We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachcomber Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
222 Commerce Street | Plaza North, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
+64 9-408 2010
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 114 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 66
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Outstanding

Seafood platter was fantastic, salad bar was good and the carrot salad was something a bit different, a great surprise. Staff were very friendly and efficient, there when you needed them and given that I turned up 2 mins before they closed and was the last person in the restaurant, they still... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 16, 2015
Jimmy1079
,
Christchuch
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchuch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Seafood platter was fantastic, salad bar was good and the carrot salad was something a bit different, a great surprise. Staff were very friendly and efficient, there when you needed them and given that I turned up 2 mins before they closed and was the last person in the restaurant, they still looked after me and made me feel welcome.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We had the seafood basket. Great fresh local products and good value at $37 incl access to the salad bar. Friendly efficient waitresses. Busy when we were there with lots of locals and fellow travellers. The meals came quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tuscany, Italy
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

The food and service was outstanding. The salad buffet lovely. The service and the food absolutely perfect. The best place we found in N.Z. regarding food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

So on this journey round the country implementing systems we have encountered a surprising number of great places to eat. And beachcombers is high on the list of restaurants worth driving to eat at. Great ostrich fillets, seared duck was simply perfectly cooked and an unlimited salad Barack for a great dinner twice in a row. However add in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Surf and Turf places seemed to disappear from North America back in the 90s, but they seem to be still available in New Zealand. The food was tasty, hot and plentiful at this location and the restaurant was a short walk from our B & B. Friendly, efficient service and good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

friendly staff. peaceful surroundings..large range of salad, well present and nicely cooked meals..[you can have your favorite main dishes every time as the menu hasn't changed much over the last few years.] .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We were a group of four work colleagues staying two nights in Kaitaia and we needed to eat both nights. We were very pleased to find the Beachcomber. As reported in other reviews the salad bar is good value for money (free with mains) and the mains were very good and varied - there was something there for everyone. Really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I visited the Beachcomber on two consecutive nights. The first night I just had the large salad from the salad bar - the dressing was a little peppery for my taste but that seems to be the New Zealand thing with salad dressing. The selection of items was very good and, though I only made it up there once I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We had fish of the day which was well cooked, and not dry. The salad bar is simple but adequate. The service was very good and friendly. This place caters straightforward, uncomplicated food - nothing fancy, but then again neither was the price. If you want a good simple meal, this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Food was average - fish was meant to be fresh fish of the day, wasn't very fresh tasting was rubbery and a disappointing salad bar. Pesto garlic bread was nice. Fantastic service from a young waitress who was friendly and provided a great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maryjanepeter, Owner at Beachcomber Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to our restaurant. We are very fortunate to have access to local,fresh fish and the week you visited we had beautiful snapper, blue nose and terakihi. All delivered fresh from our supplier in Awanui on Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday. We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed... More 

Travelers who viewed Beachcomber Restaurant also viewed

Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 

Been to Beachcomber Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 222 Commerce Street | Plaza North, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Northland Region  >  Kaitaia
  • Phone Number: +64 9-408 2010

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 13 - 29
  • Cuisine: European

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beachcomber Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?