We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Molokini Bar & Grille

5400 Makena Alanui, Makena Beach & Golf Resort, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8435
+1 808-875-5888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 40 restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $40
Hours:
Sun 9:30 am - 12:00 pm
Sun - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: The Molokini Bar & Grille, located at Makena Beach & Golf Resort, is a premier dining experience offering inspired island cuisine at an unmatched value. Under the direction of Chef De Cuisine Kurt Lemeries, the menu takes a non-traditional approach to American comfort food, infusing fresh local ingredients, combining elements of Hawaii regional cuisine and presenting new taste profiles that will both surprise and satisfy. Selections include its popular Cilantro and Macadamia Nut Crusted MahiMahi or the famed Crispy Molokai Potato Wrapped Lobster Salad. Featuring nightly live entertainment, take advantage of the restaurant's happy hour specials, nightly special menus, like Lobster Fest on Tuesdays and Thursday, or famed Sunday Brunch.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: The Molokini Bar & Grille, located at Makena Beach & Golf Resort, is a premier dining experience offering inspired island cuisine at an unmatched value. Under the direction of Chef De Cuisine Kurt Lemeries, the menu takes a non-traditional approach to American comfort food, infusing fresh local ingredients, combining elements of Hawaii regional cuisine and presenting new taste profiles that will both surprise and satisfy. Selections include its popular Cilantro and Macadamia Nut Crusted MahiMahi or the famed Crispy Molokai Potato Wrapped Lobster Salad. Featuring nightly live entertainment, take advantage of the restaurant's happy hour specials, nightly special menus, like Lobster Fest on Tuesdays and Thursday, or famed Sunday Brunch.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    62
    34
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atascocita, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

The food and atmosphere were wonderful. The service left room for improvement. There was not a lot of people in at the time of our visit. I think it was just a staffing situation they may not have been preventable. I did not ask. It was slow, but there were larger tables requiring more than our table of two. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremont, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Service horrible which made the food that much worse. The bartenders were friendly but other than that it sucked

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Sine we are from the mainland and we were hungry pretty early we tried out the happy hour. There was a nice, albeit short, selection of appetizers available and drink specials. We were completely satisfied with 3 items and drinks. The bartender was friendly and made great drinks. The sushi bar was also open during happy hour. Wonderful view of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MakenaResortMaui, Manager at Molokini Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Aloha thank you for joining us for Happy hour and for taking the time to review the Molokini Bar & Grille. We are happy to hear that your enjoyed our offerings and the sunset views. Mahalo! More

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Decent food, I had the Hawaiian BBQ plate, friendly service, happened upon the poolside keiki hula show which was enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MakenaResortMaui, Manager at Molokini Bar & Grille, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that your enjoyed our Hawaiian BBQ plate offering and the adjacent hula show on the pool. Mahalo for taking the time to review the Molokini Bar & Grille. More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised how good the food and service was at the restaurant as we decided to dine here during our stay at the Makena Beach and Resort. It is worth the drive even if you are not staying there; valets at this resort are some of the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MakenaResortMaui, Manager at Molokini Bar & Grille, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations, we look forward to continuing to provide wonderful food and service on your next visit. Mahalo for the review. More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We came in here for a few cocktails and some appetizers with our family from overseas. We were greeted by a power hungry hostess who made us wait to sit at an empty bar. Then we waited for service. It worked out well that we had to wait so long for service, because in this time we decided that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MakenaResortMaui, Manager at Molokini Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Aloha, we are sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our restaurant. We are continually working on improving the guest dining experience and reviews are important to this endeavor. Your comments are being reviewed and evaluated for appropriate action. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide a better impression. Mahalo for the review. More

San Jose, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Yep, it's wonderful. The quality of the food and the variety won't disappoint. The service is great too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MakenaResortMaui, Manager at Molokini Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Aloha, thank you for taking the time to review the Molokini Bar & Grille's Makena Sunday Brunch. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our offerings and invite you to return again sometime soon. More

Madison Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a great meal here from the special 3 course dinner package and really enjoyed it so we returned the night before we left. This time it just left a lot to be desired. The seafood was just OK and nothing impressive. The service was slow and just not as good as we had experienced earlier in the week.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MakenaResortMaui, Manager at Molokini Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Aloha, we thank you for dining at the Molokini Bar & Grille, we are sorry to that your second dining experience was not as impressive as the first. We are continually working to improve the dining experience and thank you for providing a review to help us in this endeavor. Your comments are being review and evaluated for further action... More

Fremont
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Molokini Bar & Grill is located in the Makena Beach & Golf Resort (formerly the Maui Prince Hotel). The restaurant is well known for its Sundays only Brunch ($40) combined with nice views so we decided to check it out. The restaurant space itself is HUGE. There is enough space for two or three restaurants. Windows make up the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I'm not going to waste much more time on this place. We were a party of 9 celebrating a wedding. I ordered a bottle of champagne and 2 glasses of non-alcoholic juice for the kids to partake in the toast. I was told they don't have any non-alcoholic juice and the waitor was off. When he finally showerd back up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MakenaResortMaui, Owner at Molokini Bar & Grille, responded to this review

Aloha, we are so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience regarding one of our wait staff. Your comments are being reviewed by our restaurant's management team for further review and training of our staff. We are continually working on improving the guest dining experience, thus we thank you for taking the time to write a review to help us... More

Travelers who viewed Molokini Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Molokini Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molokini Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing