We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocho Lounge

17 Windsor Road, Penarth CF64 1JB, Wales
+44 29 2071 0045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 51 restaurants in Penarth
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ocho Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ocho Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    30
    37
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

First visit to Ocho lounge tonight and will definately be back. The food was lovely and the staff incredibly helpful. V impressed they have a gluten free menu too. Just a shame we got there so late so couldn't stay longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocho L, General Manager at Ocho Lounge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review and I'm very happy to here you enjoyed your first visit to Ocho Lounge and found our staff extremely helpful. We hope to see you again soon and hope to impress you even further :) More

London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

Always want to support local independent restaurants and this was my first visit here. My husband had been before and thought the burgers excellent. The visit didn't start well as I ordered a cocktail that the waitress said she didn't know how to mix-so we had to wait for 20 minutes for my drink! Though not expecting expert mixologists a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocho L, Manager at Ocho Lounge, responded to this review

Hi there, first of all I'd like to thank you for writing a review. We appreciate all feedback given. I'm sorry that on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations. We take great pleasure in giving all our customers a relaxed, enjoyable experience. We have taken all your comments on board and have made sure that all... More

Penarth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

WOW!!!! Now that WAS a brekkie in the Ocho this morning. Today is Saturday, I may not need to eat until Monday. I had a coffee and breakfast consisting of bacon, beans, hash browns, eggs, tomato and toast and it was fantastic. That said, there are so many great places to eat in Penarth, who needs to go anywhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocho L, Manager at Ocho Lounge, responded to this review

Hi, Des. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed our breakfast so much as we take great pride in our breakfast items. We hope you'll be back to try it again soon. Kind regards. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

gorgeous selection of drinks from tea to wine. we had tapas which was great. staff were friendly. possibly a little overprced but the atmosphere was so great it was worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocho L, Manager at Ocho Lounge, responded to this review

Hello, Jay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoy the full range of products we have available and the Ocho Lounge itself. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we hope to see you soon. More

Cardiff
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We visited last night with a visitor who always loves going to Ocho when he visits. Its also one of our favourite places in Penarth. Everything we ordered was delicious apart from my husbands Hero burger which he ordered medium rare. When it arrived he was disappointed to see that it was well done - no pink inside at all.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocho L, General Manager at Ocho Lounge, responded to this review

Hi there I'm glad to hear that we are one of your favourite places in Penarth but sorry to hear that your husband did not enjoy his burger. I agree that you should have been informed by your server that we do not serve our burgers pink and I apologise for this. The reason why we do not do our... More

Penarth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

such a good variety :) delicious and amazing . If you like amazing food I recommend . all I can say is 'remarkable'

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocho L, Manager at Ocho Lounge, responded to this review

Hello Lily. It's always a pleasure to hear feedback from a customers perspective. We pride ourselves on good food and good service and we're very happy that we fit the bill for you. We hope to see you with us soon. Thank you for your review. More

Barry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Have visited Ocho Lounge on about four occasions now and have always found the food to be really tasty. (Although our kids are disappointed at the disappearance of meatballs from the menu!) The staff have always been friendly and helpful and the choice of music really adds to the atmosphere. We'll be back and hopefully so will the meatballs.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocho L, Manager at Ocho Lounge, responded to this review

Hello Eve. Thank you so much for your review of Ocho Lounge. We're pleased that you found the food really tasty and that our staff have always helped you in a friendly manner. We are always taking steps to improve our customers experience so your comments regarding the menu will be considered. Thank you again for taking the time to... More

Penarth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Orgainlly when I used to eat here there was a extensive menu Originally when I used to eat here there was a extensive menu on the walls. This has been removed and it is difficult to see what is available. I must admit that the food is of good quality and there is a good atmosphere in the place.on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocho L, Manager at Ocho Lounge, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback. First of all, I'm sorry that the menu wasn't clear to you initially, we have taken the boards down and replaced with menus on each table and in holders around the lounge. I'm glad that we made up for this initial confusion with good... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Often visit Ocho Lounge but standards seem to go down every time. Terrible atmosphere, awful service, and the food was bland. The service was slow and disorganized, very rude staff- presented quite 'scruffy'. The (boisterous) comments made towards each other and various customers are not appropriate, and tend to ruin the calming atmosphere. Will definitely not visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ocho L, General Manager at Ocho Lounge, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm sorry to here that you feel the standards in Ocho have dropped as we work very hard to maintain what we think is a high standard. We do have a fairly relaxed dress code and staff are encouraged to be friendly with our customers (but not rude) and we are regularly complemented on our amiable and relaxed... More

Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

First time we visited after living in the area for a year and all I can say is, it's a crime we haven't eaten here sooner! I ordered the Fish and Chips and wasn't sure at the portion size - the fish in itself was huge but I wasn't sure about the chips as it looked like there weren't that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocho L, General Manager at Ocho Lounge, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm delighted that you had such a nice time when you visited us for the first time, we pride ourselves on our friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The fish and chips are great and we also have many other great dishes to choose from when you come here next, hope to see you soon. More

Travelers who viewed Ocho Lounge also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Ocho Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocho Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing