We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Sandspit

Certificate of Excellence
$$
European, Café, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1440 Sandspit Rd, Warkworth 0982, New Zealand
+64 9-425 9475
Website
Today
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thu - Sat 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A pretty seaside cafe with the water coming right up to below the...
A pretty seaside cafe with the water coming right up to below the conservatory window at high tide. All meals are cooked freshly to order or chose a quick home baked snack. Fully licensed and open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner. If you would like to come for dinner due to our scenic location please be sure to book so we know you will be coming along.
read more
Good for:
Scenic view
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Delivery
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 124 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 73
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
A lovely little spot

The Sandspit café is not 'smart' but it is fantastic, with great food and fab views. Service excellent and a very chilled out place to be. Almost private dining - as not many people appreciate that you can book for evening meals, booking essential as they are normally only open at lunchtime... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 26, 2015
Polly D
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Scenic view
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

The Sandspit café is not 'smart' but it is fantastic, with great food and fab views. Service excellent and a very chilled out place to be. Almost private dining - as not many people appreciate that you can book for evening meals, booking essential as they are normally only open at lunchtime. There were two tables there the night we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

What a great breakfast overlooking the bay in such pleasant surrounding. Friendly service and overheard from another customer "What a cool restaurant". My feelings entirely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I got to cafe sandpit about 5 minutes after it closed but found the owner outside just watching the world. He opened up to after closing hours to make my friend and I chips. Amazing service and amazing chips! Some of the best chips I have had in a long time! Highly reccomended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Five of our family enjoyed a delicious lunch, 3 generations, my 90yo mother was with us, gorgeous character place easily accessible, delicious seafood lunch, staff very friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

This place has Wi-fi and the best Bacon & Egg Pie ever. A must visit location for anyone going to the Kawau islands.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

When we arrived the waitress had given our window table booked the day before to another party as she hadn't checked the name, fair enough they said they couldn't promise a window table but very frustrating. The food was nice but I have never before been in a café where you are charged extra for tomato ketchup and then there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

This is a little gem of a café overlooking the water at Sandspit. The meals are large and absolutely delicious. If you're going for dinner then go early as they are not open late. The menu is small but the choice of fish and seafood is the best I've seen in a long time. The lady who served us was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We are locals and have eaten maybe 3 times here under the new owners. We kept on returning because the location is amazing and deserves better service and food. However, we and many of our friends will not return until we hear better reports. Unfortunately I suspect this will not be under the existing owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
robyn k, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

Please check out all the reviews surrounding your's which comment on our great food and service. As you can see most people are very satisfied with what we offer and our service. However if you are going to come in to our business and be rude to us and our staff please dont come back. You are exactly the type... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Stayed the night in the camping ground and had two meals in this great cafe. The food was to die for @ a very high standard. Drank some local sav/blanc to keep it company.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

We went to this restaurant 7 years ago, so it was a trip down memory lane. It is at the end of the jetty at sandspit and we thought it was closed when we parked up at 7.15pm although we had booked. But when we went in there were a few people eating and the manageress said they don't stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sandspit also viewed

 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Sandspit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1440 Sandspit Rd, Warkworth 0982, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Warkworth
  • Phone Number: +64 9-425 9475

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 18
  • Cuisine: European, Café, New Zealand

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view

Description

A pretty seaside cafe with the water coming right up to below the conservatory window at high tide. All meals are cooked freshly to order or chose a quick home baked snack. Fully licensed and open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner. If you would like to come for dinner due to our scenic location please be sure to book so we know you will be coming along.
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Sandspit staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?