening as our guest. We appreciate the positive feedback you’ve provided and your loyalty to return again in the future. Please stop anytime! More

Denver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Wanting Mexican food, we stopped at Rio Rio for lunch. We were offered a patio seat, on the river, but were told it could be hot. I appreciated the upfront candor. We still chose to eat on the river. I got to enjoy my lunch with ducks and fish. I am not normally a patio diner, but this was worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We love reading reviews like the one you’ve written. We appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More

Marrero, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Differently a great place for the price. Their Queso and chips is to die for. We ate in the bar are and even the little pigeons loved hanging around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review

Dear Yolanda, We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience during your recent visit. We appreciate the positive feedback that you’ve provided and we hope to see you again soon! More

Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Visited Friday afternoon, food was was edible but nothing exciting really. Had a margarita but that was kind of bland too. Nice waitstaff though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us all the way from Chicago! We appreciate that you took the time to provide us with honest feedback. We would like more information from you regarding your visit so we can improve our services. Please take the time to contact John at cantinariorio@gmail.com and provide him with your servers’ name, the date you were here... More

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

What a huge disappointment. We were in San Antonio for an anniversary, and our concierge made the recommendation for Rio Rio. We arrived and was told there would be a 15 minute wait for an outdoor table. We were told to wait in the bar. After 45 we went back outside to find that the hostess had forgotten we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, It is disheartening to hear that you did not receive the 5 star experience we strive to provide all of our guests. The situation that you’ve described is completely unacceptable and we would like more information from you regarding your visit so we can rectify these issues internally. Please take the time to contact John at cantinariorio@gmail.com and... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

They charged $1.99 for chips/salsa not worth it, salsa is horrible. Also ordered the beef chimuchunga it had 90% beans and 10% beef and beans on the side. This place used to be worth the price and great food, but not anymore. The rio rio margarita is awesome and the rice is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review

Dear Michael, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our margarita and rice. We charge for chips because we do not serve typical chips and salsa. We have a variety of 5 homemade salsas: Salsa Rojo, Salsa Negra, Tomatillo, Salsa Verde, Pineapple and a street salsa. All salsas are made with fresh produce every day, nothing canned and the... More

San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

What was once a favorite was a disappointment. No longer do they provide chips and salsa with the drinks. Neither of the entrees came with any type of garnish to improve the presentation of the meals. The Enchiladas Suizas, although good, came with refried beans that had little flavor. The Portobello Fajitas were served with no condiments and it had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review

Dear Vic, We appreciate the honest feedback that you provided because we are always looking to improve our services. We put forth our sincerest efforts to provide a 5 star experience for our guests and we apologize that you did not receive exactly that. We started charging for chips and salsa because we do not serve typical chips and salsa.... More

Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a fun meal at Rio Rio. The staff was friendly as well as patient. We had a total of 8 in our party-4 being under the age of 7. The waiter was able to anticipate our needs which was amazing! The food was fresh and prepared well. The only disappointment was the fruit bowl my aunt ordered- it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah C, Manager at Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, responded to this review

Dear Megan, We appreciate the honest feedback that you provided from your recent visit. We put forth our sincerest efforts to provide a 5 star experience for our guests and we are happy to see that you received exactly that. Please stop by again soon! More

Travelers who viewed Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana also viewed

 

Been to Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Rio Cantina / Naked Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing