We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Millers House Southmill Road, Bishops Stortford CM23 3DH, England
01279503799
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 1:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 72 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very good buffet!

Visited for my 30th Birthday with some friends. The restaurant is nicely laid out and has been redecorated since my last visit a number of years ago. We visited on a Saturday night and the buffet was in operation. The food was of a very good quality, and a good variety available. Would visit... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed December 14, 2015
SmudgeAndScoots
,
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the worst buffet meals I've had. Poor quality of food using cheap cuts of meat. 'Duck' pancakes pre wrapped (frozen?) and staff have proudly been rude. We won't be returning

Helpful?
Thank turtol
Barmouth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a good place to eat if you have a good appetite. There is an all-you-can-eat buffet Friday and Saturday with similar but brought to the table when you order from the menu weekdays, still ordering as much as you want, so its a win-win situation. The food is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely staff, prompt service, food cooked freshly and beautifully. Can't recommend it high enough, both eating and takeaways. So tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Chilli W
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Visited for my 30th Birthday with some friends. The restaurant is nicely laid out and has been redecorated since my last visit a number of years ago. We visited on a Saturday night and the buffet was in operation. The food was of a very good quality, and a good variety available. Would visit again! Good: The ribs are really... More 

Helpful?
Thank SmudgeAndScoots
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

I have been using this takeaway as my go to Chinese for years and have always been happy with the food, the service and the value. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Phil R
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

I have been coming here since I can remember...atleast 7 years. We come often as it's so nice. Quick service in a lovely small area. Buffet is extensive and always delicious and hot. So much choice! This is the only Chinese I will go to in the area. Never had any problems whatsoever and will always recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Becky F
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

I haven't dined upstairs in the Rivermill restaurant for a number of years and stopped getting takeaways a couple of years ago as I found they went downhill, but over the last 12 months they are back to their best (although I'm convinced there's been a change to my favourite crispy spring rolls, they just aren't the same any more!)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie A
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

The surroundings are lovely right by the River. The staff are so lovely and so welcoming and accommodating. The food here is lovely, be it buffet or off the menu. They have a huge range of dishes to suit all requirements and as a vegetarian, I delight in the fact that I can eat to my hearts content. Fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank Debra A
essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

I went there for an all you can eat buffet with my wife. i had been to similar before but never here. the good was great, there was a lot of choice, inexpensive and a really great night. thoroughly recommend the chilli beef, it was amazing. nice friendly staff too. I want to go back there now!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank newboybecks
Ilford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

Ordered my food on Saturday evening was quoted within an hour after hour 10 mins our food wasn't there called restaurant and my food hadn't even been cooked. Asked for discount and they gave me £4.50. The rude delivery man bought food at 1 hour and 35 mins after our order I said I would give him £20 which was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karenprior44
Rivermillmanager, Owner at The Rivermill, responded to this review

It is not our policy to disappoint customers or provide bad service. Our policy is to provide good food in a timely fashion. Sometimes however, due to circumstances beyond our control, deliveries can take longer than expected. We strive to provide good food with courtesy and we have many loyal customers who will endorse our quality service. More 

Travelers who viewed The Rivermill also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Rivermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Millers House Southmill Road, Bishops Stortford CM23 3DH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Bishops Stortford
  • Phone Number: 01279503799

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
1:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rivermill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Rivermill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?